We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barbecue - Service a little slow”
Review of Bad To The Bone

Bad To The Bone
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue - Service a little slow”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I guess I am a little spoiled by having the meat chopped in front of me as I order. That is the way the places in Texas do it. It took 15 minutes for my food to show up. Pretty slow for stuff that all they have to do is cut it and put it on the plate.

Now that I got that off my chest, the barbecue was worth the wait. I ordered the brisket and sausage plate with beans and potato salad. All were very good and I will go back.

I highly recommend but do go when you are pressed for time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOCGAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hoppin restaurant with music on Sat night”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant in strip shopping center, popular with locals. Live music- one guy with guitar and line to order and dine. Food was a 3 out of 5.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great BBQ but little smoky inside”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband loved his steak but I was not very crazy about mine. Place was kind a dark and too noisy. Lot of my country western friends love this place for beers and BBQ ribs. I Gus's that's why they salads for customer like me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good BBQ - I've had better BBQ sauce. ”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service and staff is very friendly and helpful. Not crazy about the BBQ sauce. I'm a Sweet Baby Ray fan. Everything we all had tasted really good. I would go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food - Loud Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were here on a Friday evening. It seems like a local's establishment because it is not right in the downtown area. We had the tri-tip salad. It was very fresh and was presented very nicely. The restaurant was busy and a bit on the noisy side. There was live music in the bar area. The ribs looked and smelled good but we really wanted to try the salad. It was plenty of food. No picture. Was too hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugs-LewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad To The Bone also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Bad To The Bone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing