We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no good”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

cockroach the size of a small bird running acorss bed-room floor.

they rented the room next to us to some teenagers & did not notice the 20 kids piling into the room

called front-desk twice nothing done about it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    0
    3
    27
See reviews for
10
14
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Gets one star because 0 in not an option. This hotel has it all, dirty, noisy, used bed linen, etc. The room we were in smelled like Lysol and keeping the windows open did not seem to help. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellanno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here a couple of years ago -- recommended from the AAA book. This was one of the absolutely WORST places we had EVER stayed!! It is about 1 foot from the freeway and has train tracks on the other side. The room was disgusting -- D-I-R-T-Y!! The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in several days (or longer). It totally creeped us out! I wrote to AAA and complained -- saying how could they EVER give this place a decent rating----guess what?? They dropped the hotel from their listings the next year!

Room Tip: Go someplace else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jp012131, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your response as we value all opinions. However, your response is a little outdated since it is based on a stay a few years ago. We have since renovated the property with new carpeting, bath tubs, vanities, paint, doors, etc. Our proximity to the freeway is what most of our guests seek. We have double payne windows in our guest rooms for an added level of sound proofing. Furthermore, we now have suites, jacuzzi rooms, family rooms, with free internet access, microwave and fridge, and parking. We encourage you to stay once again at our property and see the difference. Majority of our guests are very pleased with our services, amenities, price, and overall value. Please see response from guest who stayed more recently titled, "Well worth the Price". Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

So, I was able to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn in Laguna Niguel over night. For the price of most standard rooms, I was able to get a room with a king size bed AND a jacuzzi. It was awesome! It takes a little while for the water to fill the tub, but sooo well worth the wait. The room itself is simple and clean, but the jacuzzi... felt like luxury. They offer a free continental breakfast (danish and coffee) which a sweet touch, but it didn't seem worth the trouble. I had a room on the second floor and every once in a while I would hear the metro go by, but it didn't bother me all that much. If you are really sensitive to traffic noise, you may want to get a room more toward the back. I really did enjoy my stay here.

Room Tip: Sign up for their free membership card. It was worth the time signing up was worth the $15 discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbgirl-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The picture makes this place look half way decent. This hotel is not what it seems. It was extremely run down and gross to say the least. The blinds wouldn't even cover the windows and were broken, the bedding looked about a hundred years old, and the room had a musty smell. Everything was dirty! It was a horrible experience and we contemplated sleeping in the car!! Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jp012131, Manager at Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your stay. We thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We value all comments as they are a way to help us improve or services and accomodations where necessary.

Sincerely,
Manangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2010

PROS:The staff were very friendly and quick to accomodate our requests for extras, as I was travelling with a physically handicapped person who had some special needs. We had a comfortable king size bed and they give you two pillows each, unlike most motels where you only get one. Our room was cleaned and maintained. Everything worked. Great little microwave and refrigerator with a little freezer that even kept our ice cream frozen. Roomy bathtub/shower combo with great water pressure and nice hot water. HBO was offered, a lot of channels to choose from. My friend brought her laptop and they had internet access. A new vanity had been put into our bathroom recently. It is an older motel yes, but I would not say rundown at all. Built in the Spanish style, we even had a small fountain outside our room, a little courtyard feel to it. Has an elevator which was excellent for us as my companion has to use a wheelchair. In and Out Burger right next door for a fast food fix! Most motels in this price range only have stairs.
CONS: The only con here is the location, it is near the freeway and traintracks. The rooms are as well insulated from the traffic sounds as possible, and even though I heard a couple trains in the evening, once I went to sleep I was never awoken by them. One review seemed to blame the owners for renting a room to a bunch of noisy people. How were they to know? I have paid much more money for a much worse room. I rate this a good deal for the price. MUCH BETTER than similiarly priced Motel 6's or any of those chains.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild_Divine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jp012131, Manager at Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for being our valued guest and sharing your experience with other travelers. We attribute our success to good value and clean and comfortable accomodations and a friendly staff. Happy to hear that we are our services met your expectations. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My accomodations in room #201 were dreadful on 10/2/2010. after we went to sleep at 12:30 AM, management rented to some trashy people that made all kinds of noise in their bed and it went on for over 1-hour. we had to get up at 2:30AM and depart the lodging because we could not sleep. The flooring must be be so thin without any soundproofing. I would never stay at this chain or lodge again. I requested a refund or credit from their managementt today 10/3/10 at 3:30 PM without any credit or refund offered. CERTAINLY NOT AMERICA'S BEST VALUE IN A HOTEL. The slum is an insult to the fine town of San Juan Capistrano!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
3.2 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
3.6 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites
Address: 28742 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-1004
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Laguna Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing