We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Downtown San Jose Hilton”
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Jose
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Ventura, United States
1 review
“Our stay at Downtown San Jose Hilton”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We came to visit our daughter, a student at San Jose State Univ. The visit was pleasant, most of the staff was polite and helpful. I truly feel the handicapped parking spaces in front are being illegally used by the lazy valets for big tips for allowing people with no handicapped placards or license plates to park in the clearly marked handicapped spaces. If we had arrived sooner on Friday, I may have called the police to see what they had to say. I was tempted the entire time to do so but I didnt want to cause trouble while we were there because there may be retaliation. I think your management needs to investigate this situation, I truly believe it is illegal for clearly marked handicapped spots to be used by the valets for non handicapped but big tipping clients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    383
    202
    90
    50
See reviews for
160
148
84
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I normally wouldn't stay at a hotel in downtown San Jose since we live only 20 minutes away but my daughter had to be at her dance competition very very early in the morning so we decided to stay at the Hilton to make our lives easier. Boy was I right!

The service is wonderful with everyone being very friendly and helpful plus the room was very comfortable and enjoyable. It is close to light rail (would never use but its there), restaurants and theaters.

I can't say enough about our experience and if we ever had a late night (or early morning) in downtown I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swithygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you sso much for your review. We are glad that you decided to stay with us. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Armando and his team at the Hilton San Jose are truly amazing. They go the extra mile to make sure our events goes perfectly. We feel like a team working along side them and it makes us love coming back each time. No matter how busy it is, Armando always has a smile and makes sure we get what we need not matter what. I would certainly recommend holding your event here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Katie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you had a great experience. We will make sure that Armando is recognized for his great work.

We hope to have you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Go to the Marriott or Fairmont. This place closes the Jacuzzi at 10 pm on weekends, the staff are harassing or indifferent, and they don't stock their restaurant with enough food, beverage or staff to accommodate. They lose your luggage if you check it with them. They are awful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Jennifer,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments as part of our ongiong service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Gigi and her conference staff was amazing to our guests and made sure we had everything we needed. It was a joy and pleasure to use Hilton San Jose, as our conference has the past 5 years. The rooms in the hotel were exceptional, along with the conference rooms. We had no problems at all and highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigG121205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Craig,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and that the event was a success.

We look forward to hosting your stay again with us soon!

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hilton was next to hotel for 2013 PTA convention. I pick hotel because of location but I was surprise from friendly staff and guest relation person at check in desk to manager who help me open my door. The electronic key did not work two times and three time less than 3 minutes a manager came to help me out. The cleaning staff were polite and turn off the vacuum everything I pass by them. I wish I could stay longer and use the amenities I they would be as fabulous as my stay at San Jose Hiton

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hilton San Jose. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities.

We hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the San Jose area.

Thank you,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed there for week on business trip. The hotel has nothing much to do and it`s quiet silent one around silent place.

The staff was helpful. However was charged for local phone as instructions were not very clear and Manager did not reverted the amount.

The breakfast (especially for vegetarians) was not good. Everything had egg and it was hard to find anything to eat other than fruits and resins..

The tram goes just fron opposite so commuting is easy from here. Market and other shopping places are near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Garry,

We appreciate your feedback. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities. We will use your comments as part of our ongiong service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
631 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Property: Hilton San Jose
Address: 300 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95110-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing