We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

THIS is what a luxury hotel should be. It is absolutely gorgeous, from its stunning lobby to its huge, tastefully decorated rooms. The front desk people are efficient and incredibly caring. We needed travel advice, and two different concierge people helped us immensely. The bedding in our room was to die for. The bathroom was enormous, with both a tub and a shower. The room was absolutely spotless, too. I would return to this lovely hotel in a heartbeat. The Fountain Restaurant there has fabulous food and an incredible breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newere annexed tower, and the room was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarCrazyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your visit in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back. We always pride ourselves in providing top of line services to our guests, thank you for noticing our team members' efforts.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    688
    313
    144
    89
See reviews for
346
345
122
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Arrived very early and took a shot at an early check-in. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly as they set us up in our room. I realize this cannot always happen, but it was great! The room was very clean and large. There are plenty of dining options within walking distance of the hotel. There are some homeless folk hanging around sometimes, but pretty harmless. We had a very restful night. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We walked to the CALTRAIN station and headed north to Palo Alto from the hotel. Would happily stay here again! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello,
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your visit to the Bay Area and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3+ nights on business. Underground valet parking, room service food was pretty good, and rooms (especially the BATHROOM!) was fantastic. I was on the 8th floor - view was OK. The location is good - downtown San Jose is pretty cool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idkmybffjill1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip and we can't wait to welcome you back .
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

What a privilege to stay in such a city landmark. Our room in the south tower was beautiful and clean. Every amenity we could ask for was either in our room or available at the other end of the phone.
The hotel is located on a paseo which leads straight to SJSU and many, many desirable caf��s, restaurants, theaters, etc. There are nice caf��s and a wine bar adjacent to the hotel with outside seating...beautiful and entertaining.
I read other reviews that commented on homeless people. Yes, they are in the area. But this is downtown, like any downtown, there are homeless people. We never felt fearful nor did anyone bother us. I didn't see any panhandling going on in the vicinity of the hotel either.
A great place to stay. Our daughters attend SJSU. We will call this home whenever we visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank J4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your visit and we can't wait to welcome you back to your second home.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you're looking to spend big bucks on your San Jose stay, chose the Fairmont. It's a gorgeous, classic hotel, but everything is a price. Understandably, it's a busy city hotel in Silicon Valley and, presumably, many businesspeople staying here have the money to spend on such a place, but beware of the numerous fees. I also felt that, for the price tag, this hotel should have had more of the conveniences modern hotel chains serve as part of their namesake.

PROS:
The main lobby is beautiful; speedy valet; the workout facility was one of the largest, well-equipped and nicest at any hotel I've visited; exercise classes available; restaurants and bars in the lobby area (nice ones); large, spacious rooms; one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in (super fluffy pillows and comforter!); high end toiletries in the bathroom; LOCATION is excellent (close to the HP Pavilion, Adobe, University, major company buildings, walking distance to at least a hundred cafes, restaurants, bars, clubs, grocery store, etc.); FedEx and a rental car agency in the building; a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom with an elegant mirror, bench and great lighting; the hotel hallways are well-lit and bright; incredibly speedy elevators; and, very clean rooms.

CONS:
Parking is valet and $26 a night (so add in tip); an average drink at the hotel bar is $10; the WiFi is $15-20 a day; there is no microwave or fridge available - just a stocked mini-fridge with food/drinks for an exorbitant fee (there is also an "un-stocking fee" if you just want to use the fridge and not purchase anything in it); no shuttle service; the bathroom, although beautiful, has a tiny shower (it felt like a gym locker room shower and there was no place to put shower products except in a tiny 3x3 hole or on the floor) and a bathtub with no shower head; and, there is no laundry at the hotel (except for laundry service, which is, of course, very expensive).

Room Tip: Ask for floor three - it's the same floor as the exercise room and there are steps from the gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Good Morning,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont San Jose. I know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen ours. Your business truly is important to us.
Furthermore, we thank you for your kind words and we apologize for any inconvenient experience during your stay. Your review allows us to find opportunities for improvement on our property.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My "standard" room proved to be large, unconventionally laid out, and beautifully appointed. There was a separate bathtub and shower stall, a new flat panel HDTV, phone in the bathroom, etc. The only downside was a $15 daily charge for wifi access. That's waived for "Presidents' Club" members. Front desk service was very friendly and helpful too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Fairmont, in the 'annex' over the road from the main building. The room was spacious, with comfortable beds and nice linens, and the bathroom was wonderful, with high end toiletries and lots of space. But there were several small details that really detracted from our stay. Our room looked out over a park area, where a community party of some sort started at about midnight. The noise was deafening, even with windows and drapes closed, and it went on for a couple of hours. When we called reception to ask them about it, they just said, oh it should be over by 2am at the latest. I realize the exterior noise was beyond their control, but no one offered for us to change rooms, and if the community puts on loud events of that kind, why would a hotel put guests in rooms directly over the party location. Then the alarm by the bed went off at 6am. I didn't think to check the alarm wasn't set, because we use our smartphone alarms, but housekeeping should have made sure it was off. So we got about four hours sleep that night. And the shower, though roomy and with lots of hot water, didn't drain. I had to turn off the shower as the water in the tray was about to run over the top and flood the bathroom floor. A hotel of the Fairmont's standard shouldn't really have these issues.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused during your stay with us. I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#19 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing