We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Room was large and spacious and clean. Loved the terrycloth robes. However, the bathroom was showing some age. May have been just our room as the rest of the hotel common areas were pristine. Lovely pool. I was the only one in it at 3 pm. Be aware of the pricey parking fee. Bus stop was nearby and easy to use to get to Shopping on Santana Row. I was on an business trip here-probably would have stayed at a Marriott if not on a expense account.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80MrsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hello,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We got a low rate through a discount travel site, and yet the helpful desk clerk Daniel gave us a very nice, spacious room (1417) in the main South Tower, with windows on two sides and a beautiful mountain view. If you are not on a business expense account there are some ways to beat the extra charges on things like pricey parking, internet and meals, as I'll explain below.

Pros: Large nice rooms, very good beds, great toiletries, clean and very quiet. Fast elevators. Good and courteous service. A large and well equipped gym. Live music (and even dancing by guests) in the evening in the lobby bar and eatery. Overall upscale ambience. Good location for interesting restaurants nearby. Rail station for local travel just behind hotel.

Cons: Few freebies. Expensive parking (only valet at $26 per day). $10 per day for internet access, $7 per bottle for water in room (not marked, so beware). No fridge (except an expensive honor bar) or microwave (they want you to patronize their restaurants.) Below are ways to avoid steep extra charges.

Parking: Outside the hotel there is limited metered parking for $1 per hour, but it's limited to just 1 or 2 hours before you need to move (re-feeding meter won't do per posted warning.) Parking from 6pm till 9am is free but most places close by allow no parking between 3am and 6am so you can't park there overnight. There are garages within 3 blocks that charge a flat rate of just $5 but many start their day at 6am so you essentially pay $10 for overnight parking. The outdoor lot opposite Safeway (153 S. 3rd St) is essentially free from midnight till 8am next day as there's no attendant, and you pay a flat $5 if you keep your car longer than that.

But we did find free overnight street parking on 4th St between E. San Carlos St and E. San Salvador St. Also free (but move your car by 11am next day) on E. William St between 3rd and 4th St. There should be other such places as well.

Internet: It's really simple to apply online for the Fairmont President's Club. You get your membership no. right away and on supplying it at check in your internet is free.

Transport to San Jose Airport, etc.: The local train (VRA, station on 1st St just behind Fairmont) enables you to go to San Jose Airport for $2 with a quick changeover to the free airport shuttle after 6 stops - total time taken is under 30 minutes. You can go all the way to San Francisco by rail for $9 and the unlimited day travel pass costs $18. Of course there's the faster taxi option from the concierge desk - it's about $20 to SJC and good for multiple travelers.

Eating: San Jose Downtown near the hotel was more interesting than we thought, with many good and inexpensive eateries. Many parking garages also accept validation from local restaurants and stores for free parking.

Room Tip: In the Main (South) Tower there are lots of corner rooms, and rooms with wide windows with excellent...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding over Labor Day weekend. It was a nice, clean hotel but just not up to par with typical Fairmont expectations and quality. The room seemed more comparable to a Hampton Inn, it was somewhat modern and updated but there was nothing luxurious about it. The shower/bathroom was just Ok but I did use their rose body wash and it was nice. The location is great however, right in the heart of downtown San Jose, walking distance to many restaurants and things to do. It is right next to the Museum of Art. The pool seemed really nice although we did not have time to use it with all of the events going on. I do not know if I would return, it is comfortable but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for several nights on a relocation trip earlier this year. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived.
My husband was upgraded to a King Suite which had a nice view. The room was large and gave us room to stretch out in comfort.
One of the most comfortable beds anywhere.
Being relocated there were sever nice amenities and features that made our stay great. The super big walk in closet was any woman's dream.
I want to thank the entire staff for making my stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello,

We are very happy to hear you and your husband had such an amazing experience staying with us. We can't wait to welcome you back! We thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel with very nicely appointed, spacious room. Only down side to the room is that the air conditioning did not work very well (Rm 1201), even on the highest settings. Good thing it was not a super hot day. Upon check in, we found the front desk to be a bit indifferent. We were there on a special offer pkg and found that our food credit was not applied, so we ended up having to call the accounting department to have the credit applied later. The front desk should have taken care of entering the credit in the system at check in.The last downer was the valet parking. After calling down from our room as instructed, we were told that the car would be ready in 10-15 min. No one said to check in at the counter when we got downstairs, so we waited and waited, only to find out that we should have checked in at the counter to get into the que. Why didn't you say so on the phone?! 35 minutes later, we got our car. Overall, we had a nice stay and hopefully, the few minor annoyances are not the norm. I think management should make sure employees are trained to give Fairmont caliber service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DYtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont San Jose. I know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen ours. Your business truly is important to us.

We thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My room was nicely updated. It had a calm, relaxing effect. I liked the fact that the bathroom had marble counter tops and floors. The carpet was short (better for anyone with allergies). It had a soothing color scheme thruout. The hotel also had ample, working elevators. The front desk staff was friendly and a few were exceptionally nice. The concierge was extremely helpful and answered my many questions, esp. concerning public transportation to the various places that I wanted to see. My advice to anyone who has problems with their hotel card key: if after having a 2nd set of keys made (and it doesn't work), have the engineer check out the door lock. I had to go up and down 4 or more round trips from my hotel door to the front desk and I found a hotel employee who took the door lock apart. I also had trouble with the shower water temperature. It would (one its own without touching it) get from hot to cold to very hot with each shower. Also I had trouble with the room thermostat. When I had the engineer get the heater working (when it got cold) then during the day (even after setting the thermostat to air conditioner, it would not work. I'm sure those problems would be fixed for future guests but the staff, esp. the front desk staff, again was so pleasant that I even extended my stay and I would Most DEFINITELY stay at the hotel again!!! They are the ICING on the cake!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello,

We would like to thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you had faced during your stay with us. Your review allows us to find opportunities for improvement on our property.

If you have any additional suggestions, I would love to discuss your experience in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Grabbed a priceline rate bacause I had a business colleague staying there. Room rate was great. But, Room sucked. Was on the same floor as the catering office and conf rooms. Probably updated last in 1999 or was it 1982 . . . Had a view of an alley with a building about 30 feet away. Awful. Room smelled of kitchen exhaust all night. Gross. Don't get suckered into a low rate thinking you will get Fairmont treatment. Enough said. Sheraton 4 points next door is much more pleasant for same price.

Room Tip: Book a real rate from Fairmont--not hotwire/priceline-and I'm sure you'd get a much better r...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPGwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $183 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing