We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the price and area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Avondale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place for the price and area”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was traveling on a strict budget and just passing through San Jose for a day of catching up with some friends so chose the Vagabond Inn. It is near the airport, which is handy for some, but even if you're headed elsewhere, it sits right in front of the light rail so you can get other places easily or even a short drive to museum area.

The hotel area did have a few of the wanderers around, but I didn't have a problem. Lots of security cameras with live feeds to lobby. The hotel was nice than I expected for the area and the lower price. Much nicer than Motel 6 next door. The internet worked excellently - when it worked! It would cut out for a couple minutes but then resume and bip along fine but still - frustrating.

The sheets were probably the thinnest I'd ever seen and I stay at many budget places, but whatever works. The room had a coffeemaker and toiletries. The heat, when set as a thermostat didn't work properly, but if I left the fan to steady on, it kept the room warm enough.

Breakfast..... is NOT breakfast. It is coffee, orange juice and a packaged little muffin. BUT it was enough to tie me over until lunch so is helpful for some, but I wouldn't call it breakfast.

The staff at the front desk were friendly and attentive. I got an early check in and the gal was great. No problems with traffic noise, foot traffic or loud neighbors. I didn't use the pool, but it looked clean as did the grounds.

It's a fine budget hotel. No real problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlHousesitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    27
    15
    17
See reviews for
13
16
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Both my wife and I have been in management in 4 and 5 star hotels for over 15 years and I have to say this was a pleasant surprise. We flew in late at night, was greeted by a very cheerful lady that answered all our questions about the area. The room was in a quiet location, very clean, looked like a fairly recent remodel. You get more for your money here than many hotels at 2 and 3 times the price. We would definitely stay here if we fly into San Jose again,

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quieter 2nd floor in the back area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apollokalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Vagabond Inn is located in a 'rowdy' part of town, as are the other hotels on the street.
What makes this place wonderful is the number of security cameras, someone is at the front desk 24/7 and they are rather assertive about keeping the riff raff out.
This inn is close to everything and if needed the light rail is across the steet.
There is a pool, laundry. free wi fi, free parking and the rooms are clean.
In a way, the Vagabond Inn is a pretty place to stay.
I really relaxed and would not stay any other place in San Jose.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool area add to the 'oasis' feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8888Paula8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If your here on business DO NOT STAY HERE, if your visit needs a good working SPA DO NOT STAY HERE! The photos of this place are soooo out dated, there is no spa, the unsecured Wifi does not work if you are not close to the office.We booked for 10 days on business and will never come again. Tonight i turned my bed covers and a worm flew and started crawling away. Continental breakfast is Juice, coffee, indvidual wraped danish, tea, and oranges everyday! The only thing good was Walter at front desk, i feel sorry for him after all this he still tried to make this place sound good. Walter you deserve better!

Room Tip: Go to hotel nextdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Bountiful, Utah
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We flew to San Jose to see the Cavalia horse show and stayed one night. The room was clean, the pool area was nice and well kept. The beds were a little hard, but we didn't care. We were most impressed by the manager, Danny. Because we didn't have a car, he gave us instructions on how to get to the show by light rail so that we didn't have to spend a lot on a taxi. He also told us how to get to the airport the same way. He was very friendly and helpful. We loved his beautiful dog, Jacob. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stan and JoAnne Elmer
Bountiful, UT

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location of the Vagabond Inn may be close to the airport however the people who frequent the area bring it down quite a bit. Within the same parking lot is a Dennys Diner open 24 hours. Issue with them is they're slow. Also a 7-11 convenience store on the corner however just to get there you've got the people who cause trouble. Dicey.
Cleanliness of the rooms is good. Televisions are older. Housekeepers are friendly & helpful. There's a pool and laundry as well. Too bad this Inn is located in such a not so nice area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redtoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This worked great as an overnight stop on our way through San Jose. The rooms were large, clean, and seemed to be recently redone. If you were staying longer, you might want to find something in a better neighborhood, but it would be great for an overnight stop. Also, it was a very sparse continental breakfast, but the coffee was good and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#32 of 75 in San Jose
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Inn
Pavilion Inn
#47 of 75 in San Jose
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)

Property: Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Address: 1488 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4818
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, two story Motor Inn with restaurant; located off Hwys 880 & 101, near Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing