We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area...but not saying much.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good Breakfast, clean rooms on a strip of road with some of the biggest dumps you've ever seen. The lobby is very nice though. Thin walls. For REAL local 'south of the border' flavor eat at Periquin North of the property.....GREAT & AUTHENTIC Mexican Food....

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the road....trains and traffic noises are high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.

During our hotel design phase we had feedback from numerous couples that enjoyed the old world style of having a vanity outside while the shower room was occupied. It adds to a little convenience charm to getting ready for a night out on the town.

We have quality custom cabinetry for all of our guestrooms to organize the amenities such as Microwave and Refrigerator to keep the room neat, organized and properly furnished. At times we have need to remove furnishings to bring them back into order.

Our hotel is AAA approved and rated. The sound proofing is on par with industry standards. At times neighboring guests push the quiet hours policy while shifting their luggage, moving around, opening/closing doors, EMS traffic. We apologize for those inconveniences and for the disruption.

The Monterey Road corridor aka El Camino Real " The King's Highway" has many Hotels and Motels stretching from San Francisco to LA. We appreciate your support for our hotel although many of the independent economy motels in this area are highly respected for their longstanding and enduring management/ownership that have been an integral support to the growth of San Jose's Economy and Home for families in need of affordable extended stay. San Jose has one of the lowest crime rates of any metropolis in the United States. We respect all our fellow hoteliers, and guest families wishing them continued success in their pursuits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here on business a couple of times. The room is always clean and comfortable. Staff fairly friendly and accomidating. Not much within walking distance so if you don't have a car, you are pretty well stuck. There are plenty of places to eat near by.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbjinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came to San Jose to meet with my Family about my new Business project that I wanted to incorporate their partnership into my Corporation. I successfully found my greatest Ally's in making my Dream Project of ending the last slavery Human trafficking. I am glad that I stayed at the Clarion in san Jose the rooms where beautiful and so where the surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaimeRea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked this hotel through Expedia for a brief business trip, and I enjoyed my stay. I got a first floor room facing the road (neither set-up is my favorite), but the room was spacious, clean, comfy, and even had an extra sink outside of the bathroom. Decor was outdated, and the TV was clearly very old -- but everything was in good working order. No problems with noise.

Breakfast was well-stocked and well-maintained. Mostly continental, with some boiled eggs and fruits, decent selection. Staff was quite friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: My room on the first floor, facing the road, was quite good. Didn't have any problems with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadwarrior Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wifi worked. A bit remote from some things. If this location works for you, this is a decent hotel. Clean. Nothing fancy. Breakfast was fine. Handy laundry machine, but yes, having change available would be helpful. Covered parking spaces on the back building (two buildings). Generous with late check out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSJC, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

First I asked if rooms were available and only a suit over 200 was "available". Magically online 99 Rooms were available. Wifi was slow. .93 Mbps slow. The vending machine stole a dollar. The front desk had no change for Laundry. 60 minutes in the drier did not dry the cloths. Security is poor as outside doors don't close. I have paid half as much and enjoyed them twice as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimemarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This may very well be the nastiest hotel I've ever stayed at. In my youth I frequented Motel 6, Super 8, and Red Roof. This hotel is worse. Why? I'm going to start with the urine smell in my room. Beyond that the absurdity of there being NOT ONE SINGLE power outlet accessible in the room (other than one in the bathroom)

Front desk staff acted disinterested and put out by our presence. Wouldn't even stand up.

New television... that's about it. Cant really think of anything nice to say about this place. Will post photos.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
68 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
83 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
6.3 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#49 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Silicon Valley

Address: 3200 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $140 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Silicon Valley in San Jose was originally founded as the Presidents Inn in 1989 only a few days before Loma Prieta the World Series of Earthquakes. The hotel has stood through Mother Nature's biggest test and pushes on in the 21st Century. The hotel is easily accessed vi speedway (Capitol Expressway/HWY 101/HWY 87). The hotel is situated in the area of South San Jose only 15 minutes from McEnry Convention Center, Tech Museum, SJ MOMA, HP Pavillion, MLK Library, SJSU Campus, Rose Garden, Egyptian Rosicrucian Museum, Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, Hellyer Velodrome, Oakridge Shoppingtown, Santana Row, Winchester Mystery House and numerous attractions. The current hotel is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Large Pool, Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (Closed Winter), A family sized private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu, A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite guest laundry, and A private Conference Center that can seat 15+ classroom style, and a fitness center suite. Your family and friends are greeted and welcomed in our uniquely grand cathedral ceiling guest reception. We look forward to receiving you on your next trip to events in San Jose and the Silicon Valley. There is a limited service CALTRAIN STATION and VTA Bus Stop directly across the hotel. Staying with us will afford you a very good quality accommodation, reasonable dining and entertainment options, privacy and security in a relaxing locale, all only a short drive away from your main business agenda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
Clarion Silicon Valley
Clarion San Jose
San Jose Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing