We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for ruining my wife's birthday”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanks for ruining my wife's birthday”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a poolside room with private patio at the Fairmont San Jose over the Labor Day weekend, to celebrate my wife's birthday and enjoy some rest and relaxation.

We had no prior knowledge that when we arrived to check in, we would not be able to utilize the pool and patio to our full enjoyment. At check-in, we found a flyer the hotel was distributing to guests, explaining we would not be able to use the pool and adjacent grill for much of that Sunday.

The hotel had booked an "event" for that day that involved the use of at least "four" disc jockeys, which said to us that there would be a very large, VERY loud pool party. Even if we were 10% interested in attending this party - and we weren't - the hotel wanted to charge hotel guests $25 a head.

The only alternative was to take the hotel's private car over to the San Jose Marriott to use their pool. Really, if we wanted to sit by the pool at the Marriott, we would have *stayed* at the Marriott! To trudge downstairs from our room and get in a car to visit some other hotel pool is absolutely ridiculous.

We declined the reservation. So much for the weekend.

I wrote Kelley Cosgrove, the general manager. I explained that my wife wasn't interested in staying there anymore. I also explained that perhaps the Fairmont should take steps to inform incoming guests who booked poolside rooms in advance that they would not be able to use the pool facilities. I am certain that the hotel knew far in advance of this event. Even a week or two in advance would have been helpful.

Never heard back from the hotel. So much for their customer service. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyberchomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello,
First, we apologize for the lack of communication prior to your check-in and we also apologize for ruining your special occasion for you and your wife.
Our General Manager, Kelley Cosgrove, did not receive your previous messages until now. She would like to discuss with you further about the incident. Please contact Tamara Mienders, our Executive Assistant to the General Manager, to set up a time for the discussion. You can reach her at Tamara.mienders@fairmont.com
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    701
    315
    145
    93
See reviews for
353
349
126
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at the Fairmont for a convention first off the location to the convention center is good but the walk over is riddled with aggressive bums drunks and panhandlers , in the park and on the street , being yelled and cussed at every morning on the walk over , was uncalled for and it is obvious that the city does not care about the safety of convention attendees aka (Team San Jose).

Stay at the Hilton or Marriott if attending a convention they are connected to the convention center by skywalk!!!!

As for the hotel my room was large , bed was old and hard , sink was plugged for entire stay after numerous calls to the black hole.

Sink handle had missing parts ,gang logos hand carved into elevator interiors.

Lobby bar is cool and the bistro had good food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snogoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello,
We thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. Providing exceptional service for our guests is of the utmost importance to us.
I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I use the Fairmont as my base for most business trips involving meetings south of Palo Alto. I have never had a bad room here and there are good options for dinner and breakfast very close to the hotel.

Strangely enough, I have always received consistently great service parking my car and getting it back next morning downstairs in the garage while the reception desk has been far more variable. There are times during the morning checkout rush when there are 3 or 4 people at the desk hanging around while only one person is actually assisting guests.

If you do have a car parked at the hotel, make sure to call ahead so that they have it ready by the time you check out.

On nights when I have to eat dinner by myself, the bakery and the tapas bar next door have served me well for a light dinner. The bakery makes a mean cappuccino to my specs and for that reason alone I stop there in the morning even when I am not staying at the Fairmont.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandfirouzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
788 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Came here for an event being hosted elsewhere in the valley, and although the rooms are looking dated, I was impressed with the staff and service. Went to the bar for a bite to eat, and the girl serving me was great. The Cuban Wings (ok - I'm a sucker for wings - not exactly haut cuisine, but I do like them) were nicely spiced, and were actually like crispy chicken wings in a good Indian curry sauce. The hotel is nicely situated in the centre of San Jose, with museums and shops close by, along with plenty of other eateries.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello,
We are very happy to hear you had such a great experience staying with us. Thank you also for noticing our great location in downtown San Jose and our Cuban Wings!
We can't wait to welcome you back and we thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookham Village, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

It's not the worlds best hotel, but it's probably San Jose's best, (certainly as a business hotel).

It does everything it says it will, with a smile.

I'd definitely not hesitate to return and stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO USA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Fairmont San Jose is still a very good hotel, however, it is tired. It is not up to the standard set by other Fairmont properties, or even by itself in the past. Over the past 15 years, I have stayed at the Fairmont San Jose many times. I am sorry to say that it has not aged well.

Why do I say that it is “tired”? It was a combination of tiny things that I noticed that led me to this conclusion. To begin with, the pillows on the bed must have been old. They were not exactly flat, but they weren’t fluffy as you would expect in a hotel of this caliber. On the chair in the room there was a pillow. The pillow had an animal print on it – or at least it did when it was new. The pillow has been there so long that the print has worn off of the center half. In the bathroom, the cap was missing from one of the sink faucets. The towels were thin – not the plush variety that one would expect. There wasn’t a bathrobe in the room (I don’t use them, but just another example). Walls need to be repainted or cleaned to deal with scuff marks. For me, a virtual trademark of Fairmont hotels is the overnight shoeshine that is offered. That has always seemed like a special luxury. I was disappointed that there was not a shoeshine bag in the room.

I could go on with other things that I noticed, but you probably get the idea. Am I nit picking minor things? Absolutely I am. However, I was staying at a Fairmont and I believe that they deserve to be held to a higher standard than most other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello,
We thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. Providing exceptional service for our guests is of the utmost importance to us.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I am a fan of the Fairmont hotel chain and have stayed at several of their properties in Canada, US and overseas. Fairmont San Jose is in a great location. 15 mins by cab from the airport. Close (walking distance) to restaurants and bars in the area and tram service behind the hotel. Service is excellent like most Fairmonts. Public areas are pristine. Rooms and washrooms need some updating. Seperate shower and bath. Free internet for FPC members. Bar and bathrobes in room. Lobby bar is excellent with huge projection showing games and live music most nights - great place to get a cocktail after a busy day. I did not try the restaurants. Outdoor pool on the 4th floor (see picture) with some rooms opening to the pool area. The lobby bar converts to a takeout breakfast service in the morning if you are in a hurry with breakfast sandwiches, cappucinos, etc. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadarocks463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello,

We are very happy to hear you had such a great experience staying with us. Thank you for noticing our great location in downtown San Jose that is what I keep telling everyone!
We can't wait to welcome you back and we thank you for sharing your experience and photos with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing