We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not what you'll expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what you'll expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place used to be a Holiday Inn and it still feels like it. The rooms are nice enough and the beds are comfy but for over $100 a night (and I booked online) not really worth it since you are well over 15 minutes away from Downtown and there is NOTHING to do near the hotel itself. I tried to upgrade my room to a suit when I got here and was told that since I booked online they couldn't help me, I would have to go back online and change my reservation. I booked online with this company! I did not use a travel site or anything like that, I literally booked with Sheraton and had to call and finish the booking because they couldn't get their site to work properly. I couldn't understand why in the heck they would not just give me a credit for what I already prepaid for and then charge me the cost of the new room since it was booked through their company not a third party. Oh well lesson learned next time I stay closer to downtown and just pay the higher price which by the way was only $20 more than this place.

The pool left something to be desired as well. It was small and outdated and the spa was tiny and hardly warm. They do have a "fitness center" but it isn't much.

Room Tip: Best tip would be to choose a different hotel all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_P_602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    78
    77
    55
    56
See reviews for
69
51
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I booked this hotel through one of its partner businesses and since it was only a few dollars more than others in the area due to the discount I thought it might be a nice change from my usual budget traveller choices.

Let's just say I'm sure glad I didn't pay retail.

The positives:
The hotel is very quiet, good soundproofing through walls, and of course the decor is beautiful.
There is a coffee maker, hair dryer, shampoo in the room, plus an iron and ironing board.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable - certainly the most comfortable I've had at a hotel/motel in a long time.
Upgraded Speakman shower head in the shower and adequate water pressure.
Plenty of free parking.
Restaurant adjacent.

The negatives:

No frig or microwave in room. Of course not - they want you to order room service food.
For such an upscale place I was expecting a great cup of coffee, especially since the packets for the coffeemaker came in a cute little burlap bag. The in-room coffee was terrible - so weak and no body to the flavor! Style over substance wins again.
The duvet cover on one bed had some spots on it. No big deal, I know, but for these prices I would not expect to see smudges. Also smudges on the bathroom wall. Not a crisis, but I wouldn't expect to see that here.
They take a deposit from your credit card for "incidentals" - translated that means if you make calls from the room phone, or accidentally take home their hair dryer, they deduct it from your deposit. I don't have a problem with that - I just wish they'd tell travelers in advance, on the booking sites, that they require a deposit. It's a shame all travelers have to be treated like potential criminals in this way. They should tell us that on the booking sites.

Worst of all, the customer service people were not very nice. I thought I looked okay considering I'd just driven 3 hours and traveled 3 days, but I guess I looked poor in my less-than-Bloomingdales attire. The front desk person acted as if he didn't want to touch my credit card when he saw I was prepaid at a discount rate. Another guest service person also looked at me with disdain.

It's summer Sheraton. Your company is offering discounts. Please train your customer service staff to treat every guest the same no matter how beat up their luggage is or how their clothing says, "Not a Nordstroms shopper".

For me and my needs, I won't be staying at a Four Points again. Yes, the rooms are very pretty but a comfortable room is really about the amenities and how you're treated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PersonintheVicinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were attending a wedding in Cupertino and chose to stay at this hotel because we could use SPG points. The hotel's location is about 15 minutes away from downtown San Jose but rather than that be an issue, it turned out to be a blessing as the hotel is set among some gentle rolling hillsides and offered very easy access to the freeway. There is a restaurant of some sort across from the parking lot, and room service appeared to be an option.

My room was pretty nice, and the beds were phenomenal. The room is somewhat updated with a nice, huge flat panel TV and nice working area, plus a chair to relax in. The bathroom was updated as well, clean with good water pressure (although it seems all Four Points use the awful pump soap and shampoo). The only issue was the room smelled a bit musty when we first walked in, but with the AC going for a while that smell was gone.

Our room (108) was far down the hall from the lobby area but it was impossible to ignore the party going on in the main meeting room, since we could hear the music from the room with the door closed. The room also had an old fashioned heat/AC unit, while my friends staying in rooms across the hall had newer thermostats installed.

The fitness center was adequate and the pool (which we did not use) was a popular hangout.

I'd say this is a pretty great place to stay, as long as you have a car. I think it's only 3000 SPG points a night, so definitely a bargain. Just try and stay in a room away from the meeting rooms, unless you enjoy listening to loud music as you try to fall asleep.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay here after reading all the negative reviews.

I stayed just one night during a business trip and I found my room to be roomy, comfortable and clean. The furniture was cute and modern.

There doesn't seem to be a lot nearby but downtown San Jose was just about 8 miles away so a 10-15 min ride away.

I also had breakfast at their restaurant right outside and it was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just stayed at this property for one night this week, want to help my fellow travelers with a brief review.

Location - fair, there is nothing near this property so once you are there you maybe with little options for dinning.

Room - Average, clean and recently remodeled

Noise - One of the two big issues was the noise level - rooms are not well insulated from noise in other room and hallways

Restaurant - Poor, food not very good, the bar area has a few TV'S for viewing sports and they have 80's music playing, very little ambiance.

Room Tip: I had room 220, good but noise level was an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caravan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Clean quiet hotel, comfortable bed, convenient location. Close to the freeway about four to five miles from restaurants. However, there is a restaurant in the parking lot. Friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you found our location easily accessible and convenient. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The lobby was nice and the rooms were clean. The service was horrible. Our room wasn't ready when we tried to check in at 5pm. It didn't take long though. The biggest problem though and what got suck low ratings is there was a party going on in the meeting room below us that had a huge stereo system. We had a huge amount of bass vibrating our room for the majority of the night. The amount of noise coming into the room was unbelievable and impossible to sleep with. We called once to be nice and just asked politely if they knew when the party would be over and the only answer was that they didn't know. After unsuccessfully trying to sleep we called to ask if we could switch rooms and the only answer was that they were fully booked and there is nothing they could do for us. We also attempted to go to the hot tub which was 89 degrees and dirty.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the ballroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We sincerely apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay, and the manner it was dealt with. The comfort of all our guests is our first priority and we fell short of that goal here. Please accept our apologies and we hope you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
10.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Airport
10.8 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#40 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley

Property: Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Address: 399 Silicon Valley Blvd, San Jose, CA 95138-1858 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Silicon Valley is located in heart of San Jose, CA and within minutes to downtown San Jose and Silicon Valley's tech companies. Popular attractions nearby include the eccentric Winchester Mystery House, California's Great America amusement park, the new Levi Stadium home of the SF 49ers football team and renowned vineyards. At the end of a long day, relax in the inviting ambience of a spacious guest room or suite. Keep in touch with home and the office via free wireless High Speed Internet Access throughout our beautiful hotel Or relax in front and watch your favorite show on the 42' flat screen TV for your entertainment. Then to end the night sink into signature bed's plush mattress, covered in premium sheets and pillows. Our hotel has everything you need for a productive and relaxing stay. Stay on top of work in the business center. And make time for a good workout in our fully-equipped fitness center, or swim in the outdoor heated pool. Join us at our on-site Famous Summit Steak House for your Lunch or Dinner or wind down and enjoy a drink, a craft beer, a glass of wine, or a handcrafted cocktail at our Summit Bar and Grill, Watch a game on one of our 60'inch flat screen TV's. The Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Silicon Valley offers a range of versatile function space, ideal for intimate gatherings and large conferences. Our 6000 square feet of space includes five meeting rooms, most of which can be illuminated by natural light. We also offer 1200 square feet of banquet space in our restaurant, plus state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, ranging from projectors and screens to sound systems. Our on-site planning professionals ensure that no detail will be overlooked for your San Jose business meeting or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing