We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Sacramento
1 review
“comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was a wonderful experience staying in this Vagabond Inn.
You get a very friendly customer service and feel at home.
By the way, I found the location is very convenient because
of nearby Sanjose airport and also nice restaurants within
walking distance.

Room Tip: Call them before you come and tell your requirements. They will help you in selecting a desired roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debashish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    26
    15
    17
See reviews for
13
16
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suisun City, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I recently relocated to San Jose and searched the web for a "pet-friendly" hotel. This lead me to the Vagabond Inn and I must say that this is a great place to stay in San Jose!

Angie, Danny, Walter, Arleen and Ravi are very accommodating and will make sure that you have everything that you need to feel comfortable. They have gone 'the extra mile' to make sure that I am taken good care of.

Take my word for it...you'll be happy that you chose The Vagabond, San Jose when you are seeking a clean room and friendly service...not to mention, they accept our pets!

~Angela Tate

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet...away from the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

After checking out the terrible rooms and atmosphere next door at Motel 6, the Vagabond Inn was so nice. It was CLEAN, there weren't a bunch of shady characters scoping us out as we brought our bags into the room, and we felt SAFE. For an inexpensive (around $70 for two of us) place close to the airport, I'd recommend the Vagabond Inn for sure.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndesMtnWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This place really is for vagabonds... as in vagrants.

Essentially, this place is a flop house. The owners have sucked all the equity out of the property and have failed to do even the minimum of upkeep over time. Cigarette burns in sheets. Broken plumbing. Polyester bed covers not laundered. Etc...

Prostitution and narcotics dealing are happening in many units. Random men coming in and out of the same room throughout the day. I was propositioned in the parking lot. Hence, why one reviewer mentioned the police visits on a regular basis. This also explains why one reviewer found used condoms in the parking lot.

When I opened the door, the first thing I noticed was the paper napkin stuffed into the peep hole. The ONLY reason you do this is because you don't want a shadow cast when opening the door. This keeps you from being getting a shotgun blast when answering the door. Just for giggles, I left it there, and for a whole week... it stayed... house keeping never took it out.

Other classy things are how the microwave is welded to the fridge... so you have to steal both of them instead of just one. Oh, and having to take the lid off the toilet to flush it. Heater/AC is very noisy, too.

Everyday I left the room, I packed all my stuff up into my suitcase and took it with me. The place is just sketchy. You really feel like you need to shower AFTER you leave the place.

Attached are pictures showing:
1. Random holes in the wall,
2. One inch gaps in the carpet showing concrete through the floor,
3. Hosed up plumbing with 1" gaps in the tub,
4. Misplaced toilet paper holder,
5. Napkin in door peep hole,
6. Banged up exterior

Face it... any reviews that are favorable to this place are written by management. Just look at the pictures other people have posted. You can't make stuff like that up.

The only good things... Denny's is 10 feet from your door and the rail in right in front of the hotel. Other than that... unless you enjoy being in a filthy place with various criminal elements around you... stay away... There is a Homestead Suites twenty yards down the street in one direction, and a Wyndam in the other direction...

Don't do anything stupid like pay in advance on hotels.com or something like... because you will want to leave.

This place is a dump.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Changchun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had been there with my colleague last year, the staff is nice and warm hearted, he replaced a larger room for us free of charge. There is a big yard, a lot of parking lots, very beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abc_LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I have been travelling the whole california coast by car using highway one, 2 weeks into the holiday so far this motel has been the best we have stayed in.
Big room, very clean, good staff, quite of a night so our 3 night stay was great for getting a
good nights sleep unlike many other places, fridge, microwave, iron, coffee machine, great
location, the nearby 7/11 shop was a godsend. My wife felt very safe here which was a great
bonus would retun without thinking twice

Room Tip: Spend the extra $5 per night and take the bedrooms with the king bed. Book by internet for a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria de fatima c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Being somewhat of a cheap person i've stayed in some really bad hotels, but the Vagabond Inn San Jose airport is the worst ever. The room had torn carpet, mold on the walls and ceiling, part of the ceiling was hanging down like it had been wet so many time it had pulled loose. The room stank, like old wet dog. I had an early flight but never got any sleep, affraid to get in a bed. Spend some extra money and find a better place.

Room Tip: Spend a few bucks more and find another hotel, this one sucks to the max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potlatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#38 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#50 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#46 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Airport
Days Inn San Jose Airport
#49 of 76 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#31 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)

Property: Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Address: 1488 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, two story Motor Inn with restaurant; located off Hwys 880 & 101, near Silicon Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing