We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked this Hotel, Fair Price. Close to Hwy 101, 20 minutes from Gilroy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Liked this Hotel, Fair Price. Close to Hwy 101, 20 minutes from Gilroy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Hotel is like the last exit leaving San Jose going South. Less expensive then Gilroy for the Garlic Festival. Gilroy is about a 20 minute drive. Very Nice Hotel with really comfy beds. Nice bathrooms with all the goodies.Nice Lobby. One free bottle of water. No fridge, Family Steak house shares the parking lot. Just a couple miles down the road are lots of eating establishments, grocery store and starbucks. This is far South San Jose...Did not use spa or pool.

Room Tip: Bottom floor, Close to Lobby. Like d the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CINDERELLASTRUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    82
    57
    58
See reviews for
72
56
24
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 7 nights here and were very pleased with the accommodations and the front desk staff. The beds and pillows were among the most comfortable I've experienced and the room was spotless. The front desk staff were warm and friendly, and greeted us every time we passed the desk. The hotel restaurant staff was also very friendly, especially Victor.
The hotel was conveniently located for us, right next to the 101, which made it easy for us to zip up to San Francisco and south to Monterey and Carmel. The only drawback was that off site food was not close by, and the choices were limited. This wasn't a huge problem because the hotel restaurant had very competitively price breakfast offerings, and the quality of food was also good. They also served very good coffee, with the option for getting a complimentary cup of coffee to go! One suggestion for the future would be to include a room refrigerator. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too far from the elevator --- the hallways are VERY long. Our room was 4 down fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dswgr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Four Points Silicon Valley and I was shocked that the experience was so far removed from my usual expectations at SPG properties. It was so horribly bad that I decided to dig a bit deeper to better understand why there was such a huge discrepancy between typical SPG hotels and this hotel. I found out that this hotel was a Holiday Inn hotel that was recently remodeled. Please note that the workmanship is poor from the bath sink to the shower to the toilets. The toilet splashed water on hte floor whenever it flushed. The shower leaked onto the ground. The photos on the SPG site are misleading, especially the bathroom/shower image as this is NOT the way the bathroom has been remodeled. The rooms don't have the usual Four Points decor. There is another Four Points downtown San Jose that is nicer and in a much better location.

The AC in my room was broken, the maintenance crew intially told me that I didn't understand how to use the wall unit but when I showed him the error message, he then concurred that it needed to be fixed.

A few positives:
The staff was VERY nice and accommodating
The restaurant was decent
There was an in room safe
Parking is free
Close to the highway
Lobby area is nicely decorated, I wish this decor carried through to the guest rooms

It wouldn't take alot to get this hotel to SPG standards but where it stands today is not acceptable and needs to be changed.

Room Tip: try for a suite if one is available. Hopefully these are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked the décor of our public space. We are working on improving our guest rooms. We will share your review with our maintenance and housekeeping teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Cons:
1. Does the cleaning crew even work here???? Found cob webs on the ceiling from day 1 to day 6 of my stay. Really?!?!?!
2. Out of soap in the soap dispenser for 6 days straight.
3. Water constantly leaking from the spout all over the floor every time you take a shower because it is not screwed on properly (in 2 different rooms with my other guests also). Had to get maintenance to come by to fix the problem several times.
4. Few of the tv remote control buttons did not work.
5. Fire alarm CONSTANTLY going off every time someone leaves the building from the stairs exit or from the non-lobby door.
6. Two of my guests in 2 different rooms found themselves locked out of their rooms from the careless cleaningLESS crew causing the safety lock to close behind them. Had to get maintenance to copy by to get the door unlocked by force the safety lock off
7. The frontdesk personal overcharged my credit card by almost twice as much for 4 rooms for 6 nights. Instead of charging one total charge for all rooms, he swiped the card over 4 times at approximately $1500 each instead of correct amt causing my credit card company to freeze the acct because of suspicious activity.
8. Breakfast not included. =(
9. Parking is a joke; especially when you get back to the hotel late at night.
10. Guest wireless network flunctuates from useable to sitting idle for minutes on end.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. I'm still upset from the lack of quality service. Honestly, maybe it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiserableT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We will be sharing your review in our next team meeting. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We hope the rest of your stay in San Jose was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Huge, loud Bar Mitzfa on Saturday nite, and they were kind enuff to put us FAR away from it! Wifi, but no breakfast, room was clean, but across from loud bar/steak house on property. Loud drunks late in parking lot. Room good size, clean.

Room Tip: Ask for back side of hotel, so you are not facing loud, late nite drunks at bar in parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize that the noise from our restaurant and bar disturbed you during your stay. We are always willing to move guests to a quieter room based on availability. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in San Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

As a Starwood member I often stay at SPG properties. This one, which reopened in January 2013 according to someone at the front desk, isn't up to par. The rooms are fine - pretty typical - the one I had was renovated recently and it wasn't particularly noisy. The lobby is an open floor plan but not a place you would want to spend time, so there isn't any usable public space in the building. The pool is far away (you have to walk outside along a parking lot to get there). One issue is maintenance - the elevator felt like it would barely make it up to the 3rd floor and the stairways were never renovated. I asked about fixing a broken stairwell light and nothing was done. There was trash in the stairwell for two days after I mentioned it needed attention. After a party in the ballroom one night the main floor bathroom was a mess and I don't think it was cleaned up until noon the following day.

Another issue is that there is no restaurant in the building and the one across the parking lot isn't very good.

It's located in the middle of nowhere and would be a bad at rush hour commute to much of Silicon Valley. I'd say you're best to pass on this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the restaurant across the parking lot. On weekends there is a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blairhankins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your guest room. Thank you for bringing the stairwell light and trash to our attention. We strive to keep our hotel clean and comfortable for our guests. We will bring your review up in our next team meeting to ensure we are meeting and exceeding expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business. All the downtown hotels were booked so I was set up out here. The hotel was decent, no significant complaints. I had a first floor room which was fairly loud with the parking lot outside the window.

I don't know if it was a one off thing, but towards the middle of the week the parking got very congested. There were big trailers on several separate occasions taking up big chunks of the lot and I eventually had to park on the street beyond the parking lot.

I wasn't a huge fan of the bathroom layout. The door opened inwards towards the toilet so you had to open it and step around the door to get to the toilet. More annoying than I expected or than it sounds as I write it.

All in all the hotel served its purpose, no significant complaints.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WakePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We're delighted to hear that our hotel met your needs for your business trip. We hope you choose to stay with us again for business or leisure. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
10.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Airport
10.8 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#29 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#45 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#34 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley

Property: Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Address: 399 Silicon Valley Blvd, San Jose, CA 95138-1858 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Silicon Valley is located in heart of San Jose, CA and within minutes to downtown San Jose and Silicon Valley's tech companies. Popular attractions nearby include the eccentric Winchester Mystery House, California's Great America amusement park, the new Levi Stadium home of the SF 49ers football team and renowned vineyards. At the end of a long day, relax in the inviting ambience of a spacious guest room or suite. Keep in touch with home and the office via free wireless High Speed Internet Access throughout our beautiful hotel Or relax in front and watch your favorite show on the 42' flat screen TV for your entertainment. Then to end the night sink into signature bed's plush mattress, covered in premium sheets and pillows. Our hotel has everything you need for a productive and relaxing stay. Stay on top of work in the business center. And make time for a good workout in our fully-equipped fitness center, or swim in the outdoor heated pool. Join us at our on-site Famous Summit Steak House for your Lunch or Dinner or wind down and enjoy a drink, a craft beer, a glass of wine, or a handcrafted cocktail at our Summit Bar and Grill, Watch a game on one of our 60'inch flat screen TV's. The Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Silicon Valley offers a range of versatile function space, ideal for intimate gatherings and large conferences. Our 6000 square feet of space includes five meeting rooms, most of which can be illuminated by natural light. We also offer 1200 square feet of banquet space in our restaurant, plus state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, ranging from projectors and screens to sound systems. Our on-site planning professionals ensure that no detail will be overlooked for your San Jose business meeting or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing