We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out for Parking Fees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The only incident that made this trip not as pleasant as it could have been were the parking fees. When I booked the hotel I was not notified that parking fees are $18 a day for self parking! When I checked in I was not notified of the parking fees. So when I checked out and was finally notified of the $36 charge to my credit card for parking for 2 days I was shocked. Inform your guests, we hate surprise charges.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumper03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

Checked in: Lights in the Bathroom were burt out...you would think that the maid service would have reported it...called maintenance: nine (9) hours later and three phone calls they were finally changed....Maid cleaned up room, and never gave us towels...after four (4) phonecall down to the front desk I couldn't handle it....I went down in person....no one would help me, and the two "supervisors" behind the reception desk blamed someone else....finally after I made a scene, some disgrunteled employee gave me towels....never, never again......and I usually stay at Doubletrees, I will never again......for a few towels they lost a customer for life.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2009

Dear DanKruse

Thank you for expressing your concerns relating to your recent stay at our hotel.

We will not offer any excuses and you should never feel frustrated during or after your stay at one of our hotels. The reality of the situation was that we had a large water polo citywide convention in the hotel during your stay and the hotel was impacted by several requests ie., huge demand of extra towels, bath products, toilet un-clogs, etc.
beyond our original expectations which directly impacted your experience. You suffered and we sincerely apologies and do not want to loose you has a future guest.

We will reach out to you to discuss the circumstances of your stay and work to gain your trust in our hotel and services in the future.

Thank you again for bringing it to our attention.

Kind regards,

Carrie McAllen, Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Everything at the Trane Advanced Energy Forum went smoothly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We enjoyed our very brief stay in San Jose and at the Doubletree Hotel. We were warmly greeted by the staff and found the accommodations to be very nice. The location was conveniently located and we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Fantastic staff, good location, great rooms...not much more a traveler can ask of a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADashFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed here twice over the last year and have enjoyed both trips. A good full-service hotel near the San Jose Airport. I enjoyed the several good restaurants on property ranging from sushi to steak. the hotel shuttle to the airport starts at 4.30 am for those 6 am flights and takes only 5 minutes to the terminal.

The hotel is large and has a good fitness club and swimming pool area. The lobby bar is always lively and the sushi bar attached serves a good choice of fresh sushi. The bar staff are all friendly and seem eager to please.

The only knock is the check in process, which both times seemed like rush hour. Too many guests checking in and too few employees working the desk. They are courteous and do their jobs well, but they need more help to speed the process.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iacxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

The rooms were nice because I have two little ones under 3 and there was room for them to play. When I called house keeping they were quick about bring up the baby's crib. The hotel was nice, clean, and the staff very friendly. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierraz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,257 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,172 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $140 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing