We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,365 results
Traveler rating
1,001
325
32
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,001
325
32
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour california history gardens are beautiful old church gift shop self guided own pace interesting history native americans serra chapel the great stone church take your time swallows return great place to visit two hours father serra los rios
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,365 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

If you enjoy seeing the various architecture in SoCal or historic buildings and ruins, the Missions are interesting. The Mission at SJC is partly visible from the street so makes a nice landmark. Parking is free on the street or in the parking structure 2 blocks away.
If you want to go on the tour, there are usually tickets available on Groupon or Goldstar.

Thank londonqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped off at this mission on the way back to San Diego from LA. We passed the road signs on the freeway many times and never stopped before. Was worth the stop I think at least once as the mission is great to see, we have seen several in California, and also had a nice lunch at cute restaurant in the town down by the train tracks.

Thank DonKKer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

was attending the Ohana fest at Doheny beach. had some time to kill and realized that the mission was close by. hadnt been in 40yrs. it was beautiful, so glad I went. just wandered in and out of the buildings and stopped to read about whatever interested me. great place to have a picnic...tho dont really know if they allow it! I hope that I dont wait so long to go back

Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This historic site is like no other. Adobe walls, tile roofs and peaceful courtyards provide a great background for learning some interesting history about missions in early California. Don't miss this unique history experience!

Thank travelingknitter2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unbelievable destination. Easily accessible off the highway, so if you haven't seen this site, take the time to stop and visit. Parking is a bit difficult since it is off site and can be scarce on a busy day, but it is a small town and easy to walk to the Mission no matter where you park. Admission for seniors was $9. You can secure a free audio tour device or pay for a guided tour, but we were able to negotiate the site without tours. The grounds are gorgeous with gardens well maintained. There are many side exhibits in the historic buildings. The church is beautiful. Plenty of places to sit and take in the spaces. There is a nice gift shop with plenty of artifacts and souvenirs as you exit the grounds. Your hand is stamped so you can leave the grounds and return as well. Plenty of nearby shops and restaurants to visit as well. We were so impressed with all this historic site had to offer.

Thank ReadRibbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visit SJC and the Mission and loved the city. It was like going back on time. The Mission has so much history. It was great.

Thank Voyager827751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This mission is truly beautiful. there is so much history. It's peaceful and relaxing and the staff is very helpful

Thank nannyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to learn about California history, the missions of California are the place to start. There are 22 of them, but most don't have the mystic of the swallows returning each year on St Joseph's day, March 22nd. There is also a hit song. It is beautiful and worth the time to stop. It isn't just an old mission, it is living history.

1  Thank Kittycat1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to San Juan Capistrano 1 year ago, with my husband and daughter. The place is simply amazing, big and has a beautiful garden around. It is a nice plac the surrounding is beutiful and there are few cosy nice restaurants in the area too, nice place to spend a day.

Thank Hedia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was like stepping back in history over 200 years. Lots to see and you can take an audio tour or just read all the info. I spent over an hour there is so much to see.

Thank Bridgetpianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews