We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“011100110011 - Silicon Valley Decor - Cool!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“011100110011 - Silicon Valley Decor - Cool!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

One night here was enough before my eyes got over the 70's decor (it was new decor too) - the Hotel has a retro style to it which is pretty cute.

Unfortunately the aircon unit in my room had not been replaced since 1972 so it was quite a din until I moved rooms.

Certainly a convenient place to stay - right near the tech museum.

Onto my pro's and con's

Con's
Aircon needs upgrading, Beds average.

Pro's
Great for tour groups or families. Pretty funky environment.

I 'could' be back.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank SteveAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    241
    160
    74
    28
See reviews for
145
84
38
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

I booked this stay for a two day business trip. Having stayed at several other Crowne Plaza's in the past, I thought I knew what to expect.

First of all, this hotel does not have a concierge level for "Platinum" members of Priority Club. Not a big deal, as they have a wine and cheese hour in the main lobby every night (at least the nights I was there). They also have a buffet continental breakfast that isn't too bad as well.

The hotel's decor and theming was interesting... kind of a retro 60's theme. This was a nice change of scenery. The room also had an iPod docking station stereo and a rather large flat panel tv - nice plus! This is where the "not bad" comments end...

I was lucky enough to receive turn-down service my first night - receiving two bottles of water and two chocolates. Unfortunately, the second night, I was not feeling too well and needed water to drink. I called and was told they were short staffed and weren't providing that service that night. I went to the vending machine on my floor (only have vending on floors 2,4,6 and 8). Unfortunately, the water was empty... I went down to the next floor and found it was empty as well. This was the story for the rest of the vending machines on the rest of the floors. Finally, on the 2nd floor, I received a bottle of Sprite when I pushed the water button.

I checked the hotel directory and found that there was a "sundry" shop on the first floor as indicated by a map. I went there and found the shop didn't exist...

Other than this unfortunate experience, the rest of my stay was below my regular standard for a Crowne Plaza. I am a huge fan of Crowne Plaza and liked the decor and ambiance of this particular one and, if given the chance, may try it again. I'm not going to rush to get there, though...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank briguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for the San Jose Grand Prix. Couldn't have a better location, view of the race track from room. Hospitality suite was a kick with the staff. Fun bar downstairs with an outside patio. Cleaning staff put up with our bunch with grace.
Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

A special thank you to the Crown Plaza Suites in San Jose, Ca. The staff was very accommidating. The new renovations are superb. Home away from home during the San Jose Grand Prix 2007. We will be back next year and definitley will refer freinds to stay at this hotel in the future.
P.S. The elevator music rocks!

Thank You,

Joe Haslemann
San Jose, Ca

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bedcre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

I selected this hotel because of its proximity to the convention center just across the street. The experience exceeded my expections. Although a renovation is in progress, the staff made extra efforts to make sure we weren't inconvenienced.

The renovation of the guest rooms and hallways had just been completed. Very nice touches with fresh, vibrant colors like burgundy and chartreuse. The hotel had a fun modern/retro look.

There was some construction going on in the lobby during the day. However, in the evening everything was neat and easy to pass through. The general manager hosted a wine hour in the lobby, pouring several nice wines and chatting with us about the progress of the renovation.

The hotel's location was great. We could walk to a number of restaurants and cafes, as well as the convention center. The parking was reasonably priced and convenient.

  • Liked — innovative decor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

I was uncertain of spending a whole week at the Crowne Plaza for a recent convention in San Jose. So, I am happy to report that the Crowne Plaza is very nice. The rooms were clean, the beds are very comfortable, the new updated decor is fun and even though the hotel was fully booked, the nights were quiet and restful. The few things we encountered that needed attention were always resolved in a very timely manner.
The location is perfect for the convention center. Dinning choices are numerous in the area. The hotel common areas are comfortable and inviting.
The one main disappointment is that internet access costs daily. They do supply computers and internet in the lobby but because the hotel was full for the convention, getting to use them was impossible. I am a believer that wireless access should be as much a part as a hotel stay as a bed is. All that said, do not shy away from this property. You will be happy you stayed there.

Helpful?
Thank CFM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

The staff was extremely friendly and out going. I never wanted or needed for anything. The new look of the hotel will be fabulous when it's done. I love the modern appearance, can't wait to come back and see the finished work!

  • Liked — Cross between location and appearance
  • Disliked — There was nothing I could think of
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liasophiaokgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#18 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Address: 282 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113-2003 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Downtown San Jose, Hyatt Place is your choice for uncomplicated travel. A short walk to craft beer and hip dining destinations with our own food options available 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing