We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff!!! They ROCK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing staff!!! They ROCK!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful surprise! This staff rocks! We were there for three days for a conference! Every single person on staff was very helpful. Made our stay very nice! The location was right next to our conference to that was nice. A lot of good restaurants around too. Free
Breakfast Buffett in hotel was really good. Great beds too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love-Vi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    261
    170
    75
    32
See reviews for
161
92
39
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The staffs in this hotel were wonderful, one particularly in the front desk. His name is Jeffrey. He stood out in helping us find where we needed to be during our conference. A number of us decided to have lunch at the hotel and Jeffrey was diligently working the front desk, setting us, taking our orders and serving us our meals. We absolutely saw how hard he had to work that day. At the end he was still checking to see if we were taken cared off and making sure we were satisfied. I would have given this property and Excellent rating but being short staff during a busy time during lunch and having a conference that weekend should have prompt the management to bring in more staff. As for Jeffrey, He has made an Excellent rating in our books!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhonda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice place, very good staff.
For the 4th time, the a/c unit in the room rattles and vibrates anytime it's operating.
It kept me awake through out the nite.
Fix this problem and it's a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business trip. Check in was flawless. Room was very nice overall with just a bit of normal wear. Decent selection of HD channels on TV. Free breakfast was OK but no eggs were available. Staff outfits were a bit odd as they just looked like guests who had all bought same shirt at TJ Maxx. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank diver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and loved it. Had previously stayed elsewhere in San Jose and this is my first pick. Staff is very friendly, hotel is clean, bright, cheery and quiet. Room was really nice with a King bed, small divider, and L-shaped couch that folded out to another bed. I won't watch television in bed, so this was ideal. Could sit on the couch with my feet on the ottoman and be perfectly comfortable. Bathroom has walk in shower (no tub) with heavy glass doors. Linens are very good quality, as was mattress and pillows. Free breakfast buffet was better than most with hot sandwiches, fresh fruit, yogurt, oats, bagels, doughnuts, danish, juices and much more. They have a Starbuck's if you aren't happy with the free coffee. Secured parking garage (not free) is right there. Short walks to small eateries. Will be saying here again.

Room Tip: My room was right behind the elevator and occasionally I would hear a knocking sound that was faint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MINIdriver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I recently attended an event at the Convention Center. The Marriott and Hilton sold out before we booked and we ended up at the Hyatt Place instead. Initially, this was not our first choice as the Marriott and Hilton are a rated as a higher hotel class and are connected to the Convention Center. However, we were extremely surprised and impressed with our experience at the Hyatt Place.

Breakfast was free and delicious. The area was always well stocked and very clean. Members of our groups staying at the Hilton had to pay for breakfast that was not nearly as good as the items we got from our buffet including gourmet breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit. We also enjoyed the free internet ($13 and $10 at the other hotels) and onsite gym. Our room was spacious and we liked the modern design.

The staff was fabulous! The front desk always greeted us and was very efficient at check-in and check-out. The cleaning service did a really good job each day.

The hotel is not directly connected to the Convention Center but only takes about a minute to walk to. There are ton of places to eat and see in the area and the staff provided us with a map and recommendations.

To get to the Convention Center, we walked through either the Marriott or Hilton and we were not impressed by either hotel. Not only did they charge for services we got free but they were also not as clean or modern as the Hyatt Place. The carpet at the Hilton was disgusting.

We truly enjoy our stay and will definitely return again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at the government rate. Friendly and nice staff. The halls are dark brown and dark. The room was nicer than I expected. The only issue was the toilet kept running after flushing. Strangely, there was carpet cleaning machinery in the hall during our entire stay and a housekeeping cart parked between the bathrooms in the lobby all morning. I think the hotel may want to put these things away when not in use. There is a free breakfast buffet, but the options are limited to sandwiches, cereal, toast and bagels, oatmeal, and juice. All in all, however, the rooms are clean and comfortable and a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the same side as the train that runs all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#21 of 75 in San Jose
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Address: 282 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Downtown San Jose, Hyatt Place is your choice for uncomplicated travel. A short walk to craft beer and hip dining destinations with our own dining and beverage options available 24/7. Delicious free breakfast with ever stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing