We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will certainly return. Beautiful hotel, great service and nice rooms. My first stay was in the tower, the second on a poolside room on the main building fourth floor. "The Grill" bar/restaurant had an incredible wine list with very professional and cordial staff. I would recommend it for business dinners or at the bar for a place to unwind. There are also plenty of other options to dine in the area, and it's relatively close to the airport. As I visit the area often for business, I recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spencer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    628
    280
    128
    79
See reviews for
306
308
112
947
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As always, the hotel in general is a pleasant place to stay. I was surprised to see most of the problems I listed in my last review 2 years ago have been addressed, which is great. However, like our last stay, housekeeping was not at its best. We arrived in our lovely Cabana Room, walked out to the patio, only to discover one table littered with a dozen beer caps and the other table covered in some sticky substance. While unpacking in our walk in closet, we noticed the complimentary shoe shine cloth had been used and left in a basket. I discarded it, but it was never replaced. When we used wine glasses or drinking glasses, they were not replaced and I had to phone housekeeping to bring them. By the second day, I ended up using a facecloth to clean that sticky table, since again, housekeeping ignored our patio.

That said, the pool area is very relaxing and ordering lunch by the pool is very pleasant. If you wish to book a Cabana Room, which opens right onto the pool area, phone the hotel directly. I don't recall seeing a Cabana Room offered on line. We stayed in Room 414, a gorgeous 2 room suite at the end of the floor - a good walk to your room, but worth it for the privacy.

The Grill Restaurant is very nice, and if you want something a little more casual, keep walking through The Grill to reach the more casual bar area. The Fountain Room for breakfast is airy and the food and service are perfect.

If you want to pick up some snacks or wine for the room, The Market by Safeway is a 5 minute walk away. Other than the minor housekeeping issues, the hotel is a beautiful property and I'm looking forward to our next Cabana Room stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZ_TOGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy you enjoyed the poolside suite and its convenient location. However, it seems we have missed the mark in one area. I wanted to personally respond and follow up with you after I received your review. I would like to assure you that we take comments and concerns of our guests very seriously and yours is no exception.

I would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Marshall.Jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was excellent from the first moment i arrived!
The head valet was charismatic and humorous and remembered my name for the reminder of my trip, a nice touch! The inside of the hotel was beautiful in design and the staff were all pleasant.
The room itself was very generous in size and had a beautiful bathroom, both of which including the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean!
Although the tertiary fees, cost of the breakfast and spa treatments were very much symbolic of a four star hotel the price of the room itself was very reasonable for a hotel of this quality!
The bed was by far the most comfortable of all the beds i tried on my stay to California and offered the perfect nights sleep.
Located within about a ten minute walk of all the local bars, which were plentiful in number and of a pretty good standard i did not have a problem locating my room after a 'night on the tiles'
This hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMikeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a marvelous experience at our property, and were able to enjoy your evening on the town!
We can't wait to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Joanne Casem
PR and Marketing Manager
Joanne.Casem@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here when we attended a concert at the San Jose Pavilion. We stayed in a tower room which was much quieter and low key than the main building. The walk to the pavilion was easy and convenient. The room was spacious and quiet and the bathroom was huge and luxurious. Check in was fast and easy. We will definitely stay here again when we return to San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you had a great experience, that check in was efficient, and you enjoyed your luxurious accommodations. We hope you'll come back to enjoy another show at HP very soon.

Thank you,
Joanne Casem
PR and Marketing Manager
Joanne.Casem@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I just stayed the the week at the Fairmont San Jose. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and always willing to help. Going through the lobby, you'll think your in a grand European hotel, very posh. I stayed on the 4th floor and the hallways are constructed as though you are a mouse in a maze, I finally figured out the hallway maze pattern after the 3rd day, it was very confusing. The rooms are awesome, except a couple of things - the Bathroom mirror had this huge gross mold growth in-between the glass and the mirror, there where several lights that had come out of the socket and had exposed wires, not the safest in my opinion. The phone in the room was from 1995 and it had seen its day, sometimes it worked, sometimes not. I hope they are fixing these problems. Otherwise the room was comfortable and relaxing. The thing that bummed me out, was that this hotel has no shuttle service from and to the airport.. it's only 4 miles away from SJC. Come on,a fancy hotel like this, needs to include a shuttle service. Over all, I would stay there again

Room Tip: Don't get one on the 4th Floor (Pool level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Although a luxury hotel it just felt a bit tired. Room was very spacious & bathroom amenities were very good. But I was left feeling a bit underwhelmed. Location was great as it was right near the SJ Convention Centre where my conference was being held. Plus side - very nice bar area with live music.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My stay at this Fairmont has been a comedy of errors and when speaking with the manager with hopes for anything to be offered for improvement, all I received was a lukewarm apology. With no one before me, the checkin took 30 minute because the hotel clerk could not reconcile that a Chris and Christine with the same last name might be the same person and she could not articulate this to me, only that she could not find my reservation. Once in the room, I found more hairs in the bathroom and in towels than should ever be found. The remote control did not work. The room service took 45 min and arrived cold. When I called down for a spare phone charger, I was told to go to 'the mall'. When I explained that I am not from the local the area (hence, the hotel stay) and I did not know where 'the mall' was, the operator sounded surprised. Need I go on? Poor poor service from unqualified people and filthy rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris_suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all of our guest reviews seriously, and yours is no exception. It seems we failed to meet some basic expectations during your visit. I would like to discuss your stay with us in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Joanne Casem
joanne.casem@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#14 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#12 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Property: The Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing