We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Option for Downtown S.J.”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Really Good Option for Downtown S.J.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Fairmont is in a great location, as it is in the heart of Downtown San Jose. The rooms are nicely apportioned and clean. I also had an excellent employee at the front desk that was courteous upon check in and provided some guidance to nearby establishments.

The hotel can be expensive during weekdays and conventions, so if you are on a budget it might be best to try and secure a Fri/Sat evening stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharksfansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the service and amazing location. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    712
    324
    148
    97
See reviews for
368
363
127
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Ga, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are in downtown San Jose this is the place to stay. Location has close to great restaurants as well as to the convention Center. With only a 10 minute drive from the airport their are more restaurants, meeting places etc. with in walking distance

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear James,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, especially our unparalleled location. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Check in was a breeze. The room wasn't very large but not small either. Decent size. I liked that the bathroom had a separate tub, shower and water closet with a door (privacy!). The room décor was modern but not too modern.

Service in the bars and restaurants was excellent - from pool service to lobby bar to room service. My spouse and I enjoyed a cocktail and listening to the live music in the lobby (a "treat" for parents traveling with kids). The pool was adequate size-wise and there were always plenty of towels and pool chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of town with many attractions within easy walking distance. Our deluxe room was well furnished, extremely clean with great views of the city and mountains. Large, well-equipped bathroom featured separate shower and amenities expected with this brand hotel. WI-FI and discounted valet parking were included in our conference package rate. All staff were friendly, helpful and appeared eager to help. Several good restaurants are a short walk from the property. The Grill (in the hotel) provided excellent service and food the evening we had dinner there.

Room Tip: Our South Tower room provided a quiet location with less congestion on elevators than in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_N583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear John,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay, including Fairmont service, our luxurious rooms, delectable dining options, and perfect location. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days for a conference, hotel was clean comfortable and efficient. The stand out guy there was the concierge whose name I regretfully can't remember, great help, good ideas and went the extra mile. Loads of social activities there and Friday night the locals descended for live music and dancing, all of N California life to watch and enjoy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith_P57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Keith,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Having stayed at this Fairmont property in San Jose numerous times when I visit the city, it has always provided an excellent experience. Access to the facility for check-in is very easy, just drive into the entrance and use valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank stevepookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Steve,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice hotel and staff, room was large and very comfortable. Great bathroom and amenities. The facilities are excellent and the downtown location is convenient. Also love the restaurant and bar - will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Michael,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect about your stay, especially the location. We aim for perfection for our guests. Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Daniel B
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
941 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing