We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park and Fly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Glen Ellen, CA
1 review
“Park and Fly”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of this hotel. Our primary focus when staying at an airport hotel is the quality of the room. This includes cleanliness, efficiency and noise level of the air conditioner, and comfort of the bed. The Doubletree delivered on all that and more. The other primary consideration is the airport shuttle. This one ran every 15 minutes as opposed to most that run every half hour. The hotel was much larger than we expected. There are two restaurants and a decent looking bar. We had already eaten dinner so I only tried the breakfast place. The buffet selections did not look great so I ordered off the menu. Also not a lot of choices, but my Denver scramble was excellent. This will be our primary choice when flying out of San Jose Airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GlenEllentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
GlenEllentraveler,

Thank you so much for positive comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Safe Travels,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    657
    449
    219
    102
See reviews for
302
261
214
1,142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Not my best experience. Luke warm water to bathe in. A snippy receptionist. My coworkers placed a call for help that was never answered. The would love to have you think they are top of the line as long as they don't have to exert any effort to prove it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Kathy P,

Thank you for feedback about your stay. I look forward to talk more over email about your stay. This is not the standard we have set for our team and I personal look forward to assisting you with your concerns. We hope to welcome you back on future stays.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operation
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was the top bidder at a charity event on this one night stay at the Double Tree, which included credit for $75 for dinner at the hotel. It was a wonderful stay. The hotel is beautiful and the service was excellent. The dinner and service was excellent, however, it was expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Susan R,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your Dinner in Spencer's and your stay with us. Personal, Spencer's is one of my favorite places to eat in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, South Dakota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room was a decent size and beds were comfortable. The maid didn't come the second day we were there? We were a little late leaving the room but were out of there by 12. I don't travel too much the last couple years so maybe this isnt unussual, but I have never been charged to park my car at the hotel I was staying at. Beings so I thought charging me $19 a night to park was ridiculous. This is to park in a lot that is not close to the front doors. Then when I get to the room I pay $14.95 for internet access for 3 days to find out it is only good for one device. Just too bad about the extra charges. $120 a night for a regular double room is not cheap. Didn't expect to have to pay another $72 for things I ussually get for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Angie L,

Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. I apologize for your housekeeping experince. I will be sure to follow with our housekeeping manager to ensure this does not happen during future stays with us.

At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better.

Yours in Service,
Matthew L. Ives
Director of Front Office Operations
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very comfortable hotel that offers value for money. The staff is very helpful and goes out of their way to make your stay an unforgettable one. Communication is also very good with free Wi-Fi internet access. Good and quiet location conducive to business or leisure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Spencers was the highlight of the trip. Wonderful restaurant for lunch. The dinner portions (and a la carte nature) was less desireable, but tasty nonetheless. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The but...... comes in for the location of the hot tub. Rather than a secluded area, the hot tub is located directly beneath the large windows of the public hallway connecting the front lobby with the elevators. (NOT a private location at all) DoubleTree may want to think about putting some privacy shades over these windows to allow hot tub users some privacy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've stayed at this location for work maybe 8 times over the last 2 years and I would summarize all the stays the same: not bad enough to move further away from work and not good enough to ever be excited about staying again. The bottom line is the hotel is very old and never been through a full renovation from what I can tell. Everything is perfectly serviceable, but if you are a fan of the Wynn in Vegas and the Hyatt everywhere else, staying here is going to feel dirty, dark and uncomfortable. For example, I would not feel comfortable doing sit ups or pushups on the floor in the rooms. Maybe an odd/stupid point to make, but it is hard to summarize what I mean by "serviceable" -- it isn't disgusting and isn't crystal clean and new... it's right in the middle. If this kind of thing doesn't bother you at all, you really can't beat the location and compounded with the kind of traffic you run into in SJC, the closer you can get to work the better. The service staff and Spriggs for breakfast are always friendly and good, no issues there. If you are traveling for work, it is a great fit. If you are traveling for pleasure though, I can't imagine why you would stay here; the facilities are really geared towards business travelers getting in/out and not for pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Riyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#11 of 75 in San Jose
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing