We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, friendly staff, potential to grow”
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Jose
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed for a week on floor 17 (Executive floor) for a business trip.

Based on the name "Hilton" I had expected more. Rooms are large, but not big. Room service is doing good - clean rooms without any issues every day. But the hotel looks worn out, below standards or old-fashioned on the edges or details: the carpet in the elevators has stains, elevators are slow and very noisy (you here them quite well in the room), no minibar or water offered within the rooms. Minor stains and dents in the bathtub. Cables for lights and equipment visible everywhere, old phone system. Not much decoration on the walls.

The executive floors have access to a lounge which offers free non-alcoholic drinks and some snacks from 6am to 10pm.

The breakfast buffet does not vary at all - eggs, ham, sausages, french toast and fruits. Oatmeal and some cheese. With some variance and some ideas this could be greatly improved for guests who stay multiple days. The staff is really nice and helpful and is checking for refill on juice, water and coffee frequently.

Construction is currently ongoing at the next block and the workers there start at 6:00am. This is nothing the hotel is responsible for, but the noise is more annoying than the planes which come over the hotel from time to time.

With the friendly and helpful staff the hotel has a good potential to grow to a better place. With some minor fixes the appearance could be improved a lot.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms to East (construction ongoing in June 2012) and close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgennebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Barry E,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. Affinity Restaurant has a wide array of dining options, so I am glad you enjoyed your meal. I am also happy to read that you received outstanding service and will share your comments with our team. We hope to see you return again soon.

Sincerely,

Moustafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and clean. Only downsides are noisy airplanes flying over during the day (they stop at night) and a $21 self parking fee.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Epip,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Moustafa Blaih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had dinner at the Affinity restaurant prior to attending a show in downtown San Jose. The service was great: Friendly, attentive, caring. We made a reservation, which they appreciated, and they made a special table for us near the windows. The waiter recommended a very good Cab (14 Hands) at a great price. The menu was nice for a family, something for everyone, steaks, fish, pasta, burgers. The food was good an plentiful. Desert was a special treat with crepes. I ordered the summer day crepe, warm, with fresh fruit, and topped with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks for the great evening out!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Barry E,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. Affinity Restaurant has a wide array of dining options, so I am glad you enjoyed your meal. I am also happy to read that you received outstanding service and will share your comments with our team. We hope to see you return again soon.


Sincerely,

Moustafa Blaih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. the hotel is connected to the convention center for easy access to conferences, etc. the hotel provided complementary internet which worked very well during my stay. the room was nice. the bed was comfortable. the tv worked well. the bathroom was clean and recently remodeled and looked very nice.

the only complaint is that the elevators were very slow. the hotel was full while I was there, and one of the three elevator was broken. sometimes it would take 5 or more minutes for the elevator to arrive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank todc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear todc,

Thank you for the kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a nice stay and that the guestroom and hotel amenities were to your liking. I apologize for the elevator delays you experienced during your stay. Our guests’ safety is our top priority and we were having one of our elevators serviced during your visit. We hope to see you return again soon.

Sincerely,
Moustafa Balih



Thanks!

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I went there for a conference, the hotel was connected to the convention center. The service was good, people are friendly. Had several breakfast there, nice food and people. Room was clean. There is a bar fridge, we also asked for a microwave. Bath room is big enough, bright and clean. As it is in the downtown, you have convenient public transportation, many restaurants nearby. The Children's museum is just across the road, the Tech museum and Art museum are also in walking distance. My kids enjoyed the stay. It is under the landing airway, so a bit noisy when there is flight, but at night it was OK.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuangY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear GuangY,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton San Jose while you were in town for a conference. We’re glad you had a nice visit and that you were able to visit some of the surrounding museums with your kids. We hope to see you return again soon.

Sincerely,

Moustafa Blaih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The San Jose Hilton is definitely a recommendation when you're attending a conference at the adjacent convention center as it has direct access to the venue. The rooms are what you expect from a Hilton and are clean and in good shape. However, one should be aware of the fact that the hotel is in the direct landing direction of San Jose's airport and it gets really noisy between 06:30am and 10:00pm. The hotel has one restaurant that offers a reasonable food selection a relative high prices (as usual at hotel restaurants) a second restaurant - and actually one that is a bit more like a restaurant not like a bar in the lobby would improve the experience. The staff is friendly but not very proactive. At arrival there was no doorman to assist with my luggage. Also at check-in no assistance was offered. I passed through the lobby several times each day - staff was only sparely present and I was never greeted. This could get some improvement... The executive lounge offers pretty good breakfast and reasonable evening snacks, but is a bit too small.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear JJHamburg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that the location was convenient for the conference you were attending. I apologize that you were not treated with superior service during your stay, this is not typical of our hotel or staff. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make future stays more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Moustafa Blaih

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Spent 7 nights; 5 business travel + 2 personal. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Free wifi; parking is $19 or $25 for valet. Don't expect to be greeted by the valet or to even receive attentive service in that area; these guys were scarce on a regular basis, typically didn't have my car in front when scheduled in the morning (and they weren't busy), and asked me morning and night if I was checking out / just arriving. (I would think not having a suitcase with me would be a clue.) First night the room next door had a party at 2:30 AM, which was handled within 5 minutes of calling the front desk. Aside from the lousy valet service everything was great, but there is a building being constructed directly beside the hotel, so it's pretty noisy if you're in the room during the day. Pounding the beams into the ground at this point, so it will be months before the construction is completed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmpTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustafa B, Manager at Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Dear cmpTX,



Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton San Jose. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I would like to apologize for the undesirable level of customer service you received from our valets. This is not typical at our hotel and we have addressed the concerns you mentioned with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.



Sincerely,

Moustafa Blaih
Director - Rvenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
646 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95110-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $157 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing