We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to look at and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
“Lovely to look at and comfortable”
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Usually my stay is quite short in duration, so I cannot comment on the surrounding area. I can say that I have always experienced great service with a smile. I find the rooms spacious compared to most places; and, the beds and pillows are very comfortable. I've never had a problem with noise, so I always sleep well here. The lobby is very grand and is beautifully decorated for the holidays. I love the complimentary cookies. Van service to the airport is excellent, too. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazy4equines12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    651
    446
    216
    99
See reviews for
297
259
213
1,134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

From the moment I stepped into their beautiful lobby, I knew it would be a great experience. I was there for a business meeting at the hotel. My room was near perfect. Overall, my experience was pleasant and I would return to this location if I am again on a business or personal trip to San Jose!

Pros: multiple food options on site, friendly staff, well placed meeting rooms, updated amenities in the sleeping rooms, overall good food quality, airport shuttle was timely, plenty of lunch time restaurants to walk to

Cons: cost of parking, location of courtesy phones in the meeting room areas, lack of dinner time restaurants within walking distance, lack of shuttle in a "5 mile radius"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texymexy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear texymexy16,

On behalf of the Doubletree Hotel San Jose, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. Every comment that is posted is taken into consideration and we love to hear how we can become a better hotel in our guests’ eyes.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in delivering a friendly and welcoming staff, clean rooms, delicious meals, and more.

We are sorry you were unsatisfied with our surroundings, such as restaurants and shuttles. We hope you informed our parking staff that you were interesting in nearby entertainment so they could update you with what is around and call you a cab. We try our best to satisfy every guests needs, the greatest way possible.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Staff were extremely friendly. The shuttle to/from airport is very accessible and timely.

I was there for a convention and there were shuttle buses provided to take us downtown. I'm not sure if the hotel provided these or someone else, but they were very useful.

The hotel lobby was very clean and inviting. My room was in great condition.

The only cons were:

1)My room key (card) was demagnetized both days that I was there. That was annoying having to walk all the way up to my room on sixth floor, not being able to get in, and then walking all the way back to front desk (twice!). I was told that having the key next to a cell phone will do this, but they need to find a new key technology because cell phones are everywhere nowadays.

2) Location is extremely convenient for airport (right across the street), but not good for downtown San Jose. I walked one day from hotel to the trolley and it was a bit of a hike. I can see where most people would not want to do this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Chad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear 123Chad123,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our hotel.

We are very pleased that you experienced our friendly staff and that the hotel shuttle service provided the services to your satisfaction.

We do understand your frustration with your room key. De-magnification of magnetic stripped cards by cell phones does need to be fixed through new technology. We are looking for resolution as it relates to our hotel product and hope to eliminate this issue in the near future.

We understand downtown San Jose is not as close as preferred, but our hotel is best known for the convenience of the airport. Additionally, we are within walking distance to the Light-rail transit system that whisks you straight downtown which is only minutes away; plus you don’t need to find parking in the downtown area.

Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We hope you return for another visit soon!

Sincerely,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Last stayed here in Dec 2009 and was looking forward to the great breakfast buffet with omelets, fresh breads, bagels, lox, etc.
I was very disappointed to find that this has been significantly scaled back to a shadow of what it was. Only scrambled eggs, potatoes, dry cereal, bacon/sausage, fruit/ yogurt. Bread is only a choice of white or wheat slices -not even muffins. Forget about the juice, too. Too understaffed on a Tuesday to get a coffee.
Sushi bar food is expensive and second rate.
Room service food was very good.
Rooms are aging for the price point of this hotel. Management response to other reviews on this site state that all rooms have a flat screen 37" HD TV is not true. Mine has an old 26" std tube TV.
All hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
in room coffee is good and bed is comfortable.
Internet service works well.
Oddly, housekeeping only supplied one hand towel on multiple days.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkokieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear SkokieTraveller,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to review our hotel. We encourage every guest to write a review, so we can fix any problems our guests’ may have experienced during their visit.

We are sorry to learn your stay with us was disappointing. Based on customer feedback, we made changes to our buffet to make it quick, affordable at $10 versus $18 and provide many of the essential breakfast foods that our guests desire. We have a full breakfast menu at Sprigs, as an alternative to the buffet.

The new flat screen TV installation period is mid November through Dec 7, we should have specified those dates for clarification.

We are pleased to see that our hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We try our best to satisfy every guest’s needs. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you will return in the future to see our newly updated rooms.

Thank you,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This hotel was very nice. It had everything you could ask for. It was a bit expensive but that's expected in Cali. Nothing out of the ordinary to report but no complaints. The Shuttle drive from the airport was very friendly.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MilColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great hotel experience! Traveling on business can be stressful but at the San Jose double Tree I felt comfy and cozy. The warm chocolate chip cookie I received from the check in staff, started it all. I felt special, happy. That set the tone for my stay, clean facilities, soft comfy bed, quiet, staff with genuine smiles; nice hotel. I slept great. The food was very good as well. All in all a great stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2010

hotel rooms are great and the staff are very nice...great location and great restaurants located inside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tired_travel_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#11 of 75 in San Jose
340 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,129 reviews
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing