We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Mission San Juan Capistrano
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveler rating
1,171
375
41
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,171
375
41
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour california history gift shop lots of history orange county chapel ruins artifacts architecture butterflies beauty sjc volunteers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2019

This fabulous mission will have you feeling that you have boarded a plane and traveled to somewhere in Europe. It is very beautiful with lush gardens, gorgeous ruins, and historical architecture that you can enter, review, and enjoy. There is a free audio tour, restrooms that are also historic, and plenty of things to view, explore, and read. I highly recommend this experience as a full day trip to enjoy. There is even a gift shop afterward to browse and buy from. I did not encounter food or drinks so I recommend eating before and planning a meal for afterward which you can find walking distance from the mission. Also wear sunscreen as there is plenty of outdoor grounds which will have you in the sun. Still, the temperature is generally mild and the experience itself will take your breath away. I found the admission to be reasonable but as an added bonus, I recommend checking Groupon for discounted admission. Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank TeemareeDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

It’s a small mission. But a must see especially if you are on a crusade to visit all of the missions. A great visit. It’s near the water and near great restaurants.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank charorosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

This is our favorite mission to visit, and we have visited many throughout the state!! It is it very beautiful, very well organized, and well preserved. This mission is truly a must see! The chapel is gorgeous and sparks self reflection. One can sit in the chapel all afternoon and feel transported back in time!! Walking throughout the mission gardens you feel peaceful and happy! The gift store is absolutely fabulous! We visited during the Christmas holiday! There was soooo much to choose from! The merchandise is both religious and historical, very unique and artsy merchandise!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

The gardens are beautiful, including several large pond gardens. Get the audio tour. It helped me understand what I was seeing. It explains the issue with the swallows and their history with the mission. The gift store is a plus, 1/2 historical and 1/2 religious. Parking is a challenge, but the visit is well worth the time.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank bkay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

Mission San Juan Capistrano has a long history. It is being preserved and presented by a dedicated group of people who value sharing this history with the public. The gardens are lovely and it is very pleasant walking through the site. There are historic displays and artefacts that tell interesting stories from many perspectives.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Groovy_Duvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews