We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Nearby Hotels
The Westin San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$399
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$264
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dolce Hayes Mansion(San Jose)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$200
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$169
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$321
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$269
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
60
49
34
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
49
34
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressmotel styleparking lotnice showerroom doorvery pleasant stayhot tubrooms are cleancomplimentary breakfastmicrowavegymbedsidejetsfreewayclerk
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 161 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

On the road for a living I see alot of hotels. This one is Great! Friendly staff, they went the extra mile to make me feel welcome. Platinum members will be in for a few pleasant surprises. Will be back to this one for sure.

Room Tip: No freeway nearby, nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much Fieldrep for your wonderful review about our hotel.It is always a pleasure having our Reward members at our hotel.They are very special to us We value and appreciate your business alot.Please come and see us again while you are in San Jose.Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice place! Some of my colleagues stayed at the Hilton or Marriott near the convention center; I chose this place as having a way more reasonable price. No regrets at all: no crowds, free parking, free wi-fi, well-maintained room and furnishings, little fridge and microwave, iron & ironing board, big TV with DirecTV, free hot breakfast (bacon, ham, sausage, eggs, biscuits & gravy, cinnamon rolls, muffins, pastries, fruit, yogurt, etc.)...and they even give ya a little welcome goody bag with munchies. Staff were nice too. What the heck more do you want? If you want fancy, this isn't your place. I don't need fancy. Next time I'm in San Jose, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrycrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you so very much for such a honest review of our hotel,jerrycrash.It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel.Guest like yourself make each of our staff 's day.They put in alot of effort and treat every guest as very special.We do really appreciate your business and we are very proud to have you here.Thanks so much again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were in town to watch a couple of San Jose Sharks games at the SAP arena, it is a 10 minute drive, tops. The rooms are very big, with lots of closet space, free wifi, coffee and water. The free breakfast was very good as well and the rooms were quiet for a good nights sleep. Ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you Dave for a wonderful review of our hotel,we do take pride in our hotel and we are so happy you have acknowledged our efforts.We know that you have lots of choices in San Jose but you stayed with us-we really value your business..thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was born/raised in San Jose but have lived in Montana for close to 20 yrs now.
I came for a visit for my nephew's wedding and to see family/friends.
In planning my trip I made a terrible mistake in reserving a room in another hotel (no names mentioned) in a VERY unpleasant area - I mentioned to the mgr that his reviews were not very good - he convinced me he is in process of major cleaning/renovating & that I will be impressed with my accommodations PLUS the price he offered me was very cheap - I was always unfamiliar with South SJ area as opposed to north area... but was not worried much.
I survived a Wed & Thurs. night at the horrible hotel and had to scurry around - on a Friday! - to find cleaner and safer lodging. I called a few places, but communication with front desk was a huge challenge and I could not understand so much foreign language.
Finally, I called HIExpress on Monterey Rd and Rema (sp?) was SO pleasant and understanding, along with another receptionist (Kopal) with my situation that she did her very best to get me a room without paying a ton more $$$ - I feel they both went over and beyond their duty to please me....
I entered my room and I couldn't believe what a difference my accommodations were - There was not a thing I lacked in my new room. I honestly believe they gave me their best room (101) - I might mention that this HIExpress was only 4 miles or so north of the bad place I originally chose.... but with major differences.
I woke my first morning to a full on breakfast in a pristine lobby with respectable clientele.
I will continue to seek this hotel during my next visit.
Thank you HIExpress and your wonderful staff!
Jackie B.

Room Tip: Ground Floor beginning at Room 101 which is at the far right corner of hotel - quiet enough.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlu712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thanks so much Jackie for taking time in posting comments about your stay at our hotel.We are so pleased that you felt so satisfied with the quality of service we offer to our valuable guests.You have made our employees very proud.Our employees take a lot of pride in their work.We feel that every guest is so special to us.Please come visit us again while you are in San Jose-your home away from home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel room like new! New carpet, nice bathroom, granite counters. Regular customer checking in. The pool is fairly small, size of 2-3 hot tubs. The location is not on the best side of town, but not too far away either. New shopping center nearby. Maybe up and coming area. Continental breakfast includes eggs, sausage, Bacon, pancakes, cereal, pastries, etc. Good value. Service was great, tv not working when arrived, and management came right up to fix connection. Very pleased to stay in a new hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brickhouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks so much Brickhouse99 for your review.We do appreciate your kind business and are so thankful that you have recognised the efforts of our staff.Please keep us in your travel plans whenever you are in San Jose.Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews