We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very spacious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked here after having such a good experience in La Jolla, what a lovely place!
The rooms are big with a kitchen and seating area and very clean and tidy. The hotel was centred perfectly for the stuff we wanted to do in the area. It is also located by a busy road, but that didn't bother us at all.
We found the hotel nice and quiet, I'm sure you will n joy your sty as well!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JustATravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My extended family and I stayed for several days and the 2 bedroom suite with 2 full bathrooms were just perfect - at a very reasonable price. There was ample living room space too so that everyone was comfy and had plenty of room. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms and baths VERY clean. The staff was very friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was a great addition. The food and selections were way above what I would expect for a free meal, with the hot selections (4 each day) were a pleasant surprise. It is close to the freeway and train, but did not interfere with the enjoyment. Very conveniently located. There is a jogging trail within a short distance, but not walking distance to the nearby amenities. I would highly recommend this property and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montypythons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel the week before Christmas. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We had two little ones in the king studio room and it was not crowded at all. The beds are very comfortable, even the fold out one!

The hotel staff are extremely nice and personable. The staff member in the morning was always helpful and gave us tips on getting good prices for Disneyland tickets.

When going back to Orange County, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekimiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife, 5 year old daughter, 2 dogs were had to leave our house and "live" in this hotel for 5 nights last week and it was outstanding. The rooms are spacious and the amenities in the room are great. The breakfast provided is outstanding- eggs, various meats, cereals, etc. The property is great for dogs- bags and trash cans and lots of grass. There is a nice pantry in the lobby as well. The fitness center is outstanding as is the laundry facility. Staff was friendly and attentive as well. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattylenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We overall enjoyed are stay at the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano. It is well located with very each access to Dana Point area restaurants, Doheny Harbor and the Mission at San Juan Capistrano. The Metrolink/Coaster rail link is TOO CLOSE. Train horns around the clock. We first heard them while checking in and asked the front desk person about them. The female front desk clerk explained how the trains stopped after 10:00 p.m. so not a worry. An out and out misrepresentation. Our (and others) first morning breakfast buffet experience was marred with no milk availability for cereal or oatmeal. Upon speaking with Anthony he indicated their vendor did not deliver and that they knew about it the night before. I asked him why, with several groceries nearby, no one solved the problem. Upon the suggestion from me, someone promptly headed to a store.

Management suggestions from a longtime senior H.R. Executive: EMPLOYEE TRAINING and EMPOWERMENT. Train your staff to always be honest with the guest, don't misrepresent and empower your staff to solve problems when a senior manager is not available. Don't let the corporate b.s. worrying about a $2.50 reimbursement ruin a guest experience.

We will stay again at this property. Kudos to Chris for being honest and forthright with us about the train issue when approached the second night of our stay. He is an outstanding employee.

Room Tip: Check which room is more isolated from the train whistles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This property is within a 3 minute drive of Dana Point and right off the highway. There isn't really much within walking distance immediately around the hotel, but typical amenities are within a short drive (grocery store, pharmacy, gas, etc). The hotel was great - breakfast was included in the price and the main meal was different every day during my 5 day stay. Dinner was even offered three nights during my stay. I was surprised that the property charged to park a vehicle as you really have to drive to get there or to get away from the hotel, but the breakfast and dinner more than made up for the parking fee. I would most certainly stay here again if ever I'm in southern OC!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was attending a conference and rather pay for the Ritz or St. Regis opted to stay here. Location is about an 1:10 from LAX just off the 405. The Ritz/St. Regis are 5 min away and same for Dana Point harbor. There is a park a quarter a mile away which leads to harbor and makes for a nice area to run in.

The lobby area is very nice an upscale for a Residence Inn. The check in staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions about area. The room was large and had a kitchen and large seating area. The bed was comfortable and there was flat screen tv. Bathroom was nice as well. They have free breakfast in the morning. The pool area looked great as it sits up on the hill with the neighborhood below.

The 2 negatives are: 1). They charge $12 dollars to park in a normal open parking lot. I thought this was pretty ridiculous; and 2) the hotel is next to a train track. About 5:30 am I began to hear the train horn and it continued every 20-30 min.

Overall this is a good hotel for price in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.1 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
7.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano

Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-4817 (Formerly Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: $159 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano near Dana Point, we combine all of the comforts of home along with modern amenities and a passion for service that makes every guest feel welcome. This San Juan Capistrano hotel offers 130 spacious suites with separate areas for sleeping, relaxing and cooking - full kitchens with granite countertops and convenient kitchen appliances. In addition, take advantage of complimentary grocery delivery, a free daily hot breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Located off I-5, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano provides easy access to Dana Point, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Camino Real Playhouse and The Coach House. With two meeting rooms and 1,535 square feet of event space, our hotel offers full meeting and event services with A/V technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing