We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coulda-shoulda-woulda been a 3 to 4-Star”
Review of Posada de San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada de San Juan
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Coulda-shoulda-woulda been a 3 to 4-Star”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I so wanted to give this hotel a higher rating. It's in a fantastic location right of the main drag in sleepy San Juan Bautista, has beautiful Mission-style interior, comfy beds, nice linens . . . However, we were very dismayed with several factors. The $20 extra person fee for our child when we had a room with two queens was our first disappointment, especially since it hadn't been disclosed when we called the hotel to make the reservation. The receptionist was rather gruff. She made a big point of sharing how many mistakes the person who took our reservation made - like getting our name & address wrong, underquoting us the room rate, not telling us about the extra person fee - but then did nothing to try to fix any problems on our end, resulting in us paying $30 dollars (plus the extra tax) more than originally quoted when we made the reservation. She offered to give us recommendations for dinner, but then said the name of the Mexican restaurant with such a heavy accent (that she hadn't had during the rest of our interaction) that we could not understand her, and when asked to repeat she told us to just look in the black binder in the lobby. Glad we kept asking her to repeat, because the restaurant - Doña Esther- was really good, but we might have missed out on it! The fact that the room did not have an in room coffee maker was a major shock, since I don't function well in public (even the breakfast room of a hotel) without at least one cup in the morning. I can't remember ever staying at a hotel in the U.S. that didn't have in room coffee. Finally, the TV had very poor reception, and since we don't have cable at home, watching tv at night in our hotel is always a big treat for our family, yet another disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisNMellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
41
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Pablo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely Enjoyed our visit at Posada de San Juan! The Staff was so friendly and professional, our room was cozy and comfortable and the light breakfast served was delicious. We will definitely stay there again! Alot of restaurants, pubs and a wonderful bakery are within walking distance and the locals are especially helpful and friendly. We went to San Juan Bautista to visit the Mission but ate and shopped in several places in town. *****Star experience!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bspeir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel on our way from northern California to Santa Barbara. It is a charming hotel in a quiet location within easy walking distance of some really good restaurants and Mission San Juan Bautista. We really enjoyed our stay, and will happily return if we have the chance. We travel a fair amount and found the mid-week rate of $108 a night for a spacious room with a King sized bed to be an exceptional value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in especially for $100 a night. There haven't been any upgrades since the 70"s. The 13" TV was from the 70's with cords hanging down from the wall, the lamps didn't work, the linens were soiled, the bathtub jets were moldy and shower heads all crusty with sediment deposits. Internet connection wasn't clear, the beds were all squeeky and outdated, carpet was old and the list goes on. When I asked for a discount that we were very unhappy she only gave us back $25. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. But we were tired and I didn't know any other place we could go to in that desolate area. Basically the place had never been renovated and even the owner had to come into our room to light the fireplace and start the pilot light for the fireplace. UGH UGH

Room Tip: no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank titanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan Bautista hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Looked quite good on the pics here, so we rented their best VIP room with a hot tub for about $250. Well, the outdated green carpet was really stained. The outdated old fake pink flower baskets had a thick layer of dust on them. The whole room had a green with pink vibe to it. Our “hot tub” was right next to the toilet. The fireplace didn’t work. There was an old box TV hiding in the room behind the wall patrician, for some reason it was stored in our room... The kitchenette was done in 80s and had the dirt layer to prove it. There were no matching glasses that we could use for the wine that we brought with us. Coffeemaker was so old and disgusting, that I wasn't brave enough to make coffee in it. There room “view” was at some storage building or such. The hotel and the room had good, unique bones to it, but everything is very outdated and dirty. It needs a good scrubbing, new carpets, new coffeemaker. The dust-collecting outdated fake flowers should be thrown away. Adding a mini fridge and a microwave would help as well. For the $250 that we paid, I was very disappointed. Will not go back.

Room Tip: if you have to stay int his hotel, get a cheepest room and do not expect much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 121Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I always read reviews that are negative with a wary eye. I know that there is not pleasing some people. It makes me wonder why they travel and how impeccable their own homes are? I have only written one other negative review and that was about a supposed motel in Mexico that turned out to be a converted garage. It didn't even have an indoor bathroom. I have thought twice about writing this review. I am only doing so because maybe the owners will see this review and correct the problems. This was at one time and could easily become again a really cute boutique motel that with the new restaurants and the bakery back open, would make it a wonderful weekend getaway. It would also be a great break for a traveler who is in California and has gotten tired of usual motels that are on I5..

When you first pull up to this motel, it is like you have found an oasis in the desert. From the outside, the motel looks like it is like the boutique motels that are found on the Coast. However, when you finally get into the room, after figuring out which keys operate the two dead bolts.

The place is in terrible need of a deep cleaning and at least minor refurbishing. The mattress appears to be the original ones when the motel was built. As are the linens and blankets. I must add that they are very clean. That and the nearest motel that would be any kind of an upgrade is over 10 miles away kept us in this motel for the night.

The bathroom was on the surface clean, until one started to look at the jets in the bath. They all had hair hanging out of them.Then one starts looking in the corners and they are just grimy. If we were to stay another night, which our backs could not handle because of the mattress, I would have requested that housekeeping clean the bathroom thoroughly.

Whoever wired the rooms must have really been wanting to have a joke on the expense of the occupant. To turn on the bathroom light, one has to go out of the bathroom to where the sink is. Then it was on a timer. I would not want to be relaxing in the tub and have the lights go out. Most times we leave the light in the bathroom on at night so the strange room is not pitch black. We gave up after the light over the bathroom sink went out twice!

The motel is not cheap. It was $100 for a week night. We probably should have traveled on to Monterey, but is was late and we had already drug all our stuff into the room. I remember when I was a child and we traveled. My father would always go and check out the room before he signed in. Maybe we will need to start doing that again.

This motel could upgrade their rooms for the price of one night's stay. All it needs are some minor repairs, a deep cleaning, some new bed linens and a mattress topper would fix the worn out mattresses. If they did, they might get more people staying more than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a working fireplace. Also
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cowboymom5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well most of the time a friendly ghost, keep ahold of your keys and credit cards is all I can say!
other than that, the hotel is charming, clean and the staff was incredibly friendly. I am a local, live about 20 minutes from the hotel so this was just a spontaneous overnite trip. The room was large, wonderful little gas fireplace, two person jet tub, comfy bed and the room was very clean. If you are a big tv watcher, be prepared as the tv is kinda fuzzy and not many channels but seriously, once you get here you shouldnt need tv. The town of San Juan Bautista is very quaint, great little restaurants and local bars, all within a short walk, the locals were also very nice. We plan on making this a quarterly trip just for the fun of it!!

Room Tip: Room 214 if you are the ghost hunting, adventureous type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iluvete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Bautista
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
0.4 mi away
Hacienda de Leal
Hacienda de Leal
#1 of 2 in San Juan Bautista
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western San Benito Inn
9.9 mi away
Ridgemark Golf and Country Club Resort
7.5 mi away
Hollister Inn
Hollister Inn
#2 of 2 in Hollister
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de San Juan

Property: Posada de San Juan
Address: 310 Fourth St, San Juan Bautista, CA 95045
Location: United States > California > San Juan Bautista
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Juan Bautista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De San Juan Hotel San Juan Bautista
Posada De San Juan Bautista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing