We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

I love the Faimont-San Jose. The staff is always helpful and so KIND.....its a beautiful hotel with the comforts of home. I usually like to my bed facing a certain direction and they make a note of that in my files so when I check in, I'm all set up. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms marble and clean. The towels are soft and smell fresh, if you want more towels just call housekeeping they will have them to you within 10minutes. The curtains are black outs so if you want to sleep in.....go for it. Internet is easy as 1-2-3 and room service is quick and efficient. I just love this place!!!!! Parking is a breeze, just pull up and pick your car up the next day. I find the parking price inexpensive, given the security your car is safe. I've stayed in the new building and the main building and I love them both. A/C works great and you able to relax and just turn off from the day in the nice feather down beds and pillow. You will feel like a king/queen ....service is fabulous and the rooms equally Amazing. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveturtles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    681
    311
    143
    89
See reviews for
341
345
122
1,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Fron the valet parking to the check-out everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNative007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

We were her for a Friday night before Christmas. Hotel is centrally located downtown and close to everything. Room (suite) was great with huge walk in bathroom, sepertate WC, shower and bath. Valet parking was very steep @ $26 per day. Considering the hotel was pretty empty you'd think the price would be lower to encourage more people to use the facility. Check-in / check-out was straightforward (President's Club members) and as PC members, internet was free. Bakery across the plaza (exit by the Concierge desk) had very good coffee and pastries. Also, hotel is very close to SJ airport so that was nice as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank West_Coast_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Ut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

Upon leaving I was packing my trunk. A friend was travelling with me, and the folks at the door insisted that they repack my trunk with her luggage. In doing so they damaged an expensive parcel in my trunk. I didn't see it until I returned home. I am unable to get any response from the hotel. I guess they have my money so they aren't intersted in any further service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

We booked the room through their internet special, it was $ 119 plus taxes. Check in was a breeze, we were on the 8th floor with the view of Market Street and San Fernando Avenue. It was during Christmas week, so we were able to look down at the ice skate ring. Across from the hotel is the Christmas Park. All deck out with holiday decoration and tons of Christmas trees.

On the side of the hotel, they set up Holiday Carnival with rides and foods. There are lot to do in the area. Behind the hotel there is movie theatre and on the side of the hotel, they have Tilly Coffee and European dessert shop.

If you are a guest of the hotel…parking with unlimited access is $ 26 per night. There is also Parking garage on San Fernando Avenue for $ 6 per day for weekend only. The San Fernando parking garage has a sign that said “Fairmont Plaza parking”…you can take the elevator up to the main lobby and a short walk over to the hotel. Much cheaper than to park in the hotel garage. The disadvantage of Fairmont Plaza parking garage for $ 6 a day is it is one shot deal. They don’t have going in and out privileges like the hotel garage. But once you are in the area, everything is walking distance.

As for the room- our room was standard, it is big and spacious. Bathroom has separate shower and bathtub. The shower pressure was so nice….wish we have it at home. We stayed in a suite before, and the bathrooms in the suite are much bigger than standard room. The shower in the suite is huge with multiple showers head.

They have in room coffee maker which was nice. Each room has iron and iron board. Bathroom equipped with a phone and hair dryer, shampoo, condition, lotion and 2 robes.

The bed is nice and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tibet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

I have stayed at 4 Fairmont hotels in the past 3 years. I would not recommend any of them and have to rate the San Jose facility the worst. Except for a nice lobby, this hotel is not being maintained at all! The 25+ people checking in had to wait 20+ minutes each since there were only 2 rude people at the front desk. The room was small, furniture falling apart / damaged, plumbing had issues (clogged sink / bubbling toilet), and Internet service was a rip off. I have never seen so many carpet stains or wall scuffs in my life (I am not stretching the truth here)! The morning restaurant breakfast service was a rip off and service abysmal. Parking was a RIP off.

Two weeks later, I am still shaking my head how awful this hotel was!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificNW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Person at front desk was rude. The whole floor where we stayed smelled very bad. Called housekeeping and asked for something and it was never brought up. Food from room service just ok. BEDS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#18 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing