We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value & Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've stayed at all the main downtown San Jose hotels and this is one of my favorites. It is not as grandiose as some of the others but you can't beat the value: free breakfast (pretty good), free wifi, large, comfortable rooms, mini fridge, work desk, sectional couch, great beds. Its right in the core downtown area so walking distance to restaurants, SAP center, San Pedro square. Bus and light rail stop right at the hotel.The front desk service is outstanding - they are always very helpful and say "hi" every time you walk in. They don't have room service but you can pick up appetizers, salads, pizzas in the lobby bar area for a very reasonable price. The exercise room is adequate. My only complaint is that the wifi can be flaky at times (but it seems to have improved in the past few weeks).

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We're very happy to hear you liked the service and the amenities we provide here at the Hyatt Place. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 911 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Formerly Holiday Inn, about the only thing that seems to be different is the sign. Arriving, there was a conference with about 500 attendees. The entire entry area was a garage sale. We headed for the exit being told it would be better in a while. Returning 4 hours later, that group was gone replaced by another group of about the same size. We got a room key and left to get dinner. Returning, the parking lot was full (9pm) due to a dance competition next door. Finally in our room, the thermostat had no battery so wouldn't control the AC. Manually turning the AC on got cool air flowing along with a huge noise because the AC unit was defective. We moved to another room.

The folks that helped us move were great - the only thing about this hotel that was positive.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good room, there's a Hilton across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! I apologize if the lobby felt too crowded for you. Thank you for commenting on the service as we try hard to make sure every guest has a good customer service experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are big and nice. That's probably the main quality of that hotel. The rooms are noisy (ventilation?) and the breakfast is terrible. There is no lounge also. It is really meant for you to go up to your room and leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mounir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your nice review on our guest rooms. I apologize if the rest of your experience was anything less than positive. Please know that we welcome your feedback as we are always trying to improve and make the guest experience better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Not horrible. Good location. Easy walk to the Sharks game.... But... It's tough to believe this is a Hyatt. Clean enough and the bed was comfortable but the breakfast was almost inedible---cold and careless presentation, even for a buffet. Public bar area was tired.... Kind of felt like a B grade Euro movie in B&W. Did not hate it but we won't rush back either even if the price is good... Just don't expect THIS Hyatt to be a....Hyatt.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank CaPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We try very hard to provide a great product with great service and I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to have you back! Please feel free to contact me directly if you are ever in the area as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this in further detail. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place for 5 days on business. The rooms are big and wifi was decent. But there is something wrong with the water in the rooms. You cannot drink it or wash your hair with it. The wifi speed is ok in the room. Surprising that even basics like a moisturizer are not provided and have to be asked for.

We probably got this hotel as it has breakfast included in the tariff. However they do not have a live counter for breakfast and by 7:30 a.m it is cold. They start breakfast at 6:30 and if you come at that time there is hardly any staff around. There is no variety in the breakfast and by the 5th day I was honestly quite tired of it.

The housekeeping staff is very responsive. They would immediately attend to any requests. Sleep quality is good. The location was an advantage as it is right opposite my office but could not think of anything special otherwise about this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for the review and choosing the Hyatt Place San Jose Downtown. We take pride in providing a problem free stay for all of our guests so I apologize that your experienced was not that. I can assure you that this is the first water complaint we've received and we do have a third party company perform maintenance on it as well as the routine City checks. I hope you'll give us another chance to host you as I would welcome the opportunity to change this rating to a 5. Please contact me directly if you are ever in need of accommodations in San Jose again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was in town for a convention at the center across the street. I really like Hyatt Place as well as Hampton inns because they dont pile on the fees like the "full service" hotels. Its nicer than the other hotel options in the area, the rooms are big, the wifi worked fine, amazing breakfast for free - I did not have a car but I suspect the only fee would be to park as its downtown and downtown areas always make you pay to park. I cant think of a single thing a business traveler would need that they dont offer. Maybe an airport van but cabs are plentiful. Staff are friendly and helpful (which you dont actually find at "full service hotels" Considering its in San Jose where a 1000 sq foot house is a million dollars this is reasonable - it might be cheaper to live at the hotel than buy a house in San Jose come to think of it! I cant say enough good things about the staff, friendly, helpful, responsive not pretentious like the "full service" hotels can be. I highly recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: away from elevators - higher floors seem less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We try very hard to provide the best service possible and we appreciate you recognizing our staff. We hope to have you back in the future and thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place San Jose Downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

# Internet
WiFi speedtest failed in both hotel room and lobby. Email was only very occasionally successful.

# Power
Ample power outlets on desk and near bedside lamps.

# Work environment
Full desk with office chair along with an apartment sized sofa

# Complaints
* Noise from pressured pipes in walls
* Noise from maid closet across the hall
* Noise from street level train
* Noise from San Jose airport jets
* Wifi too weak and frustrating for email management

# Compliments
* Large hotel room
* Various HD TV channels
* Small fitness room

# Q&A
* Room number: 229
* Would you come back to this hotel: No
* Where you able to work remotely: No
* How many days did you stay: 5
* How many nights did you stay: 4

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank danactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Your feedback is important to us and is vital for us to consistently improve our hotel and services. We are currently in the process now of soundproofing our rooms as we understand it was needed. We have also done testing and have improved our internet considerably with the help of our third party vendor. If you would like to discuss in more detail, please feel free to call me directly. We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#7 of 75 in San Jose
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
6.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Address: 282 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $191 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Downtown San Jose, Hyatt Place is your choice for uncomplicated travel. A short walk to craft beer and hip dining destinations with our own dining and beverage options available 24/7. Delicious free breakfast with ever stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing