We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel but soft furnishings need an upgrade”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel but soft furnishings need an upgrade”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is clean, we'll kept and efficient it's largest problem is the location is in the commercial hub of San Jose and there is nothing really to do within walking distance from the hotel. There are a few restaurants but you need to get over to Santana Row for any sort of nightlife (about 15mins in a cab).

I had a suite in the other section of the hotel which is across a walking area. The carpet is in need of replacement and some of the furnishings are looking well used.

The breakfast is pretty good and room service was efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    728
    328
    152
    101
See reviews for
383
372
131
1,103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband I and I booked a room here for just one night to celebrate my birthday, and WOW, the staff at the Fairmont made it one of the happiest birthdays ever! We were given a stunning view, and the room was just gorgeous, and spotlessly clean! This is truly a magnificent hotel. The staff simply go out of their way to make you happy. When I first called, I spoke with Scott, and he actually remembered me when I arrived at the hotel! Scott has such a warm and gracious manner that I felt important and like a valued guest. Also, Roselle at the front desk and Andy the bellman went out of their way to get us settled in and make us feel welcome. The entire experience was absolutely wonderful! When we went to check out Larissa handled everything quickly, efficiently and with such grace and ease. Larissa, Scott, Roselle and Andy are all wonderful brand ambassadors for the Fairmont. Their enthusiasm and desire to take care of their guests is so obvious in their behaviors, their attitudes, and their manners. Thank you Fairmont San Jose for making me feel so very, very special on my birthday! We will be back :o) One last thing, the pool was warm, clean and perfect for swimming a few laps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello,

We are very thrilled to hear you had such a remarkable experience staying with us on your birthday.

We can't wait to welcome you back and we thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fabulous property and excellent service provided by the amazing staff. My friends and I were treated so well during our weekend stay at the Fairmont and will definitely return. Special thank you to one of the managers Chris Hamilton!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyreehoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our visit was due to our plane being delayed and the airline putting us up in this hotel, staying only 10 hours here. However during our time there we were blown away. The service was fantastic, and the bar was lively (there was a jazz band playing just off the lobby). As there were a lot of people on the delayed flight, the hotel put on extra staff to accommodate the large number of checkins within a short time frame (at least 30 couples checking in around 9pm). The staff were very friendly, and had also arranged an early light breakfast for us all the next day. The rooms were massive, and the cleanliness to a high standard. We ordered room service, which arrived within 20 minutes and the staff member laid everything out for us). The bathroom was huge, with everything clean. The hotel also seemed pretty close to some good eating streets (that I could tell from our shuttle bus). If I am ever back in San Jose, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your airplane delayed in San Jose , and can't wait to welcome you back.

We appreciate you for sharing your remarkable experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, a true fairmont. The room is beautiful and modern. The pool is a lovely area. The hotel is very good value. The location isn't great as there isn't much to do. I would recommend San Jose as an area for holiday. We stopped here on our way up to San Francisco but there isn't much here so we were glad to have the pool. San Jose is much warmer than San Francisco as is in land so don't be fooled just because its close. The hotel grill restaurant is very good to but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room was beautiful and modern, the bathroom had a great shower and bath. The whole place was elegant and nicely decorated. My Boyfriend and I stayed here for the Valentines Day special. We got a great deal on a couples massage. The massages were great and the spa are was very relaxing. We wanted to hang out in the hot tub after the massage but we had to make it to our dinner reservations after. The food at the restaurant was great except that I don't like seafood and a lot of the menu included seafood. I'm sure it was great though for anyone who likes it. I had the steak, it came with lobster sauce but I got it on the side and didn't try it but the steak was great even plain. I would recommend this hotel for couples who want a romantic night out, definitely get the Valentines special.

Room Tip: We had a normal king room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

always happy with the Fairmont..........clean rooms, well maintained. great staff too It's convienent and within walking distance for great food. We always go to the classic Original Joe's for great Italian fare.

Room Tip: new section is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing