We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of The Boiling Crab

The Boiling Crab
Ranked #161 of 2,185 Restaurants in San Jose
Restaurant details
Republic of Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a great dinner there at March. While the blue crab becomes sold out soon, the dungeonness crab and boiled shrimp were so nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngsukwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“definitely coming back!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

love everything! from the service to the food! definitely coming back! my 4 yr old daugther loves the apron!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margarettemikyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“experience > taste”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

2 hour wait (so get there early) + eating steaming sea carcasses out of a trash bag = worth it for the trendy experience (just so you can tell your friends you did it), but not so much for the taste (or the $$$)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Responsible_Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth the 90 minute wait”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Drove on a rainy night from Aptos to SJ & ended up waiting 90 minutes for our table. There was a long line outside & inside the restaurant. Waited at the bubble tea place a few doors down.
ENJOYED our crayfish, crab 6 2 lbs of shrimp in the Sha Bang sauce. Only down side was the mild headache I had after the meal. Maybe I should have checked my BP ;-)
Totally worth the wait ! Will wait a little while before I get my BP us again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmttokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My mother taught me not to play with my food.....”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I love any kind of shellfish, but, oh my God! What a horrible and expensive experience! I felt like I needed a shower when I left this place. Perhaps it's a cultural thing (there were only a few Caucasians dining here), but eating out of a plastic bag - swimming in messy sauce - with my hands is not my idea of fun. No plates or utensils (except shelling implements). By the time I left my hands were filthy & sticky (they could at least furnish Wet Wipes) and raw from shelling the crab. I guess I don't really want to work so hard for my supper. We ordered several different seasonings which all tasted alike and overpowered the delicate flavor of the shrimp and crab. We also ordered sweet potato fries which never came. The restaurant was very crowded and miserably loud with music pounding overhead. Didn't like the food or the ambiance! Never again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keaaugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boiling Crab also viewed

 

Been to The Boiling Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing