We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great treatment”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Came for a business trip after a friend recommended. Service was more than great, fast and accurate. The room is VERY spacious, well design and clean. The hotel is placed a bit far from down town, yet very close to the airport and have great access to 101.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Liron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    663
    454
    221
    108
See reviews for
311
265
215
1,152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Cost to stay = $300.00 Cost to park = $25.00 Cost for Internet = $10.00 X 2 yes they charged us both for internet, If your paying this much for and average room the Internet should be complementary. We were going to a concert and they did not offer a shuttle. Ask about a Taxi and they said not need to order one they always have on stand by. NOT.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

excellent location when flying out of SJC. Executive level rooms not very luxurious and, at least in our room, air conditioning not effective. Executive lounge is a joke - at least on saturday it is just an open area with a few soft drinks and coffee. Hotel has a good restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

As I am writing this review now, I am still a guest here at the Doubletree. I am here for a conference in Santa Clara. The hotel's Wifi gets ZERO bandwidth at this time (around 10pm-12am) every night. I have been here two nights already. The hotel even had two Wifi systems, and NEITHER works. The connection was so poor, that I couldn't even connect to my corporate email Exchange Server using Outlook, email is the lowest bandwidth-consuming workload! Are you kidding me, this is a hotel right in the heart of the Silicon Valley, and not willing to invest in fundamental tech feature such as better Wifi bandwidth? High tech folks traveling to SV, STAY AWAY from the Doubletree!! It's not worth it. "Tech Support" was worthless...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT4Trojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
JT4Trojan

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback about the speed and accessibility of our wireless internet service. We’re very sorry that it wasn’t working well during your stay. We’re currently updating the wireless system and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Matthew Ives
Director of Front Desk
Matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Sunnyvale, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The complaints we have about this place is the valet parking, bellman, and heater. Valet people seemed judgmental. We waited over an hour for our luggage. We called twice to get our luggage in hope to make it on time for dinner reservations. Still nothing so we went downstairs to get our own luggage. We also experienced issue with the heater in the room. We called down again. The maintenance guy showed up after 30minutes. He was very friendly. As for the room is concern, it was nice and clean. Bathroom too. I’ll have to admit, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable (like the Marriott’s if you know what I mean). Feels like Heaven! Last, I found exiting the hotel an inconvenience. Maybe have visible exit signs, unless we missed it? Will we stay here again, maybe not…

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel, service and accommodation. Good price for a business trip; but a bit pricey for a vacation. Wish there had been a microwave in the room. No way to heat food or coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A professional organization I am affiliated with had a meeting here in June 2013 and I never got around to commenting on our accommodations. I had stayed here in the early 1990s when this was a Red Lion Hotel.....and frankly, it was better as a Red Lion.

From what I recall the rooms were very average...what you might find at a Courtyard by Marriott rather than a full-service hotel such as the DoubleTree. Some of the wallpaper was peeling in my room and the shower/bathroom space was outdated and small. The halls were similarly outdated and in need of repair. The bed was average but I got a decent nights sleep. The location is kind of odd and I found it frustrating that there were no vending machines in case you arrived late (the restaurants closed early in my opinion) and didn't want to eat at the Denny's which is a good 15 - 20 minute walk. The strip mall of restaurants from the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott across the street closed early and the Chevron gas station mini-mart closed at 9pm. You are basically hosed if you don't buy snacks from somewhere else earlier in the day. The ladies at the front desk were nice, some of the other employees were ambivalent (the concierge crew for example).

The meeting rooms were fine and the breakfast for our group was healthy and tasty. The ladies at the front desk gave me extra cookies when I was bold enough to ask....I appreciated that because their cookies are awesome! It seemed like there was a lot more going on here in the 1990s (was it 1993 or 1994) when I last stayed here and the rooms seemed more kept up?

Anyway, my brother's company has a relationship with them and as long as my Dad and Stepmom are able to travel, this is where they stay and its fine for both of them. For business purposes, however, there are much better hotels in the immediate area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Michael S,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate your business and the feedback you provided. I'm disappointed that you felt your experience was not up to par. Our goal is your 100% satisfaction and I'm sorry that we failed to achieve this in your visit. I do appreciate your comments as it gives us an opportunity to improve upon our quality and services.

If you are back in the area in the future, feel free to reach out to me directly. I would be happy to handle your reservation personally, to ensure you are provided with the exceptional stay you deserve.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
Matthew.Ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,157 reviews
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing