We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is great to get anywhere in San Jose Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. This is my third time here and I have not encountered any problems. Everything is clean too.
They have all amenities with a pool and Jacusi
If there is any thing to be concerned with is leaving the hotel grounds as the immediate neighborhood is a little seedy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
12
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Located in a rough area. The pool was closed. There are water leak damaged on the ceiling in the bathroom. The carpet is dirty. When you look out the window, you will see the area behind the building has piles of dry leaves and trash. The internet connection was not working but the WiFi is.But the people behind the counter are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey451129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We regret your experience. There are a few buildings in the area that are now closed due to financial reasons. They are being redeveloped into elite nursing homes and retail marts. These are all circumstances out of our control. This is a haphazard review of our well established hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiance and I recently took a roadtrip up the California coast. Of the three hotels/motels that we stayed in, the Clarion Inn Silicon Valley was probably the nicest. We got a room by the road that featured a microwave/fridge combo, a large sink vanity, a flat-screen TV, and decent furnishings. My fiance particularly appreciated the five pillows on the bed (two different types for whatever your preference). I appreciated the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion set. The other motels only gave us one bottle of a shampoo/conditioner combo. In the morning, they had a continental breakfast featuring varying pastries, juices, yogurt, and a waffle-maker (among other things) that was quite nice. All in all, the accomodations were above expectations.

Unfortunately, however, our stay was interrupted by a break-in in the room next door. While I can't really blame the management for that, I will say that they handled the issue to the best of their capabilities. Luckily, no-one was harmed as the grid structure in the window prevented anyone from coming in the room. The couple next door got an immediate room upgrade, and a glass-repair truck was outside by breakfast time. It was an unfortunate incident, but was handled properly.

Room Tip: We got room 105. Sensitive sleepers might not like the outside highway noise. There's also a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

There are two things to consider before reading the following review.
One: I have the hearing sensitivity to rival Superman.
Two: you are never very far from a spider.
The rooms are a bit old, but clean, well kept, and tidy. The staff are friendly, helpful, and
accomodating (though, the one time when I asked for one bar of soap and was handed five may or may not have been an act of sass.) The nearby neighborhoods seem a bit dodgy, and the location itself is a ways out from downtown San Jose, so those traveling on foot and/or by public transit should take note. Also, the hotel is located right below some major air traffic and the walls are thin, so noise is an issue. However, for the most part, the other guests were a considerate and quiet bunch, which made the stay all the more pleasant.
Day two brought the "season closure" of the pool... for early summer... for reasons I will never know. I also fended off a spider from my bed. He didn't come back after that.

Room Tip: Room 106 has lot of foot traffic since guests will usually pass it going to and from their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynical_jabberwocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Purchased as part of package from Priceline for March Madness in San Jose

Priceline rated it a 3star actually no more than a 1 star

Priceline refused to cancel room without penalty even after they acknowledged it was not 3 star
Sign on door to stairs to room stated that motel contained chemicals that may cause cancer infertility and other diseases
Staff very aloof asked directions to airport and was told just follow CA101 would not give directions to 101

Wifi did not work properly
Continental breakfast was a joke. No granola or bran cereal coffee cup had some sort of being in it after drinking
Had to request shampoo and conditioner they failed to supply
Vending machines did not work
No curtain on window at peak of room allowed street lights to illuminate room all nite
Room was dirty and in need of overhaul
Will never purchase a clarion nite in my life time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We understand your frustration with being booked at a hotel when you wanted to be somewhere else and then having to stay there for several nights. Our hotel staff is trained to provide helpful service where they feel comfortable. Guest Services often refers our guests to the custom designed attraction rack that holds detailed pamphlets of our local attractions. In the event a guest requires more information we offer them access to our Business Center which features our virtual directory and online search for further details and printable maps.

Our WIFI service is provide by AT&T and they have a very reliable network. We apologize if you experienced difficulties during your use of the system.

We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast which includes 8 different types of cereal, Oatmeal, Minute Maid Orange Juice/Apple Juice, Purified Water, Milk, Muffins, Cinnamon Roles, Brownie Bites, Fruits, Coffee, Bagels and Homemade Waffles with Syrup. There are times when we run out of supply and we do not meet specific dietary needs of a guest.

Our highly experienced housekeeping staff have looked after our guest's rooms for decades. They may have forgotten to refresh a supply of amenities and apologize for your inconvenience.

Our Vending Machines are serviced by a Third Party Vendor. The machines take dollar bills and coins but can reject your money if it does not scan appropriately. If this happens we will exchange the bills for another try and then refer guests to the convenience markets ~ 2 blocks on either side of the hotel open 24/7.

The sign in the window is a requirement of Proposition 65 for Californian Businesses. By providing this information, Proposition 65 enables Californians to make informed decisions about protecting themselves from exposure to these chemicals. We use the safest chemicals available and cleaning techniques to minimize exposure to our staff and guests.

If we had been informed during your stay of any of these issues we would have worked with you to find a reasonable resolution. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by San Jose Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good Breakfast, clean rooms on a strip of road with some of the biggest dumps you've ever seen. The lobby is very nice though. Thin walls. For REAL local 'south of the border' flavor eat at Periquin North of the property.....GREAT & AUTHENTIC Mexican Food....

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the road....trains and traffic noises are high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.

During our hotel design phase we had feedback from numerous couples that enjoyed the old world style of having a vanity outside while the shower room was occupied. It adds to a little convenience charm to getting ready for a night out on the town.

We have quality custom cabinetry for all of our guestrooms to organize the amenities such as Microwave and Refrigerator to keep the room neat, organized and properly furnished. At times we have need to remove furnishings to bring them back into order.

Our hotel is AAA approved and rated. The sound proofing is on par with industry standards. At times neighboring guests push the quiet hours policy while shifting their luggage, moving around, opening/closing doors, EMS traffic. We apologize for those inconveniences and for the disruption.

The Monterey Road corridor aka El Camino Real " The King's Highway" has many Hotels and Motels stretching from San Francisco to LA. We appreciate your support for our hotel although many of the independent economy motels in this area are highly respected for their longstanding and enduring management/ownership that have been an integral support to the growth of San Jose's Economy and Home for families in need of affordable extended stay. San Jose has one of the lowest crime rates of any metropolis in the United States. We respect all our fellow hoteliers, and guest families wishing them continued success in their pursuits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here on business a couple of times. The room is always clean and comfortable. Staff fairly friendly and accomidating. Not much within walking distance so if you don't have a car, you are pretty well stuck. There are plenty of places to eat near by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbjinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.6 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#29 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#37 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#46 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#31 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Silicon Valley

Property: Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Address: 3200 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Silicon Valley in San Jose was originally founded as the Presidents Inn in 1989 only a few days before Loma Prieta the World Series of Earthquakes. The hotel has stood through Mother Nature's biggest test and pushes on in the 21st Century. The hotel is easily accessed vi speedway (Capitol Expressway/HWY 101/HWY 87). The hotel is situated in the area of South San Jose only 15 minutes from McEnry Convention Center, Tech Museum, SJ MOMA, HP Pavillion, MLK Library, SJSU Campus, Rose Garden, Egyptian Rosicrucian Museum, Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, Hellyer Velodrome, Oakridge Shoppingtown, Santana Row, Winchester Mystery House and numerous attractions. The current hotel is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Large Pool, Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (Closed Winter), A family sized private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu, A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite guest laundry, and A private Conference Center that can seat 15+ classroom style, and a fitness center suite. Your family and friends are greeted and welcomed in our uniquely grand cathedral ceiling guest reception. We look forward to receiving you on your next trip to events in San Jose and the Silicon Valley. There is a limited service CALTRAIN STATION and VTA Bus Stop directly across the hotel. Staying with us will afford you a very good quality accommodation, reasonable dining and entertainment options, privacy and security in a relaxing locale, all only a short drive away from your main business agenda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
Clarion Silicon Valley
Clarion San Jose
San Jose Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing