We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better hotels nearby at this price point. Not up to HI Express standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Better hotels nearby at this price point. Not up to HI Express standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Hotel is old and musty. Refurbishment limited to bedding and television. Very dirty carpets, lampshades, old furniture. Dissapointing and not up to the standard I have come to expect from HI Express. Gold Priority Club member and will not be stating here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    91
    51
    19
    9
See reviews for
36
46
31
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express when we travel because there are usually no surprises. The staff here was friendly and helpful. The decor is a little dated, but everything was clean and comfortable. As Priority Club members we are used to receiving a little extra at check-in, but there was nothing here. Also no morning newspaper. The breakfast was as expected except the bagel I had was definitely quite stale. Overall, it was a quick overnight business trip and the stay was acceptable, but certainly not memorable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

TV was not working. I waited 1 hour to get help. Lights in bathroom was not working. Shower was not working either, 4am in the morning, once I put shampoo on my hair I had to use the bathtub faucet to rince it!. Front desk clerk "Deokie" ignored me for 10 minutes at checkout. I did not get a simple look or a "good morning" greeting. Deokie was busy with her computer instead. Deplorable .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavageKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

Normally I have been very happy staying in HIE hotels. Usually they are clean, new and pretty well run, especially for the price. For the price I don't expect 5-star service or ameneties, but I expect a clean, bright, new place that is efficiently run.
This HIE was anything but. Check in was OK if a little slow. When I got to my room I noticed that the bed appeared to be the only thing up to the HIE standard. The carpeting was stained and worn, the bathroom fixtures were outdated and dingy and the ventilaton system was the old type where you control it from the appliance at the window.

I slept poorly because I could hear everything from the room next to mine and from the room above. In addition, several alarm clocks went off in the early morning, apparently unattended, as they blared for over 30 minutes. My alarm clock on the other hand didn't go off at all (fortunately I had set the clock on my cell phone as well).

I was on a business trip so wanted to have a quick breakfast and get out. Little did I know how quick it would be. THe breakfast food was OK - standard HIE fare, but the breakfast room was so dingy and depressing I didn't stay any longer than I had to.

Overall the place was just run down. The hallways were dark and had stained carpeting and the lobby was more like that of a Motel 6.

I was very disappointed that this hotel is allowed to be part of the HIE franchise as it doesn't measure up at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Stayed here on business. Just an OK place. Not much around the area as far as shopping or restaurants. Thanks goodness I wasn't there for a vacation. Strictly a place to sleep. The one morning I woke up and their were Police Investigators taping off rooms for a crime scene just 2 doors down from my room.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HBBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel at least 8 times a year for the last 2 years for business. Some of the reviewers here either don't travel often or they really don't know locations, for example "Doubleblowjo" . I'm not sure if you realize this but you must call once you have arrive at the airport to have their shuttle pick you up. If you feel you're that important to have a shuttle waiting for you, try the Fairmont Hotel Downtown San Jose and be ready to pay $200 plus for a room. Remember the Holiday Inn Express is a value hotel, key word "VALUE" . I feel that their price does reflect their value $100 or so for a room, $80 if you come in on a weekend. They would not get a 5 from me but a 4 is well deserve specially for their cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and decided to go to San jose. I had looked around for a package for the Winchester Mystery house and decided on Holiday Inn. It was 109 (123 inlu tax) for the room PLUS 2 tickets to the Winchester Mystery house. We were thrilled. The room was big, bathroom was big, and they were very friendly. The manager was nice as well as the young lady at the desk. Breakfast was good. Included bacon, eggs, cinnamon rolls, muffins, cereal. Basic but good and free! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wifenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt
Address: 1350 N. Fourth St., San Jose, CA 95112 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Airport. We are conveniently located 1.8 miles from the airport with easy access to major highways. Complimentary airport shuttle service available. Here for a convention? The light rail transit system is only two blocks away, which provides easy access to downtown San Jose, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center, and the Santa Clara Convention Center. Our hotel is perfect for the corporate and leisure traveler, offering renovated rooms and exceptional service. Here on business? We are in the heart of Silicon Valley, surrounded by several distinguished companies such as Siemens, Agilent Technologies, and Intel. We are just minutes away from the brand new eBay, Inc. facilities. If you're looking for a getaway, our hotel offers discount tickets to the world famous Winchester Mystery House. We are a short drive away from Paramount's Great America, and located just 30 miles from Santa Cruz Boardwalk and beaches. Whether it's relaxing in our pool and spa, an invigorating work out in our fitness center, winding down with a latest release pay-per-view movie, or working from your room with our high-speed Internet access, you are sure to enjoy your visit to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing