We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guest services are poorly lacking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada de San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada de San Juan
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Guest services are poorly lacking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Checked in early before inspecting room. Arrived later in the evening after dinner with a group of 18 people all staying at the hotel to find that the TV had no reception or perhaps it was so old it needed to be replaced. Pilot light out on fireplace. Wall heater not working. All lights on motion sensors so they go out when you are lying in bed reading or in the shower. Mattress springs stick you in the back. Towels are stained, old and need to be replaced. Sheets look thread-bare. No one at front desk to receive call from guests to notify of problems with heat, tv, etc, because the phone is in a locked room? Continental breakfast offers ONLY coffee, white or wheat bread, jam and cut-up fruit looking rather old. If you need real food or protein for breakfast, bring your own. Upon check-out, we made a list of room issues and gave it to the woman at the front desk (the owner perhaps?) She read it and said, "Next time, you'll be better off staying at the hotel across the highway." How's that for customer service. Not even an offer to reduce the bill.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel as the person (probably the owner) stated to us. Looks can be deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
9
40
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I had a very nice 2 night stay here. The large whirlpool tub was great. Super convenient to walk to the mission, restaurants and shops. Very, very quiet. Comfortable bed and nice room. We are planning to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: The wireless for the Internet only works in some rooms so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I like the Posada de San Juan- it's more of a 3 & 1/2 star location. The Jacuzzi is a big plus, location is great! Right downtown and still quiet. Park your car and head out to the Mission, the Cafe is right across the street for a good breakfast and the bikerbars are only another block away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenManSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was our second visit and I had forgotten how pleasant the experience was. The rooms, although a bit dated, were clean and well equipped with a Jacuzzi tub and fireplace, and comfortable king sized bed. The inn is only a few steps from the mission, but on a quiet street. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingpulmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here one night, and was very pleased. The room was large, had a gas fireplace, a large jacuzzi tub, and balcony on the second floor. The bed mattress was a little thin, but the room was clean and had new finishing touches. Treated well by the front desk--I believe Mrs. Lopez herself--who chatted with us and told us about the play we were about to see at El Teatro Campesino. Small coffee maker, and a rather limited breakfast but you want to go into the town to eat anyway. Very happy with this choice and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Posada de San Juan for two nights in late August. The property has some lovely features, such as a spacious, inviting lobby area, and a lush central atrium. We found everyone there pleasant and accommodating. Our upstairs room was very spacious, with a sitting area, fireplace, wet bar and balcony. While the room was charming and clean, it was somewhat worn, and the mattress wasn't the most comfortable. The pilot was off in our fireplace, but a call to the front desk had someone there to light it promptly. The continental breakfast offerings and coffee were nothing to write home about - especially the coffee. There were very few guests at the hotel when we were there, so it was extremely quiet and relaxing (I was woken at the crack of dawn by the crowing of roosters, but that's San Juan Bautista!). There's an outdoor courtyard in the rear of the hotel, but it's not in use and isa sad sight - too bad, could be pretty. I can't give the Posada five stars, as it's pricey for the location (bill was 370. for two nights) and it's in need of some updating, however, our stay there was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kauinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This family owned hotel is slightly off the beaten path, and has the charm and character that a weary traveler looks for. The staff (owners wife!) is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is a custom made in the style of a Mexican villa. The rooms were large, clean and quiet (except the walls were a bit thin).

The price was excellent for the nice location, town, and feel. We slept well here and enjoyed the city. Its much better than the other hotel we stayed at the night before and is a hidden gem we will likely return to if we go back to Laguna Seca or Monterey.

Room Tip: We got the last room, so I would advise making reservations in advance. We noticed several out of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Bautista
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn
0.4 mi away
Hacienda de Leal
Hacienda de Leal
#1 of 2 in San Juan Bautista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ridgemark Golf and Country Club Resort
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Benito Inn
13.1 mi away
Casa de Fruta
Casa de Fruta
#1 of 5 in Hollister
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de San Juan

Property: Posada de San Juan
Address: 310 Fourth St, San Juan Bautista, CA 95045
Location: United States > California > San Juan Bautista
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Juan Bautista
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De San Juan Hotel San Juan Bautista
Posada De San Juan Bautista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing