We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for a business hotel”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Not usually the sort of property I go for, but there's not all that much choice in San Jose and this seemed to be the best rated.

Bit of a queue at check-in and check-out and they didn't seem to have properly understood the instructions sent to them by my work's booking agent.

I was on the 8th floor in the main building with a view out over the pool. Room was very spacious, but quite old fashioned in decor. Still in good condition and clean though. Air conditioning was a bit noisy which was annoying though. Shower wasn't great and the towels seemed a bit old too.

Went in the pool one evening for a quick swim but the water was a bit warm for any serious exercise, water wasn't all that clear either. Would be a nice place to relax though.

There was a pretty bad band playing in the lobby on the evening we arrived but we found a couple of nice bars around the corner that were better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. Providing exceptional service for our guests is of the utmost importance to us.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is GREAT!! The location is excellent with many things to do, places to eat, and things to see within walking distance; many right next door and outside the doors of the hotel. The hotel itself is very upscale, but doesn't make you feel intimidated. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is comforting and warm. The staff was very helpful, professional, and friendly. We would definitely stay in this hotel again!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jsaxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us in San Jose, and can't wait to welcome you back. We appreciate you for sharing your remarkable experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the location is the best thing about this hotel. helpful staff but it took 12 minutes for a bell hop to show up and help with bringing our luggage from valet to room which was annoying as there was
no self parking available and $26 for parking each day

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had an upgraded standard suite - separate bedroom and living room. It was comfortable a pretty fairly represented in photos and on website. Ours appeared to be recently upgraded and was clean and nice. However, they left some leftover construction items in the safe! And several lamps were not plugged in, we moved furniture and got them plugged in. Staff is very friendly and attentive. We had a conference here and they did a nice job. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhawk785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello,

First, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused by our negligence during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement. Providing exceptional service for our guests is of the utmost importance to us.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Much nicer than we anticipated!

We had just spent a week in San Francisco and decided to drive down to stay a night in San Jose. Totally worth it! The hotel was actually a lot nicer than what we were expecting. The rooms are bigger than the hotel rooms in San Fran- and cheaper too! Next time we visit CA (we live on the east coast), we will definitely stay here again! Wish we could have stayed for more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello,

We are very happy to hear you had such an amazing experience staying with us, and can't wait to welcome you back. We thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at Fairmont for a conference. The hotel is wonderful inside and out - classic. The rate is reasonable.

It is located in downtown San Hose, close to restaurants, theatres, coffee shops, shopping and the suburban transport system (VTA).

I'm very happy and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMMM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is our second stay at The Fairmont and we are pleased yet again. The value is incredible for what you get. It's an older hotel but still elegant. Our kids love the rooftop pool and its heated nicely. The hotel and nearby eatery's are a bit speedy. We will stay here again I'm certain.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyaB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 75 in San Jose
971 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.4 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $155 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing