We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect business hotel”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly staff, good service, clean room and close to most things you want. The bar staff were friendly and coped well with big demand, great area to sit and relax. Concierge was very helpful.
Very short ride to airport and helps that they understand business people!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on business or pleasure.

Thank you,

Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont in San Jose for a few days during a business conference and was very impressed by the hotel. The hotel is immaculate, beautiful, elegant, and very comfortable. I was in the south tower which is new and the rooms were top notch and very clean. The staff were all professional, very pleasant and helpful. The center bar is large, lovely, and a very nice place for meeting associates. The Grill is a restaurant near the lobby that had excellent food and drink, great service, and was not too expensive. It is a very nice place for business or pleasure travel and is located in a very nice section of the downtown area. The events that were arranged by the hotel were all beautifully done with only the best equipment and very fine food. The only negative is that the gift shop in the hotel is extremely expensive, so for sodas, snacks, toothpaste, etc. walk a couple of blocks to the Walgreens and save a lot of money.

Room Tip: Stay in the South Tower
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santa_Fe_NM_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Seems you were able to enjoy all aspects of the hotel during your stay! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director, Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work recently and thoroughly was impressed with the service and the extremely comfortable room. The lobby bar is a must do for those looking to relax after a day of work or just enjoy the atmosphere. Ideally located to most destinations downtown, I will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

To start I have stayed at a number of different Fairmonts this year. Most are very luxurious but this location is a step behind. Beds are very comfortable and rooms have same set up as most but just seems a bit dated. Seems more like a Sheraton/Marriott type convention hotel. Just doesn't live up to the name. Not sure what other options are in San Jose but seems this still may be the best choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iscreenwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If your company is holding a conference at this hotel, you are in luck. Our group does an annual thing and we change chains and cities every year... this trip was pretty low key and perfect which is the way I like it. No drama, just a place to lay my head, within easy distance of fun stuff to see and easy to navigate the conference. The meeting rooms are mostly on one floor and logistically simple. Elevators could use more signage. I kept missing the elevator antiroom.

Sign up for the free President's Club... you get stuff including rides to the airport, free internetz, etc. It's a different level of service and it's free. Ask for a higher room in the main tower, especially towards the mountains. It's really cool to watch the jets land at the airport and you're treated to beautiful sunsets.

Our room was fine...watch that mini-bar! DO NOT MOVE ANYTHING UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY FOR IT. We were really wishing for a refrigerator as we had brought drinks and food from driving around California for several days. And be prepared to be waited on. They don't want self-sufficiency like using a luggage cart to handle your own luggage. We get tired of being tipped to death for stuff we can do ourselves so this irritates us, but we understand that they are a luxury hotel and their clientele probably expect to have particular services.

Check in and out were smooth, room was clean, bathroom was nice and big! The running water kept going cold in the shower off and on which was especially annoying to someone who was fighting a headcold. I like the separation of functional compartments in the bathroom so people can move around and get ready without disturbing others who might need to use the toilet or shower. That's a very considerate, upscale design and it's appreciated. Phone didn't work, but it got replaced quickly.

Lots of good restaurants right around this hotel, just pick your cuisine. We enjoyed the 50's diners, PF Chang's and House of Siam Thai. Easy walking to theaters, SJSU and the Tech is across the street. The hotel has doors on all sides with after hours access so you don't have to walk extra just to get back inside. This was very helpful. All in all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your conference, and your stay with The Fairmont San Jose. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I enjoy staying at the Fairmont when I visit San Jose for work. It's a luxury hotel that has good service and a central location. I enjoy being able to walk everywhere I need to go and feeling welcomed when I return to the hotel.
My only concerns are: as a woman traveling alone for business, I do not always feel safe when returning to the 'new' tower in the evenings. There often are people hanging around by the door - or very nearby. It would be very easy for one of them to follow in a guest.
The only other downside of this hotel is the gym that is crowded, old, and very small. Moving the gym to a location with windows and a bit more space may take up valuable real-estate but would make for a better experience for hotel guests wishing to workout in a space other than a small 'basement-feeling' room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Luxury hotel living at it's best for San Jose.
Service and staff are excellent.
Very Comfortable Beds and Pillows are perfect.

However we needed to have a DVD player brought to our room and after several phone calls to the front desk and housekeeping ....no way would anyone help us?
Oh well, I suppose the tech age of today makes hotels feel that everyone travels with their own equipment. Mmmm...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Good Morning,

We are so happy you enjoyed our property, and I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. I apologize for our slow response to your request for a DVD player. This is actually something that needs to be arranged ahead of time with our AV supplier, and that should have been communicated with you at the time of your call.

If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please don't hesitate to reach out to me.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $183 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing