We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1488 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4818   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location of the Vagabond Inn may be close to the airport however the people who frequent the area bring it down quite a bit. Within the same parking lot is a Dennys Diner open 24 hours. Issue with them is they're slow. Also a 7-11 convenience store on the corner however just to get there you've got the people who cause trouble. Dicey.
Cleanliness of the rooms is good. Televisions are older. Housekeepers are friendly & helpful. There's a pool and laundry as well. Too bad this Inn is located in such a not so nice area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redtoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    25
    10
    17
See reviews for
11
15
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This worked great as an overnight stop on our way through San Jose. The rooms were large, clean, and seemed to be recently redone. If you were staying longer, you might want to find something in a better neighborhood, but it would be great for an overnight stop. Also, it was a very sparse continental breakfast, but the coffee was good and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After having a difficult experience with a previous hotel, I immediately found the staff at the Vagabond Inn incredibly friendly which sold me immediately. I called quite a few motels/inns in the area and this was the first where I actually had a conversation with the staff, which is a huge plus in my book. To be perfectly honest, I wanted to write this review before I even stayed, but I knew that I should wait until after my stay was done before I did. But it is safe to say now, that all of my original feelings were true and the Vagabond Inn did not disappoint!

The room itself was your standard, average room, clean and well kept. The bed was quite comfortable, and everything seemed to be in fine working order. If I had any complaint whatsoever about the room, it would be that the refrigerator was not working. Go figure, the first time I ever wanted to use one in a hotel room too.

While the location was a bit far from where I needed to be (the San Jose Convention Center), the train which goes straight there was very conveniently located less than a block down the street, making our trip a whole lot easier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

When we arrived, the room was nice and clean. We were glad that access to the train was just across the street as we went into Downtown San Jose.

When we got back, we were please to remember that there is a Denny's right next to the hotel.

Though we only stayed overnight, we would have enjoyed an extended stay.

Thanks,

Tony

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was a wonderful experience staying in this Vagabond Inn.
You get a very friendly customer service and feel at home.
By the way, I found the location is very convenient because
of nearby Sanjose airport and also nice restaurants within
walking distance.

Room Tip: Call them before you come and tell your requirements. They will help you in selecting a desired roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debashish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I recently relocated to San Jose and searched the web for a "pet-friendly" hotel. This lead me to the Vagabond Inn and I must say that this is a great place to stay in San Jose!

Angie, Danny, Walter, Arleen and Ravi are very accommodating and will make sure that you have everything that you need to feel comfortable. They have gone 'the extra mile' to make sure that I am taken good care of.

Take my word for it...you'll be happy that you chose The Vagabond, San Jose when you are seeking a clean room and friendly service...not to mention, they accept our pets!

~Angela Tate

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet...away from the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

After checking out the terrible rooms and atmosphere next door at Motel 6, the Vagabond Inn was so nice. It was CLEAN, there weren't a bunch of shady characters scoping us out as we brought our bags into the room, and we felt SAFE. For an inexpensive (around $70 for two of us) place close to the airport, I'd recommend the Vagabond Inn for sure.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndesMtnWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#55 of 74 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Airport
Days Inn San Jose Airport
#45 of 74 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#39 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Airport
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)

Property: Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Address: 1488 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, two story Motor Inn with restaurant; located off Hwys 880 & 101, near Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing