We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Its a hotel near the airport. Big beds but lots of road noise from the highway.

The tap water tastes off and has for years. The food is just better than mediocre. If only the prices matched.

There is not really any safe place to just let your kids run around outside either.

There is not a lot of good food nearby unless you have a car.

Room Tip: If the constant white noise of the highway will annoy you try to get a room opposite of the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located near airport and Rte 101, this is a beautiful hotel . Reception service quick and helpful. Elevators convenient to Parking Lot. There is a charge for parking, but the room rates are reasonable which balances it out. Good buffet breakfast for reasonable price. On site restaurant which we didn't try but it got good reviews. My only complaint is that a room service food tray was sitting in out hallway for most of the day. You'd think that cleaning staff , who were around, would have removed it. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenorerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Double Tree is one of the famous Hotels in San Jose , where many business events takes place in.
I have stayed for 5 nights in it , rooms are very large with large LCDs , but outdated decoration I'd say.

the breakfast has very limited choice, but good quality " no cheese in breakfast for the first time in my life "
The hotel is expensive but very close to San Jose Airport

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haitham-Elsaadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful. Its a little pricy at the different restaurants onsite, but there are plenty of eatieries within about a 3 block walking distance. Parking when we go is negotiated at a lower rate than their normal daily rate, and a ticket is given to us at the main desk for in/out privilages. Refrigerator and Microwaves have been available in the past for an extra charge - but we stay a week and bring our own. The heated pool and spa is were I love to wind down after a day of convention classes. Staff is really good about restocking the towels at poolside - if out just request them. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DruidSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My company negotiated a rate with this hotel for it's consultants. What a mistake. the rate was supposed to include a refrigerator, parking, and a microwave. It's really nice to find out each week that your parking pass has been revoked after 1 day. especially at $19/day.. This place is a scam, in need of a remodel, and totally disorganized. $27 for a cheeseburger? yeah, that's our price! What a mess of a 'hotel'. Hopefully, I can get out of this terrible place. Whatever you do DON't stay at this ripoff trash house.

Room Tip: Stay in Your Car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

RoadWarrior58,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren't clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.

Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Been stayin here since 2010 and it seems service and amenities are lacking with the exception of the breakfast staff who were very accomodating. Food quality was ok for limited menu on Super Bowl Sunday

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billhowa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

During the busy holiday period when parking is a challenge - consider this great option. Stay the night and park your car for upto 5 days. The service to the airport is fast and timely. The hotel rooms are great and the hotel is kept clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atamrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,290 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#11 of 75 in San Jose
1,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $129 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing