We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, high value family stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose South
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, high value family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our family of four had a great three night stay here.
Many great things about our stay:
- across the street from Lucky supermarket allowed for easy trips for supplies / groceries
- staff were very dedicated and attentive. Pleasant to work with. Everything was perfectly clean.
- The free breakfast was enjoyable every day. Array of options of eggs, make your own waffle, cereal, yogurt, etc.
- Large comfortable room. We had suite for inexpensive dollars.
- Fold out sofa was comfortable camp-out for our four year old.
- Reasonable distance from the family activities we did in SJ downtown.
We had a fabulous time and look forward to our next Residence Inn stay.

Room Tip: No big traffic issues around the buildings, so no special choices here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Matt_Houston,
Thank you so much for your great review of our property! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the ease of our location and our amazing staff. We do hope we are able to host you and your family the next time you visit San Jose!

Cheers.
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    53
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
24
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our large suite at this property. It was clean, great decor, comfortable and roomy. We had a separate room for the bedroom.....with a TV in both rooms. There was a nice big sofa with chaise...enough room for both of us to stretch out. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good too. The location was great for us...just off of our route and right next door was a grocery store, Starbucks and a car wash. There are also close restaurants and it seemed to be a safe and nice area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plain1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello plain1s,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel and the services you received during your visit with us. We just finished our room renovation so we love to hear feedback about the layout and especially the nice large couch in the one bedrooms! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to be so lucky to host you the next time you are in San Jose.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

All the hotels in San Jose were pretty much booked or at $350/ night. I found this one for much less and is conveniently located at the intersection of 85 and 101. It takes around 15-20 mins to get to San Jose airport and downtown SJC. It is quiet and you wont here the planes flying above like you would if you were downtown SJC. The rooms are clean and the staff is very courteous. I would have given it a 5 star if their HVAC system was newer, although it did work fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Bizman_9,
We're so glad you were able to get a reservation with us during a busy time! We will take your note of a new HVAC into consideration for the future, thank you for bringing that to our attention. We hope to see you on your next travels to the San Jose area. Thank You

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Level Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in the area in another place ESA, but this one is much, much better. Friendly at the reception, breakfast with choices, clean and spacious rooms. Really feels good when staying there. Had a room with sofa, kitchenette and large screen TV, bedroom and another large screen TV and bathroom. There is a grocery store just across the road should you need anything. Close to freeway and connects easily to the SJ business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello ca_lovers,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you encounter great service during the rest of your travels! See you next time.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norhern california
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We knew that the hotel was being renovated when we made the reservation but somehow, someway, The Residence Inn managed to deliver a great product! Kudos to the staff!

We loved the fact that the hotel is located in a nice area that is quiet and several restaurants to choose from. We always try to stay at a Resiedence Inn becasue of their amenities and great service and this Residence is not exception.

The 2 bedroom suite is now our favorite room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubapro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Scubapro2000,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were not inconvenienced by the renovations. We love our two bedroom suites as well, they are just perfect for families. Now that we are almost fully renovated we hope to have you back soon and again exceed your expectations!

Until Next time,
Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed here for several work related visits over the past year and have to say they are very consistent. This past visit I needed to leave early due to personal reasons. The desk clerk. Annie, I believe was so sweet! She asked if there was anything she could do to help? Did I need a water for the road? It was 5:30am who is that sweet that early in the morning? I told her so and she said thank you, you are the second person who told me that this morning. Give this woman a pat on the back and more. Worth her weight in gold. Believe me a road warrior. We love Marriott

Room Tip: This hotel is right off 101. There is a Lucky's supermarket next store (within walking) that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello EdandMags,
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. I love to hear about how great our staff is! I will pass along your note and read it to everyone to let them know how much you appreciated your stay. We hope everything is ok now and hope to see you on your next trip to San Jose!

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a graduation. We loved the location which is close to everything yet not in the hustle and bustle of the city. We made several trips to the airport to pick up family coming in and it wasn't to far away. The Hotel itself was clean with good amenities. Breakfast was good with a good variety. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Bonnie C,
We appreciate your response and are happy to hear you had a great stay in San Jose for the graduation! Hopefully we will be able to host your family for your next vacation to the area. Have a great summer.

Aubrey Prophet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
11.9 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
3.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose South

Property: Residence Inn San Jose South
Address: 6111 San Ignacio Avenue, San Jose, CA 95119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose South 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose South Hotel San Jose
San Jose Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing