We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stay at a lot of Hyatt's and have stayed at a number of Hyatt Place's and I think this one in San Jose is just ok. The location is nice in downtown and close to a bunch of rests. and the convention center area. The downstairs lobby area is huge and typical for Hyatt Place's. The first room they gave me hadn't been cleaned when I opened the door which was annoying. The second room was ok, but they are pretty small. Beware there is also a $20+ dollar parking fee for the night which I found to be really annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagotraveler0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    261
    170
    75
    32
See reviews for
161
92
39
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
flynhigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Buyer beware. I typically stay with Hyatt and this is the first time I have felt compelled to wrtie a review.

We stayed here for the weekend for a dance convention and the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Upon checking in I checked to make sure the rate was correct and it was not. The front desk staff is not well trained and three people could not figure it out. I was finally able to speak with manager who figured it out.

Parking: Threre is a parking garage for hotel guests but it is also a public parking lot which is right next to the convention center, the performaing arts center, and some other theater that often holds concerts. If you want a parking spot for the hotel you better get one early and not move your car. I did ask at the front desk what to do when the parking lot is full as a guest who is paying 21.00/day, as there is no valet parking; but they didn't have an answer expect to say that they put a full sign out ??

Hotel: This is an older hotel which used to be a Crowne Plaza. The elevators are very slow even though there are three of them. There is no pool or spa on site. There are a few computers in the lobby for hotel guest use. There is a restraunt on site but the food is terrible and expensive. There is no happy hour pricing and the pour for a drink is minimal. Breakfast is served but it looks and tastes like something they would serve to prisoners, so the second day we didn't eat. Its in a good walking location to some good places to eat (and a safeway)but the area can be sketchy at night. We ate at original Joes up the street and it was delicious with large portions.

Our room: We requested to double beds and that is what we received. They spray the rooms and hotel every morning with some sort of air freshener. Upon entereing our room I was I able to see why; our room smelled like old dirty dogs or dirty feet; not sure which. The bathroom is small at best and water gets all over the floor when you shower; had a massive leak under the bathroom sink as well. We were left with one bath towel in the room which made think that housekeeping maybe ran through the room but didn't really clean it. There is a small fridge in the room and a nice size flat screen TV. It is a pet friendly hotel which I didn't realize before booking a room.

Upon check out they had charged me too much so be sure to check your bill as the two people in front of me were also having issues with their bill.

I have to tell you that the late night call girls in the lobby was the crowning glory of our stay. After about twenty minutes of their public display of sexual groping with a group of business men in the lobby, with the hotel staff watching as well, we retreated to our rooms. The hotel staff put their heads down and let the behavior continue.

This is not a typical Hyatt by any means and I would not return. There are plenty of other good places to stay in the same area.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Was here for three nights on business. A good room, with a good hot breakfast. A number of restaurants were within walking distance. My room was on a fairly low floor, facing the street. Although there was definitely some traffic noise, it wasn't enough to stop me from sleeping.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A bit about me - I travel 40-50 nights a year on business, mostly in the western US. I prefer to stay at Starwood and Hyatt properties.

This was my second stay at this Hyatt Place. The second experience was very different from the first. I'll get to that. First the good stuff:

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are well furnished and updated with good lighting and of reasonable size. They're a bit smaller than newer Hyatt Place locations, but you are in the city, so it is to be expected. There is a 42" HDTV with convenient jacks for external devices. There are convenient power outlets at both the desk and the bedside table for charging gadgets. The complimentary breakfast at Hyatt Places is better than most (though not as good as a Homewood Suites). And, the location is excellent. There are several nearby restaurants and entertainment venues.

Shower quality, toiletries and towels are decent. The showers in Hyatt Place properties have glass doors rather than a curtain rod. The sinks and countertop space is rather small - only about 30", so not a lot of room for your toiletry kit.

In-room coffee service is average, with off-brand coffee and powdered whitener rather than real half & half.

The fitness center is on par with similar business class hotels, with 4 treadmills and ellipticals, dumbells, and complimentary towels. But, there was no lat pulldown machine.

There is no complimentary bottled water in the room. But if you ask at check in, and you belong to the Hyatt Gold Passport program, they'll probably give you a comp'ed bottle, as they did for me.

"High speed" internet was not. Speeds were pretty average by hotel standards, which is to say awful. 90ms ping / 1.12Mbps download / 1.32Mbps upload. I travel with a 4G mobile hotspot and don't rely on hotel wifi much anymore. I was able to watch a show on Netflix in the fitness center, however, over the hotel wifi.

I'm always disappointed when there is no recycling program as was the case here. It seems so simple.

There is a $21 nightly parking charge, which is not unexpected when in the middle of the city. There are no additional resort fees (which always results in a full star deduction for me).

This is a bit of an older property - a former Crowne Plaza, I think. As mentioned above, the interiors are fairly well updated, but elevators are older and slower, and there are signs of age.

Now for the really bad, which is the noise. You have a 50-50 chance at a good night's sleep. If you get a room facing the parking garage you're in luck. If you get a room facing the street, even on a higher floor, you won't need to bother requesting a wake-up call. You'll hear occasional noises from the light rail system throughout the night, but the train schedule really ramps up between 6:00 - 6:30 am, and you are right on top of it. This is not temporary noise that goes away, unlike the jack-hammering from the construction site across the street, which began in earnest shortly before 7:30 am.

All in all, it's below average for a Hyatt Place. It both prospers and suffers from its location. While fairly well-updated, there are signs of an aging property.

Room Tip: Get a room on the parking garage side, or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westcoastbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was nice, rooms were clean, staff was friendly. The breakfast was very good, with many options. Perfect location. Within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. Parking was about $20/day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in April 2013 and experienced two very different scenarios. My first night, I had a second floor room facing San Carlos Street. All night long I was awakened by cars, trucks, the train, you name it. I didn't get a wink of sleep. The next morning, I was quick to ask for a room on the back side of the hotel - facing the parking garage. The Hyatt staff was quick to accommodate my request and boy was I glad. The rest of my stay, I slept very well in a very quiet room.

Breakfast was free and was much better than most hotel breakfast buffets. It included many choices to pick from such as bagels, toast, muffins with bacon and eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, fruits, cereal, and on. The free wifi that came with the room was very good - fast speeds and I kept my connection when using it. The staff was quite friendly and the rooms were very clean and included a mini-fridge.

As for the location - for downtown San Jose the location was superb. It is across the street from the convention center and around the corner from several museums and great restaurants.

The cons for my stay were: the noisy room on the street-side of the hotel and the wait for the elevator. This was a bit annoying as one of the three elevators was out of service all week and all stairwells lead outside.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side of the hotel facing the parking garage for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojojibboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lately I've been disappointed in Hyatt properties I've stayed at, but the Hyatt Place in San Jose was a clear exception. My room was fairly spacious, with a small seating area containing a built-in sofa. It was nicely decorated and well lit. The staff was uniformly friendly. I really appreciate the fact that they have a bar/lounge area with food and drinks available 24/7, and computers with a printer available in the lobby.

The only negative I experienced was occasional long waits for the elevator.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaklandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#21 of 75 in San Jose
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Address: 282 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Downtown San Jose, Hyatt Place is your choice for uncomplicated travel. A short walk to craft beer and hip dining destinations with our own dining and beverage options available 24/7. Delicious free breakfast with ever stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing