We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite decent and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quite decent and good”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Really nice people work here and the parking lot is well lit, that's a nice touch. All the rooms open to the outside like a motel, in case that bothers you.

Clean rooms, convenient to most anything in San Jose. Overall, a most decent place to stay with good rates.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Herod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Herod L..Thank you so much for posting a wonderful review on your stay at our property
We sincerely appreciate your kindness.Your stay with us is very valuable and please come back and see us again while in San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    33
    4
    9
See reviews for
45
22
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After reading several reviews online my wife and I were a bit leery to stay at this location when we stayed in San Jose but we were both incredibly happy with our stay at this Holiday Inn. The girl working the front desk was very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was well maintained and clean. There was an elevator being constructed for those of you who are too lazy or just incapable of taking your luggage up a flight of stairs to the 2nd level. The continental breakfast in the morning was fairly standard and the location (is next to the highway, light sleepers invest in earplugs) made it very easy to get around San Jose. The only downfall is that the walls are a bit thin like other reviewers have mentioned. The fitness center is a bit basic and there was a small outdoor pool and hot tub which were both well maintained as well. I would gladly stay at this location again the next time I come back to San Jose to see the Sharks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you Ryan E for taking time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel.It gives the best description of our hotel performance.Our staff members are highly trained to take care of your needs while you are at our property.Thank you so much once again and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a roadside hotel with a Holiday Inn sign outside. The walls are paper thin and the fitness room is a lawsuit just waiting to happen!!! The management dealt swiftly with our issues as best they could, but the only solution is to add sound insulation. I could hear EVERYTHING going on next door!!!! Thinking of staying here? Think again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepapedemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much lepapedemontreal for posting a review about your stay at our hotel.We are so sorry that you felt that way about your stay.We would like to apologise sincerely.Normally guest are re-situated to another room if they are not happy with their appointed room,so they can get a very nice sleep.The front desk would have happily changed your room
Our hotel offers free passes to the 24 hrs fitness club,if a guest needs a more heavy duty type commercial workout facility.Our very knowledgeable and helpful team is always ready to help and make our guests stay at our hotel and in San Jose better and their experience more memorable.Please come back and stay with us whenever you are in San Jose and experience a better room selection and more things to do in the area.Thanks you so much once again and we value your business very highly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A nice welcome, a good breakfast, but three basic flaws. First, the room insulation was poor, you can hear your neighbor talking, as well as their TV. It's below the airport flight path, which wouldn't be a problem except for the insulation issue. Finally, they charge a downtown room rate, but the motel (and this really is a motel, not a typical holiday inn express) is not downtown.

Room Tip: They are building an elevator to the second floor (one would think that, if this truly has been a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songwriter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much Songwriter123 for taking time out to post a review of our hotel.We value your comments and suggestions.I have forwarded a copy to the ownership also.The room rates in downtown hotels of San Jose are a lot higher than ours..being said that,we use Price Optimization to research and price every segment our hotel sells.And it is based on the going rates of the day at our comp set hotels and various other data.For sure the hotel does not wish to undersell and lose revenue.But thank you so much for your concerns and we surely do appreciate it.We sincerely value your business and hope you will return to come stay with us whenever you are in San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwauke, Wi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here while visiting relatives nearby. The hotel was clean, bright and the staff was helpful. I want to especially thank Kubol for her superior service. I would stay here again. All highways were close to hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsing54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks so much alsing54 for posting such a wonderful review of our hotel.We really value your opinion and we are so pleased that you liked our services.Your business is extremely valuable to us and we know while you have so many choices in San Jose,you chose our location and we are extremely thankful for that.Our staff are very thankful for such kind compliments.Please visit us again while you are in San Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for a business trip. When I called the night before to make the reservation the guy on the phone acted like I was bothering him. Arrived at the hotel and the parking lot had a lot of light which was nice. The lady at the front desk was nice enough. The room was a Very basic no frills room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The in room Internet worked good. The breakfast was horrible. I threw it away and just had orange juice. If you need a quick room then ok but there is a better place a few blocks away at the Hampton Suites for the same or lower cost.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank molly1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks Molly for writing a review about our hotel.We do appreciate your business and value your opinion.We are sorry you that you did not like our hot breakfast buffet which many guests love.The hot breakfast is a IHG standard I am working to find out what had happened.Please come back to see us again and experience the difference in service..Thanks so much again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in month of October-November 2013. The San Jose Downtown area is just 10 mins away drive; and Plant Shopping Centre & Oak Hill Cemetry area at walking distance from this hotel. I found my room quite spacious and clean along with all required facilities, such as, a satellite TV, oven, AC, a comfortable study stable, free WiFi etc. I found out the hotel staff friendly and helpful. Also, breakfast was included in the room charge and was good. The staff would support you to arrange a cab to Downtown San Jose and San Francisco city/airport at just 5 mins notice. Enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are better and staying in Ground floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMITRA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much Amitra007 for such a wonderful review about your stay at our hotel.We value your comments and we are so glad that you had a great experience at our hotel.It was a pleasure having you here with us. Please make us your home away from home while you are in town again.Thanks so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#48 of 75 in San Jose
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
3.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,355 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Address: 2660 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing