We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel is worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the rate is good, but hotel location is closed to freeway, nearby have limited restaurants. when i want out at late, i feel not safe. room is good and clean. it worth the money for sure, breakfast is also ok

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestCare2660, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks so much for writing a review for our hotel Mr Ricarli and thanks for appreciating the hardwork and effort our employees put in to make your stay a great one.We strive very hard to keep our property in a very good shape.You are a very important guest to us
Thanks a lot for choosing to stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 154 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at this hotel while visiting relatives in San Jose. We cannot recommend it highly enough. The managers were helpful, pleasant, and most graciously assisted us through a problem which we had created--booking our reservation at the wrong Holiday Inn Express. The front desk lady called the "wrong hotel" and cancelled our reservation there, made it possible for us to avoid the late cancellation fee, and gave us a wonderful room at this hotel. The hotel is squeaky clean, well equipped with amenities, the included breakfast is delicious and offers many different choices. Besides all this, the price was fair and moderate!

Room Tip: We have stayed in this property several times before this visit and have never had a "bad"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you so much Mr Lois for your wonderful comments.Your comments helps the hotel to always improve its service on a daily basis.We always appreciate your business and we know while you have lots of choices in San Jose,you always come back to stay with us-we are really thankful for that

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spacious room kept immaculately neat and clean. Shower had bars on all three walls and the extended curtain rod All the extras provided (microwave, refrig, iron, etc). Decent little breakfast Silly, I know, but we were impressed with how the bed was made each day with fresh sheets tightly tucked. The only problem was the additional expense of having to leave a nice tip for them. :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler_della
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you TD for the wonderful comments about our hotel.Its so satisfying to read good comments for our hotel knowing that my team really works hard and the focus never shifts away from the guest.Your comments continuously helps us to strive for the best.We keep our hotel ready for the guest all the time..thanks so much once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very recently, I had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Jose. The hotel was in a convenient to my business appointment and was easy to find. The check-in experience is one of the factors that sets the tone for the experience for me. The check-in at the Holiday Inn Express in San Jose was very friendly and efficient.

The room was spacious, clean, and included snacks and bottled water. Very nice gesture for a hotel in this price point. The bed had a choice of pillows and the linens were clean and comfortable.

As other reviewers have mentioned the entry to your room is straight from the parking lot. While this may be bothersome to some people, it is convenient when bringing your luggage into your room.

The breakfast area was clean and there were a lot of choices for your meal. The staff at the front desk greeted me and wished me a good morning too.

With other hotels in the area including a different Holiday Inn Express in the area charging upwards of $300 per night, this hotel is a real gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonjour28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments..it makes our employees feel rewarded when the guest is really happy.This is our ultimate goal...to be guest ready and to keep the service and quality level higher at all times
It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel-thank you so much again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We traveled 21 days on a row with our kids and are used to travel around the globe on different quality levels. The reception staff was really excellent in giving the guest a warm feeling. There performance during check in as well visual performance was high standard as a 5**** hotel. My compliments ! It was the warmest greeting and service since a long time. They explained the Hotel services as well complementary snacks available which we did not see in any of the Holiday Inn Express we stayed in. After arriving in the room we got a phonecall if everything was to our satisfaction. The rooms were nice and clean as you should expect from any hotel. Overall a nice surprise and an example for many hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much VD for your beautiful words and very kind compliments.It always pumps up the spirit of my staff when they hear about wonderful guests comments.Your review helped us to up our services and performance and to raise our benchmark.We really value you as our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

On a resent trip we had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Lebec Ca and it was fantastic. So assuming all the Holiday Inn Express's would be the same we made made reservations at this one. Like others are saying it is like a converted Motel. The rooms are clean but loud, you can hear everything that is going on outside. The breakfast was somewhat the same as the other Holiday Inn Express but not as good. scrambled eggs instead of cheese omelets no biscuits (maybe they were out) but gravy I guess for the eggs or over a english muffin? everything was just not as good in comparison. And it was more expensive than the nicer place... The employees are friendly and helpful. I don't want to bash this establishment it was fine, clean, safe, friendly just not the same value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms can be loud. But they are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbird1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear sbird1932,

Thank you for you review. I am delighted to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. However, it is my regret that you were not satisfied with your overall experience. I apologize about the noise and the quality of breakfast served. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is not your typical Holiday Inn Express. The room entrance is from the outside. It is possibly a converted motel. The room we were in was clean and everything worked. They had a nice snack basket and bottled water in the room when we arrived. Plenty of pillows on the bed and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast bar was good-the usual stuff available..The person replenishing the bar was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the traffic noise. We had a room near the street and the noise from the traffic woke me up early.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the front. There is too much traffic on the street early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaLandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you VL for taking time to post a review of the hotel.It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel..We take great pride in the service and quality of our hotel and your comments helps us strive for better all the time
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced at the hotel regarding the noise..We have taken steps to train our employees to provide the guest choices so this issue can be addressed.Please come visit us again when you are in San Jose
Thank you so much once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
5.3 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $125 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing