We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical dependable Hilton”
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Jose
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I came to San Jose for a conference at the adjacent Convention Centre and was pleased to be able to get into this hotel.

I arrived on a Sunday evening, exhausted after a gruelling flight from the UK - no thanks to British Airways whose idea of customer service is appalling - fine if you want to sleep (in my case not) overnight on the floor of a noisy hotel, with no shower facilities provided, having boarded an airplane twice the previous day only for problems to arise resulting in disembarkations!

Straightaway the Hilton was a refreshing contrast. A warm welcome and fast check-in. As it was 2130, I wanted a quick meal and was given excellent advice by being recommended Original Joe's. This Italian restaurant is open late and is only a few minutes walk away. I had a great crab salad there, washed down with an excellent local sauvignon blanc.

The housemaids were very efficient and unobtrusive. My room on the 11th floor was always serviced by noon. Breakfasts were excellent - I always had the buffet. Hot, cold, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and muffins. They were not always quite ready at 6 when it was supposed to open but were always ready within a few minutes. The waittresses were very friendly and remembered my coffee/juice requirements after the first breakfast.

My room had a super big flat screen TV. The rooms did not have safes. Nor were there cups or glasses in the bathroom for toothbrushes, so I took one from the drinks tray. Coffee and tea making facilities were provided and these were fully replenished every day. Rooms were generally lovely and quiet, though in the dead of night the flushings of the WC sound overly loud.

Wifi is not free unless you are a gold HHonors member or better. It costs $9.95 per day which is a rip-off considering I pay less than that per month. I wish hotels such as the Hilton would include it in the room charge. These days many companies, including mine, do not allow their staff to claim back such costs when identified separately on bills. However, there is free wifi in the lobby area.

I would certainly stay here if I visited San Jose in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Never could get hot water out of the shower...only warm. The lobby smelled like they were trying to cover something up. Half the TV channels didn't work when I arrived, and half an hour after calling, nobody had showed up to fix it. AC never did get the room cold enough. I wouldn't stay there again. Bed was good, but the rest of the furniture was clearly more stylish than comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your review. I understand your lack of hot water was of concern during your time with us. We currently are actively seeking a resolution to this issue and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and opinions with me. Guest comfort and safety are our first priorities. I hope that when you travel back to the area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When i booked this hotel 3 months ago, it was going through some bad reviews at the time. Needless to say, I have no regrets after leaving this past Sunday. I was here on business for a big Silicon Valley Company. I am SO glad I checked in at the hotel. My Flight was terrible coming from texas it was 13 hours worth of flying. The hotel was nice, friendly, it was very clean, comfy, I could not complain. I had heard bad things about this place but, I don't see where those negative comments are coming from. YES. It is expensive but I would say it was worth it. The food was expensive but I REALLY enjoyed the affinity breakfast burrito. :) Thanks Hilton :)

Room Tip: I was on the 17 floor on the executive suite, If you could. Get a view up there! Very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but nothing to do within walking distance. The mall is too far to walk to. There is a bus stop across the street that goes to the malls. There was a mini frig in the room. There is a travel sewing kit (which I needed). The food in the restaurant is pricey so plan on going out. If you do eat at the hotel the seafood fettuccine is excellent. The front desk is very helpful in helping you with all your needs. I wanted to give a 5 star rating but, I found a could of strands of mystery hair in my shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I paid $355 for a room that didn’t even have a TV that would power on. The worst part is the hotel could care less that it didn’t work and made little effort to fix the problem. In essence, they didn’t care. Never stay at a place that doesn’t care about your business. You will leave in frustration every time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank KOTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello,

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room with your television, and will work with our maintenance team to address this issue immediately. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed one night as teenage daughter and friend attended a concert across the street at the San Jose Civic Auditorium that was going to get out late. Hotel is directly connected to the convention center, so if you have a convention to attend, it would be very convenient. It is also across the street from the Tech Museum and another performing arts center. Since we stayed during a holiday week, there was no convention and the hotel was deserted. It seemed a little odd. We ate at the restaurant on the first floor (we were the only ones there!), but the food was good and service was great - how could it not be? There is a Peet's coffee in the convention center. where you enter from the from the parking garage. It's a few blocks to walk to restaurants downtown. The area is pretty quiet at night, since it's mixed in with office towers. The reception staff were friendly. Parking is pricey - $22 - but hey, it's the Bay Area. Room was very clean and modern - toilet was loud. Right next to public transit as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you don't have to hear the street noise. You can see the freeway from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKD1BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel was great!!! The whole staff from the the valet, security, to the check in staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was very big and modern wiith a fridge. A microwave is available if you just call down and ask for it. Valet parking is $22 per day in and out but there is a lot across the street for $7 per day with in and out. The hotel is located right next to the convention center and very close to the HP Pavillion Arena. The highway 101 entrance is a block away as well. We drove to San Francisco which took about 30min. If in San Jose again I'd stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djkBuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#6 of 75 in San Jose
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95110-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $153 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing