We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Key fact was left out of website...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Key fact was left out of website...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Knowing I would not have a car during two nights in San Jose, I was attracted to the notion that this place, while a little more expensive than some, is on the Caltrain line, as I was coming through town on Amtrak. It is indeed on the line, but only for very limited early morning and night stops on WEEKDAYS, and I learned it the hard way, arriving on a Saturday night! Otherwise, the place was nicely-appointed, with a good room and breakfast. Most of the staff were fine, but some didn't want to be bothered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaker0ats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site. We are truly sorry you did not receive the attention to helping you understand the CALTRAIN schedule from our Capitol Station. We are truly pleased to hear that you we're so excited to use the Caltrain Commuter Train service. We will find ways to incorporate the limited nature of service times on our in room gsd, guest reception and virtual directory at www.clarionbayarea.com Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to your return.

I have also shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words and will work on a more receptive attention. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have thoughtfully prepared and maintained in room convenience appliances, premium entertainment and an upscale décor for our SMART Money guests. We are impressed with you choosing us.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Presidents Inn San Jose
4089722200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
18
12
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

this motel is located near the san jose fleamarket. So if you like to look for antics and collectablescthis is the place to be. The entrance of the motelbis on the highway but the main bulding id back of thecroad. rooms are very large very well equipated. Small kitchen. Great flat screen and wifi free. Breakfast is classic for usa. But you may enjoy it on terrasse. Staff is very kind.
I defenetly recommand this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momososo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site with such positive feedback! It's comforting to know that guests are enjoying our unique locale established in San Jose since 1989. The San Jose Flea Market is a big part of early and recent San Jose Culture. Kudos to you for getting out there.

I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have thoughtfully prepared and maintained in room convenience appliances, premium entertainment and an upscale décor for our SMART Money guests. We are impressed with you choosing us.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Presidents Inn San Jose
4089722200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My daughter and I spent 10 nights at this Inn. The Inn is located near the town centre which is ideal. Rooms were clean and well decorated. The Staff were friendly and helpful. McDonalds, KFC, Burger King, Taco Bell, Steak House, next door Café all within a short drive. It was a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms and non smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 796genea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
4089722200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I visit the Campbell CA area a few times a year. I have stayed at several hotels over the years (Campbell Inn, Bristol, Carlyle, even Hayes Mansion) and this one was the best hands down. I travel by myself so am interested in someplace with good value, comfortable beds, clean, and where I feel safe. This hotel delivers all that and more. As part of the Choice Hotels group, I used the great bargain rate of the 30% off Fall speacial. This beat any rate on Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, or Travelocity.
I had a great room for 3 nights with a king size bed, free wi-fi, great LG flat screen tv. Free breakfast each day I stayed. Plenty of choices. Not a hot food selection buffet, but make your own waffle, and other typical continental breakfast items.
Each time I return to the area I fully intend to stay here again. Conveniently located just off Capitol Expressway. I didn't use the pool, but they do have a small one. If you want a resort size pool, then go to a resort, and pay resort rates. If you want great value, comfort, and a clean place to stay, then stay here. I know I am glad I did.

Room Tip: I stayed in Building A, right off the lobby. Rooms were as pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THRUSH_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
4089722200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is great to get anywhere in San Jose Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. This is my third time here and I have not encountered any problems. Everything is clean too.
They have all amenities with a pool and Jacusi
If there is any thing to be concerned with is leaving the hotel grounds as the immediate neighborhood is a little seedy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Located in a rough area. The pool was closed. There are water leak damaged on the ceiling in the bathroom. The carpet is dirty. When you look out the window, you will see the area behind the building has piles of dry leaves and trash. The internet connection was not working but the WiFi is.But the people behind the counter are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey451129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We regret your experience. There are a few buildings in the area that are now closed due to financial reasons. They are being redeveloped into elite nursing homes and retail marts. These are all circumstances out of our control. This is a haphazard review of our well established hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiance and I recently took a roadtrip up the California coast. Of the three hotels/motels that we stayed in, the Clarion Inn Silicon Valley was probably the nicest. We got a room by the road that featured a microwave/fridge combo, a large sink vanity, a flat-screen TV, and decent furnishings. My fiance particularly appreciated the five pillows on the bed (two different types for whatever your preference). I appreciated the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion set. The other motels only gave us one bottle of a shampoo/conditioner combo. In the morning, they had a continental breakfast featuring varying pastries, juices, yogurt, and a waffle-maker (among other things) that was quite nice. All in all, the accomodations were above expectations.

Unfortunately, however, our stay was interrupted by a break-in in the room next door. While I can't really blame the management for that, I will say that they handled the issue to the best of their capabilities. Luckily, no-one was harmed as the grid structure in the window prevented anyone from coming in the room. The couple next door got an immediate room upgrade, and a glass-repair truck was outside by breakfast time. It was an unfortunate incident, but was handled properly.

Room Tip: We got room 105. Sensitive sleepers might not like the outside highway noise. There's also a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
6.6 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#28 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#31 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#44 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Silicon Valley

Property: Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Address: 3200 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Silicon Valley in San Jose was originally founded as the Presidents Inn in 1989 only a few days before Loma Prieta the World Series of Earthquakes. The hotel has stood through Mother Nature's biggest test and pushes on in the 21st Century. The hotel is easily accessed vi speedway (Capitol Expressway/HWY 101/HWY 87). The hotel is situated in the area of South San Jose only 15 minutes from McEnry Convention Center, Tech Museum, SJ MOMA, HP Pavillion, MLK Library, SJSU Campus, Rose Garden, Egyptian Rosicrucian Museum, Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, Hellyer Velodrome, Oakridge Shoppingtown, Santana Row, Winchester Mystery House and numerous attractions. The current hotel is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Large Pool, Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (Closed Winter), A family sized private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu, A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite guest laundry, and A private Conference Center that can seat 15+ classroom style, and a fitness center suite. Your family and friends are greeted and welcomed in our uniquely grand cathedral ceiling guest reception. We look forward to receiving you on your next trip to events in San Jose and the Silicon Valley. There is a limited service CALTRAIN STATION and VTA Bus Stop directly across the hotel. Staying with us will afford you a very good quality accommodation, reasonable dining and entertainment options, privacy and security in a relaxing locale, all only a short drive away from your main business agenda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
Clarion Silicon Valley
Clarion San Jose
San Jose Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing