We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experince”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

my husband and I Stayed for two nights, after reading many reviews we wasn't really expecting a lot from this hotel.but we were surprised of what a great hotel this is. Check in was fast and smooth and the front desk staff provided us with great customer service and information of some places where we could get something to eat. We had a king non-smoking room which was really clean, specious, organized, and the bed was very confortable. The bathroom was quiet big( the shower head was a plus).breakfast was great, they had many food options which is always plus. My only small complaint would be that the pool is not heated, so swimming after 8:30p.m can get a bit cold, but after a swim the water feels just fine. Overall we had a great experience and plan to go back soon

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merlinrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you with good service and your accommodation needs were met.

We hope that next time you to San Jose, we will have the pleasure of you having stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    95
    52
    19
    9
See reviews for
38
46
31
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I won this room on Priceline for $65 a night. Not bad for a Saturday in June. I was nervous about staying here because of online reviews that were less than complimentary.

Check-in was smooth. There is a $50 charge (hold) on your credit card for incidentals, but I knew that ahead of time because I called (needed to budget that hold). There was an elevator, and the hallways were clean, quiet, and brightly lit.

Once in the room, my friend and I delighted ourselves in taking in the details of the room. The labels on the pillows for "soft" and "firm" were adorable and the bags for the toilet tissue and hair drier were clever. The free amenities were from Bath & Body Works (Coconut Lime Verbena). Our room overlooked the pool, which was sparkling and inviting. However, it didn't open until 10am, so we were unable to go swimming the morning of our checkout (we had plans in the evening of our check in).

The hotel was easily accessible from downtown (we saw a show at ComedySportz on 2nd Street), and the "dive bar" next door, The Doghouse, was quaint and not crowded, especially for a Saturday night.

The room itself was quiet. We didn't hear anything from the neighbors upstairs or next door. The beds were comfortable and the shower head was wonderful. The tub did drain slow, but we told the front desk when we checked out.

Upon checkout, the staff was friendly and offered a ride to the airport. I told them my plane didn't leave until 9:30pm, and they told me that wasn't a problem. If I needed it, I would have been able to go back to the hotel and get a free ride to the airport (which isn't too far, but I didn't hear airplanes at all).

All in all, this was a wonderful experience. I hope next time I use Priceline for San Jose, I get this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justaddlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad that you had a great stay and that our staff was able to be of help to you. We appreciate that you noticed the little things/improvements that we have made to the room for our guests.

We hope you come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent the night here on a 12 hour layover with my Fiance. Hotel offers free shuttle to and from airport. After we called from the airport, we were picked up with in ten minutes by Tony, who also ended up checking us in. He was very polite and helpful during the check in, we mentioned if there were any restaurants open in the area in which he said that they wouldn't be open (it was very late), however he gave us phone numbers to pizza without us asking which I thought was very nice and efficient. After we had checked in the room, my tv was having some issues with some of the channels in our room, in which Tony didn't hesitate to come down and work the cable connection. Lady at check out was also very pleasant. Bed and pillows were very comfy, tv's are flat screen with HD and no problems with room temperature. Free breakfast was included which is always a bonus. My only complaint would be the noise from the other guests in the hallway, I believe there was a wedding group which had people yelling and talking loud in the halls with doors opening and closing upwards to 3am. Overall, the hotel offered a fair value for what they offered, and if ever in San Jose airport area again, we will stay with them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you with good service and your accommodation needs were met. We are continuously trying to improve both our quality and service.

We apologize for the noise from the wedding group.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of you having stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you have an early morning flight the next day. It is close to the airport, but not right on top of the flight path, so there's less noise. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes on the half hour -- you need to book it the night before -- and it was extremely prompt. There is free Internet and a free hot breakfast. For our flight, we needed to leave on the 6:30 a.m. shuttle, which is right when the breakfast starts. We assumed we'd miss breakfast, but they started serving early, so we were able to grab some bacon and other goodies. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you with good service and your accommodation needs were met. If you do have an early flight that leaves before our breakfast starts (6:30am), please feel free to ask our front desk for a breakfast to-go bag. A breakfast to-go bag will be prepared in the morning for you.

We hope that next time you have another flight out of San Jose, we will have the pleasure of you having stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here a couple weeks ago for work, very nice hotel. The rooms were large very spacious. The staff was excellent and very informative. I always try and either get a hotel with a work out area or by a nice gym, this one suprised me that they havesome rather good cable weights and 2 modern tread mills. I will definately stay here agian if I am working in the area

Room Tip: There is lots of places to eat just down the street. The Mexican restuarant at the corner is excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregw357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you with good service and your accommodation needs were met. We are continuously trying to improve both are quality and service. We are glad you were able to see the improvements being made.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of you having stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Traveling for business is never fun but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms were a decent size and had a small, separate area which contained a desk. The fridge was a little bigger than the normal "room size" fridge. The beds (and pillows) were comforatble, the AC and heat worked great, and everything was clean.

The breakfast was good and had a decent selection. The breakfast area was well staffed and they ensured one didnt run out of anything. They even offered you trays if you were trying to bring food back to the room

I would definately stay here again, matter of fact, I did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad that you had a great stay and that our staff was able to be of help to you.

Thank you very much for the recommendation and we hope you come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our relationship with this chain has been a good one. If you are okay being off the beaten track, this is your spot. San Jose is a very easy city to navigate. We selected Holiday Inn Express & Suites because of it's offsite location and proximity to the freeway. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. My husband broke his hip about a month before and needed a shower chair. No problem! During our stay, a construction crew consisting of painters, was hard at work. The transformation was obvious by our checkout the following day.

Room Tip: Before having a room selected, look at the map of the hotel. It twists and turns. I really liked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollysJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you with good service and your accommodation needs were met. We are continuously trying to improve both are quality and service. We are glad you were able to see the improvements being made.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of you having stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#11 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#14 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt
Address: 1350 N 4th St, San Jose, CA 95112-4713 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Airport. We are conveniently located 1.8 miles from the airport with easy access to major highways. Complimentary airport shuttle service available. Here for a convention? The light rail transit system is only two blocks away, which provides easy access to downtown San Jose, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center, and the Santa Clara Convention Center. Our hotel is perfect for the corporate and leisure traveler, offering renovated rooms and exceptional service. Here on business? We are in the heart of Silicon Valley, surrounded by several distinguished companies such as Siemens, Agilent Technologies, and Intel. We are just minutes away from the brand new eBay, Inc. facilities. If you're looking for a getaway, our hotel offers discount tickets to the world famous Winchester Mystery House. We are a short drive away from Paramount's Great America, and located just 30 miles from Santa Cruz Boardwalk and beaches. Whether it's relaxing in our pool and spa, an invigorating work out in our fitness center, winding down with a latest release pay-per-view movie, or working from your room with our high-speed Internet access, you are sure to enjoy your visit to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing