We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but no free wireless in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but no free wireless in rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Doubletree in San Jose is a nice hotel, nice rooms, beds, TV etc. A few things I didn't like was the fact that there was no free wireless internet in the rooms, you actually had to go to the lobby. This is silicon valley, get with the program Doubletree. The food at this hotel is good but very expensive, $3.00 for an egg, $4.00 for a grapefruit, and $20 for a beer and some chicken wings. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area. Overall a nice stay, nice pool but if you want to have more people in the hotel restaurants lower the prices!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiopuyssegur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear claudiopuyssegur,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate each of our guests comments and use them to better our hotel and staff.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose. It pleases us to hear you were satisfied with our rooms, bed, TV, etc. We strive to make our guests feel as much at home and comfortable as possible.

We are sorry to hear you did not agree with our pricing on some items in the hotel. We do have great specials on our website to help our guests with prices. One package, for example, is called our “Free of Fees” Package, which would solve the issue of in-room internet charges. This package, not only includes your in-room internet, but also includes your standard guestroom and complimentary overnight parking.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    641
    437
    209
    94
See reviews for
292
254
213
1,103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I think it is absolutely ridiculous to charge 18/day for parking if you are a guest! It is one thing to charge if someone is parking at your hotel and grabbing the shuttle for the nearby airport. But, this is outrageous! I'm complaining to Priceline and complain about deceptive practices.

Room Tip: Face the front parking lot. The freeway side is VERY noisy. You will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Jkchen1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. We see you had an issue with our parking charges and we are sorry to hear about this. Unfortunately, being so close to the airport we have no choice but to charge for parking. If we did not, there would be no parking for our guests. We do have great packages for those who are staying with us; one in particular is called our “Free of Fees” Package. This package includes one standard guestroom, complimentary overnight parking, and complimentary in-room high-speed internet. Please feel free to look into this package, along with many others, on our DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose website.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future and you can take advantage of our great hotel specials!

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Typical convention hotel. Overpriced. Loud jets roared overhead, no public transport, staff incompetent. I suggest an alternative hotel outside the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabears-mv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Dabears-mv81,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are sorry you felt our hotel did not live up to your expectations with our rate, noise level, and staff. We have great packages on our website that help lower our rate for our guests, we encourage everyone to take a look and find a package that works best for you.

We are sorry to see you did not take advantage of our public transportation around our area in San Jose. We have a VTA stop right across the street from our hotel, which takes you right into downtown San Jose. Next time, please feel free to ask our Concierge of the VTA times, along with other transportation options.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take each comment into account so we can become the best that we can be. We hope to see you again in the near future and we can change your view of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The late night younger brunette female working the desk wasn't friendly, which was a bummer considering we had driven 6 hours to get here. It would have made our day if we were greeted kindly. Perhaps she was having a bad day but you're in the service industry, suck it up and leave it outside of work.

Room was spacious. The mattress is comfortable but the sheets used felt rough and stiff. Pillows were comfortable. We needed to get some rest and it was a quiet Sunday night. I couldn't hear my neighbors. The carpet is dark but I could still see stains, a steam treatment is necessary- bring slippers- don't walk barefoot.

It's conveniently located off the freeway and the building is old but well kept. It did it's job but we won't be back at this particular location- service sucks, at least the graveyard shift crew.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinacology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Tinacolony,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate each and every comment.

We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us in San Jose. We are sorry to hear our front desk agent was not friendly to you. We completely agree that each employee should separate their work life and personal life and treat our guests with the kindness and sincerity. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Front Office Operations to ensure this issue is resolved ASAP.

We are glad to see you thought our rooms were spacious, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. We are sorry to hear you felt our sheets were rough and carpet stained. I have informed our Director of Housekeeping of your comments and these issues will be addressed.

Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we appreciate your honesty. We strive to be the best we can and the only way we can do that is if we know where our weaknesses are. We hope to see you again in the near future so we can show your our improvements.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

I used the Priceline website to book this hotel for this past weekend for 2 nights. I had been to the hotel before for other events but this was the first time I was staying at the hotel. The lobby is really nice and the hotel is HUGE! I checked in on Friday evening, around 7pm, and had to wait in line for about 10 mins to do so. The lady who checked me in was nice, she seemed like she was preoccupied with something, but check in went smooth (they give you a cookie when you check in! ) until she told me about the $18 per day parking fee to SELF PARK your car! WTH? Priceline did not mention anything about a parking fee, $18 per night no less. I gave her my credit card to put the parking fee on, but was surprised that it's so expensive seeing as how friends of ours were staying at a hotel about a mile away and did not pay anything to park there. It's probably because they are really close to the San Jose airport, but still, $18 per day???

As I mentioned before, the hotel itself is HUGE! We did not eat in any of the restaurants or go down to the bar, but from what I saw when we checked in, they were pretty busy. They had a pretty big gift shop and TV monitor that lists the flight schedules at the SJC Airport which is nice if you're flying.

The room we stayed in was ok, pretty average: two double beds, a chair with ottoman, desk and chair, flat screen tv, and a balcony. There were two sinks, one in the vanity area outside of the bathroom, and one in the bathroom, which is nice when there are two people trying to get ready in the morning. The room could use some updating, especially in the bathroom and vanity area. The shower/tub was your average hotel room shower/tub, though some of the grout was chipping around the base of the tub. The toilet was weird- I was looking for handle to flush, but instead there are two buttons on top which you're supposed to push.

The hotel shampoo, conditioner, soap, and lotion were the brand Crabtree and Evelyn, and I love their products! I forgot my deodorant so I asked the front desk to have some brought up, and along with it the housekeeping lady brought extra lotion, conditioner, shampoo and soap which I took home!

My bf didn't get a good night's rest because he didn't like the mattress. He woke up with a sore back because he said it was too soft. I guess our mattress at home is softer, but the bed did not bother me, I slept pretty well!

Overall, with the exception of the parking situation, our stay was good. I would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Kristie419,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the details you have written to us, this way we are 100% able to fix any issues you had.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us in San Jose and would recommend us to other travelers. We are happy to see you were pleased with your check-in and our front desk agent was friendly to you. We are sorry she seemed preoccupied; we have informed our Director of Front Office Operation to address this issue. We are also very happy to see you enjoyed our room, Crabtree and Evelyn products, and Sweet Dreams mattress.

We understand you were unhappy with our parking fees. Unfortunately, being so close to the airport we must charge for parking or else our guests would not have any parking at all! We do have great packages on our website that include our standard guest bedroom, complimentary parking, and complimentary in-room wireless internet. Please feel free to check it our, along with many other great packages.

Again, thank you for the review; we appreciate each and every comment from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night for business. The hotel was super convenient as it was very close to the airport. There was no service with a smile. The people who worked at the hotel didn't greet us or look at us unless we started talking with them first. Our room was in need of work. The bathroom door had a big burn mark and it looked like a dog had tried to scratch its way out. We had breakfast and lunch which were just okay. Could not find the concierge to get information on dinner suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queentooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Queentooty,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback so we can improve any weak area’s we have.

We are sorry to hear our employees did not greet you with a warm smile and a kind heart. Conrad Hilton said “Our vision is to fill the earth with the light and warmth of hospitality, by being the first choice of hotel guests, team members, and owners alike”. If our team members are not sharing the warmth of hospitality with our guests, then we are not doing our jobs. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Front Office Operations, so we can fix this issue immediately.

We are also so sorry to hear you felt the room you stayed in needed work. If you can please share with us the room in which you stayed, in a private message, we would gladly take care of this issue and replace the door.

Again, we are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us in San Jose. We hope you come back in the near future and we can change your bad experience into a great memory.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I picked this hotel on Priceline which gave me a really good deal for two nights. The hotel is very clean, quiet and it has just about everything you need. The only down side is its about 10 minutes or a $20 cab ride from downtown and the night life.
I also did not like that they charge $18 a day for parking.
If u r looking for a hotel close enough to the airport and downtown I would still recommend the doubletree!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaisg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Deltaisg21,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are happy to see you felt our property was very clean, quiet, and has plenty of amenities.

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the distance from our hotel to downtown. Next time, please talk to our concierge about restaurants near by and less expensive ways to get to downtown. For example, VTA has a pick up stop less than a block away from us that will drop you off right downtown for only $2!

We are glad to see you would recommend the DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose and we look forward to the next time you stay with us!

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#15 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Place, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing