We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with some odd exceptions”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice with some odd exceptions”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed overnight with my spouse while attending a corporate event nearby. Booked a suite (well in advance) and got to the room to be welcomed by a bottle of champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries and welcome card....for another couple celebrating their anniversary. Repeated calls to the front desk and guest services went unanswered. We dropped by the front desk on our way out to let them know of the mistake and was curtly told that someone would be by to pick up the champagne, etc. So much for good karma. On the way back to the room later that night (we were in the neighboring building which requires your room card to enter, etc), greeted by a group of guys (not guests I took it) hanging out in the lobby with the cleaning crew, with a couple of their bikes laying on their side. Ugh, really? Is this the Super 8 in Hayward or the Fairmont in San Jose? The suite was spacious although not alot of character. All told, an okay experience with some real weird vibes as described above. I have been to other Fairmonts that I will return to: this is probably not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiribati88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    701
    315
    145
    92
See reviews for
353
349
126
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this Fairmont hotel. The location is outstanding. Great access to key locations in Sunnyvale, San Jose, etc. The hotel is established but well maintained. Staff is excellent. Rooms sizes are outstanding, although certain elements like the bathrooms are showing their age. Very clean, just dated. Beds are fantastic. Great food and a really nice bar area for meeting folks. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank es_in_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

A very nice place to stay while in San Jose. We were in town for a hockey game and were not dissapointed. I have stayed here a few times this year and each experience beats the last. The hotel has two towers - the best rooms are in the tower adjacent to the building (not the main). However, the rooms are fine either way.

This trip Christmas in the park was underway right outside the hotel, a kind of public arcade that runs for a few blocks in San Jose. Definitely a must for families. Everything nearby is an easy walk and it feels safe around the hotel. I will be coming back early next yeasr.

Room Tip: Try the new tower - get a room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband has spent almost three weeks at this hotel -- I was there for a night and left at 5:30 a.m. to get to the airport.

Big room - perfect for one -- fine for two.

Nice view of San Jose ( however, that isn't that great to look at anyway)

Beautiful bathroom with good amenities. Separate area for makeup and coffee

Quiet.

All worked.

Room Tip: One bit of advice -- if you are leaving in the early morning --make sure you stay in the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was my second stay at the Fairmont and once again it was great. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown San Jose, close to a variety of restaurants, bars, and attractions for the entire family. Hotel staff was friendly and everything from check-in to check-out was smooth. The hotel food is delicious and if you like a hotel bar with great atmosphere, the Fairmont's central bar is fabulous (though service can be slow at times). I would definitely recommend this hotel to both families and business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammied1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

First of all, I'd like to point out that this is the 2nd Fairmont I've stayed in. The first one was in Singapore. I must say that the Singapore one was much more superior to this one, but.... let's forget that for now.

Secondly, I wrote this review as a new visitor to San Jose (and US, in general).

The hotel was located at what appeared to be San Jose's Central Business District, with easy access to the major freeways and highways. I lost track of all the different freeways and highways within 5-min drive from the hotel. There was US-101 (always packed at peak hours, AVOID AT ALL COST!), CA-87 (my favourite to drive from San Jose to Sunnyvale or Palo Alto during peak hours). Then there was... I-280, I think. Or was it I-680? I can't remember. Whatever it was that eventually connects to I-5 to go to San Diego.

The room I stayed in was a bigger room with separate lounge, since I was traveling with my family. It was HUGE. Being a tea-drinker rather than coffee, I also appreciated the fact that I could get a kettle to boil water in addition to the usual coffee maker/dripper.

There were quite a few restaurants and eateries within 15-min walk from the hotel (my favourite being Hanuman Thai restaurant, and Johnny Rockets diner), as well as a Safeway supermarket. Oh, and there's a 12-screen cinema virtually across the street.

The biggest downside of this hotel, for me anyway, is the sport and health facilities. The gym was poorly equipped, and the pool was outdoor. The other thing was, the first two days of my stay there (or could be three?), the elevators took an awful long time resulting in long queues at the lobby.

Room Tip: Half price parking for hybrid cars ($13 rather than the usual $26).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

As UK visitors when we travel in the States we stay extensively at Fairmont Hotels. This one fell below the usual standard. We were greeted on arrival in a very lukewarm way and on departure, despite requests for an itemised bill we were continually delivered a "mantra" that it was all "done". With some persistence we eventually received an itemised bill only to find that we had been overcharged $73. That said, we had a wonderful suite, had breakfast served in our room and room service was exemplary. In addition, after our visit we were sent a guest questionnaire. We expressed our concerns. There was an immediate response which was extremely impressive and we have no doubt that this Fairmont will correct the rather disappointing experience we had. On a travel note, as far as overseas visitors are concerned, this is a hotel which is mainly addressed to the Silicon Valley market. It is superbly located but it is not worth venturing far from the hotel at night. There is however a rather interesting restaurant nearby called Gordon Bierreich Brewery Restaurant. Please see our review of it. Fairmonts always seek to deliver. However, we have read a number of other reviews on Trip Advisor which would seem to indicate that the reception/guest experience needs to be improved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing