We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
N. California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in The Fairmont, San Jose for 2 nights this weekend. When we arrived, the bellman greeted us nicely, and then when he saw my daughter they kicked it up a notch and gave her a flower and a lion balloon animal! I know those balloons aren't expensive, but the gesture started the whole stay off on the right foot and my daughter played with them the rest of the stay (she even danced around the lobby with her flower balloon during check-in). Nearly everyone we encountered were friendly and professional.
Our suite was great, had a living area, dining table, and separate bedroom with a huge bathroom. Everything was in pretty good condition, I do think they're do for a shower remodel. My back wasn't stoked on the bed, my wife didn't complain. I thought it dipped down in the middle...maybe it was just my side or something...
We ordered room service, they were friendly, prompt, and the food was pretty good.
The breakfast in the Fountain restaurant is just ok. Honestly, for the price/quality I'd skip it and go to Bill's or somewhere else for breakfast. Service is just ok (outside of the hostess' who were great), the food was average to below average (pancakes weren't great, hash was lousy, my wife said her benedicts were ok, we've had brunch, and some things were decent, but not worth the price).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwebbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello,
We are truly glad to hear that you enjoyed your Fairmont experience during your family trip.
Furthermore, we really appreciate your feedbacks and give us the opportunity to improve.
Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    688
    313
    144
    89
See reviews for
346
345
122
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great hotel for all. Great location. Good food options in the hotel and I the general area. The bed was comfortable the amenities provided in the room were 5 star. Great location for San Francisco Giants and the Forty Niners.



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your wonderful review and being a great advocate for our hotel! We can't wait to welcome you back! See you soon!
We really appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

There are a lot of positive things about the Fairmont San Jose. It is well located and has very helpful and pleasant staff. Valet peaking and check in staff are particularly helpful. The rooms are a large and well equipped. They are also very clean.

On the downside, this hotel feels 'tired'. The public areas and the bedrooms are badly in need of renovation. It feels as though this hotel is still stuck in the 1980s.

Now on to a couple of pet hates. Hotel mini bars are often expensive but Fairmont has taken this to a new level. Not only are the prices outrageous but they come with a very hefty 'restocking fee' of 18% on top. There is then the (unavoidable) 8.75% sales tax. Whatever you do make sure you do not put your own items in the refrigerator. You will be charged nearly $20 for using it. Very kindly, they offer to supply you with another refrigerator but you will have to pay $25 for the refrigerator's delivery. Fairmont need to remind themselves that they are meant to be providing a service to customers, not to rip them off. Finally, the decaf coffee served in the lobby bar is an instant variety which is overpriced and disgusting.

In summary, a really good option for a stay in San Jose. Just do not forget to take your own refrigerator.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We recognize that there are many options for accommodations at San Jose and we are pleased that you chose to spend your business trip with us.
We really appreciate your feedbacks and give us the opportunity to improve. Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I found this hotel overpriced. is very nice but not worth it... parking is expensive... however is a wonderful location in the downtown. It is clean and friendly but they charge for everything. the carpets on the ballrooms looks like old or dirty.

Room Tip: ,The bathroom are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Gina,
We are sorry to have disappointed you during your recent visit. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com .
We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Overall, my stay was disappointing. The room was generally clean, but parking was very expensive and they added a 22% gratuity to their Easter buffet brunch without letting me know and I couldn't cancel when I found out without being charged. The room smelled musty when I checked in, but to their credit housekeeping sprayed something in the room so the smell was gone the second day. I really wanted to like this hotel, but in all honesty, I would find it difficult to recommend. There were just too many issues. As an aside, I went to the Tova Spa (in the hotel) and had a mediocre massage. And dinner at McCormick and Shmicks was also mediocre. Avoid both.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've stayed at the Fairmont 3 times over the last 4 months and have to say that i will no longer stay at another hotel. This place has a great lounge and perfect location. Its very nice, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience staying with us during your business trip in San Jose. Hopefully, you had a chance to see our new chocolate display in the lobby lounge. Thank you very much for your thoughtful words.
Furthermore, we appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel when I had a conference at the convention center in March. WOW. I was very surprised! Very clean, updated and a great location if you need to stay in the downtown area. Several restaurants within walking distance and a few museums in the area.

The bathroom area was huge and spotless and the bed very comfortable.

My only complaint is the lack of a manual lock at the top of the door that prevents the door from being opened even with a key. Other than that it was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnrbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your great review and being a great advocate for our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your conference in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#19 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing