We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Mission San Juan Capistrano
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveler rating
1,171
375
41
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,171
375
41
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour california history gift shop lots of history orange county chapel ruins artifacts architecture butterflies beauty sjc volunteers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019

The school kids all end up here for a field trip, and they have to do one of the california missions as a model. It is an important part of the history of California. Even though bloodshed happened, and the missionaries were not too great to the locals, we can set that aside and see this glimpse into our history. Good hands on activity, suitable for all ages, and good people working there. Cute gift shop and the mission itself is gorgeous. Lovely fountain, chapel and grounds. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Kirsten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

Was taken here by family for a surprise. And yes it was wow what a wonder. The history of the area is so interesting and ruins are a sight to see. Wonderfully kept landmark from the 1700. A wonderful way to send the afternoon or the day walk around the mission. The gardens are beautiful full of colourful flowers and Lily ponds. A beautiful chapel so well kept. The ruins of the church after and earthquakes are worth seeing.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

As I planned a mini-vacation to the beaches, I was searching for activities that my elderly mother would enjoy. I was pleasantly surprised at what she remembered most about the visit. The mixture of flowering cacti, native plants and landscaped grounds of the once-vibrant mission are a must-see. We lingered over the gorgeous gardens, which my mother enjoyed the most. You may be familiar with the story of the famous swallows and why they flocked every year to MSJC, but over the course of a 2-hour visit to the mission at a very leisurely pace, you can learn and appreciate even more the impact of Mission San Juan Capistrano on the growth and "business" in the community, the education of native Americans, and the influence of the Catholic church on California's history.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank 4kelleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

Went here on our recent California trip. What a beautiful place to spend a few hours wandering around learning about the history of the mission and seeing the buildings and gardens. It was very peaceful and quiet in places we were the only people around.
Well worth calling in to. We had a wheelchair user with us and there was only a couple of places, some of the small rooms that we couldn't access.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

I spent 2 pleasant hours on a self-guided tour through the mission. Aided by a hand-held audio system I was provided useful and concise descriptions of the various points of interest within the grounds and buildings. Well light art work is also presented in the former barracks. Although the swallow nests are few these days it harkens back to the years when the mission was the home for hundreds of them.

A nice gift shop is available. Across the street are restaurants and more shops. The Amtrak and MetroLink station is close by.

A recommended stop is the cathedral just north of the mission. It is beautiful and a gem to see. Very impressive.

2  Thank BLT210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews