We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service at the SJ DoubleTree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Rodeo, United States
1 review
“Super Service at the SJ DoubleTree”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

From check-in to check-out, the staff at the San Jose DoubleTree are superb! Friendly, helpful, courteous and very willing to go the extra step to help out. From a bottle of water at check-in, to modifying the menu, changing out the pillows ... excellence in service, attitude and efficiency.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Judith P,

Your comments about your stay at our hotel made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for taking to time let us know about your positive experience. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in for your future stays in the Silicon Valley.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    654
    446
    216
    99
See reviews for
297
259
213
1,137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My suite was very spacious and clean. Awesome big, bathtub. Bed was super comfortable, happy with staff and helpfulness. Bar was nice too. Cookies are awesome. Would have liked kitchen to have had some supplies but not a big deal since my stay was short. No complaints!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Shannon N,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy you were pleased with our guestrooms and amazing team. We appreciate your positive feedback. Personally, I enjoy sharing these experiences with our team members. We look forward to your future stay with us and hope you are able to enjoy our accommodations for a longer stay.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fontaine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Call me cheap or old fashion, yet if I'm paying $300/night for a hotel I would expect something exceptional. This was a good Hotel although I am just as comfortable staying at the Hampton in Milpitas with free WiFi and Breakfast. The cleaning staff and room service staff was friendly. The restaraunt staff could have been more friendly for the price you pay. The pillows were way too soft as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Rodney,

Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. We are glad you enjoyed the service of our team members, and I will be sure to pass along the opportunities as well.

Also, we do offer other pillow offerings for our guest so please let me know when your next trip might be. We would be happy to provide other pillows for your stay.

We all look forward to seeing you back for your next stay.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great location next to the airport. Free airport shuttle so you dont have to rent a car which saves on the hotel parking expense too. Breakfast is very expensive and the buffet is a few items. Room quality is acceptable - some highway noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff at the front desk, in the restaurant and particularly at the coffee dock beside the restaurant are great. Very friendly, learned my name quickly and remembered my patterns (like knowing what coffee I'd order and putting it on while I was standing in the queue). Always willing and trying to go the extra mile to deliver great service.

On the downside, the cleaning staff clearly aren't managed or motivated properly. I stayed there on 9 separate trips over two months, and rooms were consistently dirty, hallways were dirty, etc. To give two examples, I regularly found litter in the closets in my room and I regularly would get up in the morning and see that the room service tray I'd left outside my door 12 hours previously was still there, uncollected.

Small fixes in the cleaning staff team could really make a difference in this hotel. Whoever is managing them needs to learn some lessons from those who are managing the front of house staff.

Prices were high, but that's standard for all hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter at night (as the other rooms face the highway), though may be nois...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't see any environmentally friendly practices. For example, nothing like Starwood's "Green Choices" program where you can get points / restaurant credit for not getting your room cleaned daily.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear krayZpaving,

Thank you for taking time out of your travels to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are so pleased to see you really enjoyed our stay and appreciated our efforts from our Front Desk staff. We strive to provide a great service to each of our guests and it looks as if we did just that.

We apologize for the lack of cleanliness in your room and hallway. Your review has been forwarded to the Director of Housekeeping to ensure this issue is resolved ASAP.

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I don't know why I did not do this before, this park and fly at the double tree was a great experience they were nice and print and I didn't have to wait at all and my car was right out front for me when I got back. I will definitely use them again ,it's great for short-term trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Lori C.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are excited to see you enjoyed you time with us. We have a great amount of special offers and we are glad you were able to take advantage of our "Park and Fly" package. With complimentary parking and in-room wifi, it's a great way to book a room without having to deal with any extra fees when you check-in.

Again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Doubletree offers a good value for business trips in San Jose. Close to the San Jose Airport and major highways, access is convenient. On property restaurants and room service offer organic ingredients, efficient services and a variety of choices from sushi to heavier fare like pork chops. Staff is pleasant and property is well maintained. Close to walking trails for exercise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank TravelerGal0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear TravelerGal0re,

Thank you for taking time out of your business travels to review our hotel.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us in San Jose, CA. Our proximity to San Jose Airport and freeways is one of our many great amenities, and we are happy to see it was convenient for you. We are also excited to see you were able to take advantage of our on-property dining outlets. With 6 different outlets to choose from, there is something for everyone.

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#11 of 75 in San Jose
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,131 reviews
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,257 reviews
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing