We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Annoyances”
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Jose
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Few Annoyances”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I liked this hotel overall since the beds werre comfortable, staff was friendly, check-in was easy and the location was pretty good. We were there for a hockey game so it wasn't a long stroll to the HP Pavillion. One of the things that irritated me were the amount of noise that could be heard from adjacent rooms and out in the hall. I heard the gentleman next door through the adjoining door sneeze like he was standing next to me. I almost said Gesundheit. Another thing that annoys me at certain hotels is when you can't block out the outside light in the morning. I know it is impossible to get all of it but my room faced the rising sun and the light coming through was extremely bright. Lastly another pet peeve of mine is when I have the do not disturb sign on and the cleaning woman still knocks on the door to see if I am checking out soon before checkout time. If it hadn't been for these inconveniences I would've given this property a four our of five.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the west side if you are snesitive to light when attempting to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    387
    205
    90
    51
See reviews for
161
149
85
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The catering team at the Hilton continues to raise their level of service and quality of food. Our largest event of the year was recently held at the San Jose Hilton and Virginia (Catering director), Omar and others exceeded my already elevated expectations. Every year, they seem to raise the bar even higher - no resting on last year's performance. The event room was professionally decorated and everyone during the event was courteous and eager to please. Kudos to Virginia's team for taking care of my guests. There are many venues to choose from in the San Jose area, however there are none that will give you service with the sincerity and warmth as the Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rc78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has a very modern, welcoming lobby and friendly staff at the front counter - they lent me an umbrella when it started raining right before we headed out to walk to the Shark Tank for the hockey game. It is in a great location, right downtown, plenty of restaurants nearby, and walking distance to the Arena.
But the rooms were a little beat up and not super well maintained. Clean - yes, but stuff was broken. Most importantly our room wouldn't lock. We had to yank and pull on the door to get it to lock. They offered to move us to a new room but it would have to wait until after our game which would have meant moving all our already unpacked stuff at 11:00pm. We declined.
The bathroom had been remodeled, but with crummy materials so the water drips from the sink were causing the wood (particle board) cabinet to warp. The lighting in the bathroom was cool and modern (back lit mirror) but it wasn't enough light. And the walls were stark white with no elements of decor. A towel rack on the wall above the toilet would have been enough. But the plain walls felt a little institutional. I probably won't stay there again. Might check out the Marriott down the street next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaLivermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton had great service. I thought i would have to pay for parking and whether it was HHonors or what, it turned out to be free. Rooms getting a bit warn, but still clean. Food and drinks in a nice setting. San Jose is a dead zone. I would stay in Palo Alto area even if u have to drive into San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beltway_Hater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here on business for nights, and was very pleased with the Hilton San Jose! The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating.

My room was comfortable and nicely decorated, and I had a great night's sleep on the comfortable bed. I ordered room service one night, and the food was great and it came very quickly!

I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Checked in, received room next to elevator on 12th floor. Very nice room. Unfortunately, the TV didn't work. Was given a new room on the 14th floor very quickly. Tried wifi -- kept getting bounced off every minute or so, which rendered the wifi completely unusable. Very sad for a hotel of this quality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AirMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear AirMarc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton San Jose. The issues with the WiFi have been resolved. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Hilton San Jose Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As a Hilton Honors member, I really expected a lot more. I was in town for a conference, so the Hilton that was adjoined to the convention center seemed the most logical choice.

A few things:

1. Despite being a Hilton Honors Gold member, I was put on the 8th floor. The room had two double beds despite my request for a king. I thought about inquiring further, but the front desk agent seemed put out with my previous questions, so I didn't bother.

2. The shower did not have any hot water. I called the front desk after my first shower and they assured me an engineer would take a look at it. When I returned later that day, it was clear that someone had been in the room, but still... no hot water. There was no follow-up whatsoever from the staff.

3. The gym is hilariously ill-equipped. I had called ahead to find out if the equipment I needed for my workouts was available. The woman I talked to told me the items I'd asked for were available. Imagine how surprised I was when I arrived and saw the few cardio pieces, free weights and cable machine. If your gym is going to be this bad, you could have at least kept your agreement with Bally's down the street. I ended up paying to use their facility. In the end I suppose it worked out.

4. This is perhaps the worst issue I had with this property by far on this trip. I had an extremely important meeting 10 miles away in a nearby town. I gave myself 45 minutes for travel (given traffic). After waiting 20 minutes for the valet (and practically BEGGING two different people at reception for my car-- both of whom appeared to not give a damn), I had to give up and get in a cab. Thanks, Hilton; that trip cost me almost $100 round trip in cab fare. The cab driver had to go through heroics to get me there on time. Totally and ABSOLUTELY unacceptable.

So next year, when I visit San Jose for this conference, I will be shacking up at the Marriott. It has the same proximity to the convention center and is quite a bit nicer. HH points be damned.

By far the worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AW128256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello,

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton San Jose, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. We sincerely apologize for the situation you experienced with valet which resulted in you taking a cab. The promptness of our valet team has been addressed and this is an area we are improving. The hot water issues have since been repaired but we regret this was not completed sooner. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Property: Hilton San Jose
Address: 300 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95110-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing