We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst on bus trip to San Francisco.
Hotel is very large and staff was attentive and polite. Room was large with great beds. Huge mini bar if that is your thing. Walls not too thin so no outside noise at all.
There are eating places and a good supermarket behind the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank octobergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service and perfect location of our hotel, as well as the luxurious rooms. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    696
    314
    144
    91
See reviews for
349
346
125
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

To begin, the hotel itself it beautiful. The standard rooms are spacious enough. The bathrooms are lovely, marble counter and floors. The staff was adequately friendly and the entire hotel is very clean and polished. The plaza in between the two building is pretty with restaurants close by if you do not feel like walking very far. You can have a burger at Johnny Rockets or a steak at McCormick & Schmicks. However, I highly suggest you walk to the local Savway and purchase your favorite spirit. The beverages are way over-priced and not all that tasty. 2 iced teas at the pool $10.88 plus tip and at the bar in the lounge; Bacardi Gold (retail liter bottle at Jewel $17.99) with cranberry juice and a vodka-lemonade. (I didn't order top shelf). Total bill $27.50. I enjoy a good beverage but I don't enjoy being ripped-off.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, less hassle.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel does have a recycle bin in the room, which I thought was great.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Represenative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service and perfect location of our hotel, as well as our luxurious rooms. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Impressive lobby,Lots of guests from the tech industry nearby. Nice (expensive) sushi bar. Breakfast good but fairly slow if you don't use the buffet.
Valet parking not cheap but much faster than past stays.On the other hand - large room with very little furniture- looks like someone stole most of the furniture! Sink was clogged. Few outlets. Gym OK, nice machines, but no headphones, some disorganization, no attendant.
Bottom line- it is fine but not a particular special experience.May not impress your significant other.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rialto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed so much of your stay. Our apologies for any issues, I will share this review with management and engineering to improve our service. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Beautiful venue. Close to downtown San Jose. Interesting historical site. You will be delighted with the friendly staff, clean environment, well appointed rooms, proximity to Starbucks, transportation and gourmet Safeway Market.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jacquel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Jacquel,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, from the location to the service! Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We spent two nights here in the middle of our vacation. The room was luxurious and hard to leave behind, though the A/C was noisy at night. We also liked being at the centre of things and enjoyed the beautiful pool facilities. Two drinks in the lobby cost more than many of the meals we had enjoyed on our trip so we had all but one meal outside the hotel. There are several good establishments within walking distance. As was recommended to me, this is a hotel you go to if budget doesn't matter and you'd like to be pampered.

The wifi should have been free, and the parking set-up was a little nuts, but I would return here for a romantic escape from reality.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Rick,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay. My apologies if it wasn't communicated to you that we offer free Wi-Fi when you join The Fairmont President's Club, our free reward program. Please do join if you plan on staying with us again. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Was in town for business, this was a class act. My room was fantastic, large bathroom, large room, great desk and chair. I agree with others that the room could use a freshening up. The Bathroom was spotless, the shower amazing, however, it was "old school" tiled from the 80's. Still while oldish, the shower itself had great pressure and the Speakman shower head and was very clean.
Sheets were fantastic, bed perfect, but I like mine a bit hard and not soft and mushy. Great Pillows.
Pool nice size, not humongous and nice seating. There were families swimming when I went to look. Gym looked nice size and clean. I did not eat at the restaurants.

Room Tip: Join the presidents club for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Charles,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed so much of your stay, like your room, bed, and pool. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

A great "classy" hotel in the heart of San Jose . . . . near everything. The 'place to be' when staying in San Jose. An excellent, efficient, and courteous staff. Medium sized very comfortable rooms with fine hotel mattresses . . . best night's sleep I'd had in several weeks. Terrific valet service and a taste of "Old San Jose" in the streets.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Robert,

We are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay, including your service, and the surrounding area. Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,
Daniel Bailey
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing